Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday January 31, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Factory 2.5L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.5L Turbo)

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-23-2003, 03:13 PM   #76
J-rod
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 36824
Join Date: May 2003
Location: San Jose, CA
Vehicle:
2004 STi
silver/silver

Default

Does anyone know if the tuners (Vishnu, and the like) are getting there STi's fixed? I am sure once they get it done they will be able to compare dyno runs and verify what changes were made. It would be nice to hear from some of them as to how long this might take.

J
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
J-rod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2003, 02:38 PM   #77
WorldOne
Vendor
 
Member#: 22731
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2002 WRB Do-Luck GDA
worldoneperformance.com

Default

Glen...

Can you PM me or email me when you have a chance. I called and talk to bill at Carter and he said there is no reflash and since was not satisfied with that he kindly suggested I call 1800Subaru3.

I did that and spoke to a customer service agant with SOA who denies very firmly that there is any such reflash available. He said that I am the third person to call today and that there is no reflash period and that if their was he and his collegues would know about it.

He said that what is on the web is "garbage" and can never be considered as reliable. Why does this have to be such a battle.

Glenn if you have an appointment, why can't I even get an awknowledgement that the reflash exists?

Garret
World One
WorldOne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2003, 02:50 PM   #78
CloNeGTS
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 23341
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Overland Park, KS
Vehicle:
04 Rex STi
WRB/Gold

Default

Oh lord....say that isn't so.......
CloNeGTS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2003, 02:59 PM   #79
robmarch
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 18713
Join Date: May 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Time is the Enemy
Vehicle:
06 CRV
04 STi

Default

here we go...
robmarch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2003, 03:36 PM   #80
spool1536
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 39724
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: East Coast
Vehicle:
04 WRX STI
Silver

Default

I hate to say this, but I got pretty much the same response from my dealer and from SOA. I was unable to get a formal admission of a det/knock problem from SOA or from my dealer. Everyone I have spoken to (dealer/SOA) says that this is the first they are hearing of the problem.

Last edited by spool1536; 07-24-2003 at 03:42 PM.
spool1536 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2003, 03:46 PM   #81
g_dejesus
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 26940
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Orange County, CA
Default

I called my dealer Tuesday and the service manager hadn't heard of any reflash so he said he'd call SOA to see what's up. Called me back the next day and set me up with an appointment in early August. He said that someone from SOA will be there to look at the car. He didn't deny or confirm anything about a reflash. I'll just have to wait and see what happens...
g_dejesus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2003, 05:28 PM   #82
dlowman
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22998
Join Date: Aug 2002
Vehicle:
2004 WRX STi
GT35R 572 whp 93/meth

Default

I believe that Porter orginally posted that you need to take the car into your dealer and follow the proper chains. I doubt subaru is going to let someone just call up and say oh reflash my ecu. With out first having the problem reported through the proper channels. They want to save what money they can i am sure. And are doing this reflash on a case by case basis.
dlowman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2003, 05:34 PM   #83
spool1536
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 39724
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: East Coast
Vehicle:
04 WRX STI
Silver

Default

That's completely understandable. However, no one at SOA or the dealership has even admitted that some of the STis MAY have a problem with det/knock and that there is a fix available IF your car has a problem. The person I spoke to (no names just yet) at SOA said they have not heard of any problems with det/knock on the STis at all......service manager told me the same thing.
spool1536 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2003, 10:00 PM   #84
orthojoe
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 37237
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Michigan
Vehicle:
2004 Impreza WRX STi
Black

Default my story...

Well, here's my story..... I talked to my customer rep at 1800subaru3 and they DID confirm that there is a ECU reflash ready to go. They told me that they would try to set something up with my regional rep guy. I got this email from him:

---------
News must travel fast. Fuji Industries, our parent company, have sent us a
reprogramming cartridge to determine if this will resolve U.S. concerns.
Cherry Hills, our national headquarters, is determining if this
reprogramming will be suitable for the U.S. market. I presume this means it
if will pass EPA and any other governmental standards. I believe that we
are testing the programs on a few vehicles and I am waiting to hear if this
reprogramming solves the concerns and if there are any side effects.
Hopefully, I will know something within two weeks. If all goes well, I will
request that your ecm is reflashed. If there are side effects, I will let
you know and then you can determine if you wish to have the ecm
reprogrammed.

As a follow up, have you tried using BP/Amoco high octane gas? Try running
at least two full tanks and let me know. I was speaking to a car
enthusiastic and that is what he recommended based on his experience with
his high performance vehicles.
------

So what's the real deal? Is the reflash not ready for us yet? Are they still testing it? For those who have det and haven't brought the car into the dealer for the rep to hear it, don't expect to just walk in and get a reflash right away.... sounds like they want to confirm the problem on the car before they do anything.... so there's even more incentive for people to bring those cars into the dealer NOW!

orthojoe
orthojoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2003, 02:04 AM   #85
kalex
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 2070
Join Date: Aug 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: LI, NY
Vehicle:
2012 Audi S5
Brilliant black

Default Re: my story...

Quote:
Originally posted by orthojoe

As a follow up, have you tried using BP/Amoco high octane gas? Try running
at least two full tanks and let me know. I was speaking to a car
enthusiastic and that is what he recommended based on his experience with
his high performance vehicles.
------

orthojoe
Interesting, I was jsut at my MB dealer for service on my 01 C320, when I mentioned to my service advisor about a "stumbling" episode on my car, off the bat he told me to use only BP/ Amoco or Sunoco super unleaded. Apparently, other gas causes carbon buildup but not the mentioned gas company.

This guy has been my advisor for a long time, so he knows what he's talking about.
kalex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2003, 02:36 AM   #86
ANZAC_1915
Moderator
 
Member#: 456
Join Date: Oct 1999
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Redmond, WA, USA
Vehicle:
2008 Forester XT
Steel Gray Metallic

Default

Quote:
I called and talk to bill at Carter
That was your first mistake.

Quote:
and he said there is no reflash and since was not satisfied with that he kindly suggested I call 1800Subaru3.
Either take the car to Chaplins (talk to Nikki and you won't have to go through all of this hoo-haw) or if you must go to Carter than ask "Bill" to call "Larry T" to get confirmation.

Glenn
ANZAC_1915 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2003, 02:38 AM   #87
bigdong123
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 40572
Join Date: Jul 2003
Default

i got no det at all it sucks for people out west putting piss in there tanks now being detuned going rob some power.

BIG dong
bigdong123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2003, 08:56 AM   #88
robmarch
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 18713
Join Date: May 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Time is the Enemy
Vehicle:
06 CRV
04 STi

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bigdong123
i got no det at all it sucks for people out west putting piss in there tanks now being detuned going rob some power.

BIG dong
punctuation might help reduce the "tire-grap" factor of this post.

If you're saying that the people who are using lower octane gas will lose power after the reflash...I'm not sure if that's true. The ECU already reduces power to deal with inferior octane gas. I'm sure the people who are already having their power reduced by the ECU for using the inferior gas would rather have no pinging for their trouble, though.

If, on the other hand, the point you were eloquently trying to make was that people who aren't getting pinging would lose power with the reflash, that is possible, but not required. I would rather lose a little bit of power to eliminate the ping, but I haven't experienced it yet. If you would rather not take the chance, don't get your ECU reflashed, and take your chances with the DET.

Have a good one.
robmarch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2003, 09:23 AM   #89
spool1536
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 39724
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: East Coast
Vehicle:
04 WRX STI
Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bigdong123
i got no det at all it sucks for people out west putting piss in there tanks now being detuned going rob some power.

BIG dong
My car is pinging on 93/94....
spool1536 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2003, 11:00 AM   #90
bcblues
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 17256
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: America's Outback
Vehicle:
04 STi
Blue w/ custom bug splat

Default

Around here, BP/Amoco only has 91 octane. Tesoro, I have found to be much better gas (at least in my WRX). It is rated 92 octane, but it seemed to run much more timing than other 92 octane brands (at least around here). I have not run anything but Tesoro in my STi, except while traveling. Maybe I should try the "lower octane" 91 Amoco rather than the "tried and trues" 92 Tesoro??

What about higher octane ethynol blends?
bcblues is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2003, 11:25 AM   #91
Chin
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 632
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Savage, MN
Vehicle:
'14 Audi RS5
'00 RS Track Car

Default

Too bad California doen't use the gas we get here from Holiday. It is called Blue Planet and it's supposed to meet 2006 requirements for emissions (isn't that what Cali is using now?), and it is available in 93. This is the gas I use, exclusively, unless travelling (it also happens to be one of very few places offering 93, locally). I have not heard any pinging, nor have I heard of anyone in MN pinging (not implying nobody is, just haven't heard a report). That may be related to the climate here, although we have been in the 90s more than usual this year and our humidity is always high (too many lakes!). Well, that's my $0.02

Christian
Chin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2003, 01:32 PM   #92
Jon [in CT]
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 2992
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Connecticut, USA
Vehicle:
02 WRX Sedan
Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Chin
Too bad California doen't use the gas we get here from Holiday. It is called Blue Planet and it's supposed to meet 2006 requirements for emissions (isn't that what Cali is using now?), and it is available in 93.
The Blue Planet gas only meets future Fed requirements for maximum sulfur content. California gas already meets those Fed sulfur requirements but California has additional formulation requirements.
Jon [in CT] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2003, 01:39 PM   #93
Chin
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 632
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Savage, MN
Vehicle:
'14 Audi RS5
'00 RS Track Car

Default

Ahh, interesting.

Christian
Chin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2003, 02:16 PM   #94
dlowman
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22998
Join Date: Aug 2002
Vehicle:
2004 WRX STi
GT35R 572 whp 93/meth

Default

I am going to have an appointment to have my ECU reflashed via Gwinnett Subarau next week. One guy already had it done and should have his back monday or tuesday. i don't know why everyone else is not getting the news. But I will let you know how it goes when I get mine back.

Dan
dlowman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2003, 04:00 PM   #95
ZenBoy
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 12524
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesnowta
Vehicle:
2004 STi
WRB/Gold

Default Will the power drop/octane on road trips

THis isn't strictly factual, but not speculation - just a reminder for the folks who are getting a touch panicky about this all....

If you'll recall, a few years ago Ford had a little car called the Mustang Cobra that had a little intake restriction problem, which resulted in power figures about 15 hp below what was advertised. There was a huge legal flap over it, a class-action lawsuit, and an "intake swap" program that Ford imlemented to fix the problem and get the power back to where it should have been.

Now, do you really think Subaru would make the same mistake? The power numbers are what got a lot of us in the door on these STi's. To turn around and drop the numbers would be tantamount to false advertising, which is what caused the row with Ford.

I'm not worried, myself. But then, I have access to 93-octane gas, and I've only gotten the detonation when I've had low-octane fuel in it. Of the 5 tanks of gas I've had, only one has been fully 93-octane, and I don't recall the detonation.

As for road trips, however, remember that this is generally only happening at WOT. Isn't that right? If so, solution: keep your foot out of it a bit until you can get to some decent fuel, or use the toluene solution. Home Depot's gotta carry it, and they're everywhere.

Just a couple of thoughts, FWIW.
ZenBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2003, 04:01 PM   #96
kurichan
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 8282
Join Date: Jul 2001
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Sedan

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Soon2bSubbieowner
4 - 6 Days for the techs to rape your cars on the road while "testing"
(1) All "testing" should be done with you in the car. Take the service manager along

(2) Tell the service manager you don't want more than x miles put on the car, or else.

This is how I handle repairs on my car after a tech put 33 miles on my WRX
kurichan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2003, 04:07 PM   #97
kurichan
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 8282
Join Date: Jul 2001
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Sedan

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by spool1536
I hate to say this, but I got pretty much the same response from my dealer and from SOA. I was unable to get a formal admission of a det/knock problem from SOA or from my dealer. Everyone I have spoken to (dealer/SOA) says that this is the first they are hearing of the problem.
Guys...

Face it.

They are going to fix the problem without admitting it ever existed if they can get away with it.

I usually get angry about this kind of stuff so I'm surprised at myself for saying this, but as long as you get your car fixed and don't get robbed of power, isn't that enough?
kurichan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2003, 05:12 PM   #98
orthojoe
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 37237
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Michigan
Vehicle:
2004 Impreza WRX STi
Black

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dlowman
I am going to have an appointment to have my ECU reflashed via Gwinnett Subarau next week. One guy already had it done and should have his back monday or tuesday. i don't know why everyone else is not getting the news. But I will let you know how it goes when I get mine back.

Dan

What?? Someone has already had their ECM shipped?? Why is my rep telling me i have to wait at least 2 weeks before the possibility of getting my ECM reflashed? Time to make some more calls again....

orthojoe
orthojoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2003, 09:20 PM   #99
Porter
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 486
Join Date: Nov 1999
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Roanoke, VA
Vehicle:
2004 Forester XT
bug spattered

Default

Guys, calm down. It may take two weeks to get your ECM flashed, it may take longer than that. It's not really a life or death thing either way, you people need to chill out.

To clarify: I got some slightly erroneous information. What I was told was correct, they DO have a fix. What they DON'T have yet is an efficient process to take in the ECUs from the dealer network and turn them around in a rapid fashion. Since there is only ONE cartridge with which to flash the incoming ECUs, it's a slow process. It may take a few weeks for everything to get sorted out, but be patient and it will come.


Chill out and stop stressing about it..... Have a beer or something and calm down.

You guys look like this:

When you should look like this:




If anybody wants to talk to me (or complain at me) in person, PM me and I'll send you my phone number. You're more than welcome to give me a ring anytime.
Porter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2003, 10:38 PM   #100
Sparks
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16495
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Jacksonville
Vehicle:
2013 BRZ
Sterling Silver Metallic

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Porter
To clarify: I got some slightly erroneous information. What I was told was correct, they DO have a fix. What they DON'T have yet is an efficient process to take in the ECUs from the dealer network and turn them around in a rapid fashion. Since there is only ONE cartridge with which to flash the incoming ECUs, it's a slow process. It may take a few weeks for everything to get sorted out, but be patient and it will come.


He's dead on, a little more time.

Shaun
Sparks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AccessPort v2.0 Update Released mike91401 South West Impreza Club Forum -- SWIC 10 02-08-2007 05:30 PM
04 STi ECU reflash confirmed (ping fix)??? stealitall Engine Management & Tuning 10 12-12-2006 06:04 PM
WTB 02-03 STi I/C splitter and STi Aspen white hood scoop.Also need 04 STi ecm Hondaslayer Private 'Wanted' Classifieds 8 07-30-2005 10:58 PM
Anyone local have an STi ecm lying around? Hondaslayer Mid West Subaru Owners Club Forum -- MWSOC 3 04-01-2005 10:14 PM
Question for USDM STI ECM experts NMLegacy Subaru Conversions 3 11-16-2004 08:57 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.