Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday July 26, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-23-2003, 05:12 PM   #1
KnightWRXRider_
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 30496
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Western Massachusetts
Vehicle:
2004 STi
Blue

Default UTEC for 02 WRX work for 03?

Will a UTEC bought for an 02 WRX work with an 03, is there something I can do to make it work.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
KnightWRXRider_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2003, 06:05 PM   #2
JustDSM
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 17502
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Cheyenne, WY
Default

To the best of my knowledge only Ver.5 amd Ver.6 UTEC's work w/ '03 models.
JustDSM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2003, 04:11 AM   #3
mick_the_ginge
Citizen Mick
 
Member#: 27646
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Portland, Oregon
Vehicle:
2003 Sleeved 2.5
Oil Dry Sump Goodness

Default

An 02 UTEC will work with an 03 but it does not know about the in fuel tank sensor. The wire for this has to be jumpered around the UTEC wiring harness and back into the ECU directly.

People are also going to say that some of the sensors readings are backwards, UTEC seems to handle those fine as well.
mick_the_ginge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2003, 07:54 AM   #4
KnightWRXRider_
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 30496
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Western Massachusetts
Vehicle:
2004 STi
Blue

Default

What specifically do I have to do to do that?

Quote:
Originally posted by mick_the_ginge
An 02 UTEC will work with an 03 but it does not know about the in fuel tank sensor. The wire for this has to be jumpered around the UTEC wiring harness and back into the ECU directly.

People are also going to say that some of the sensors readings are backwards, UTEC seems to handle those fine as well.
KnightWRXRider_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2003, 08:18 AM   #5
mick_the_ginge
Citizen Mick
 
Member#: 27646
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Portland, Oregon
Vehicle:
2003 Sleeved 2.5
Oil Dry Sump Goodness

Default

I'm out on business so do not have access to my car to remind myself exactly what wire needs to be jumped back over to the ECU. I can have a look at it next week.

You can also just connect it up as is. You will get a none critical CEL. It was this code:

Quote:
P1446
It's the in-tank pressure sensor. I drove the car for a month before I bothered fixing it.

Maybe you can find someone else who has done this fix quicker than I can get back to my car.

Post this on www.wrxhackers.com as well. TurboXS should also be able to quote on the reversed sensor connections. I did nothing about these and everything works just fine, but just to be sure, check with them.
mick_the_ginge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2003, 03:24 AM   #6
knertified
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 33244
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Default

I figured it was not a really big deal to have a CEL from that temperally.I also posted up on wrxhackers on this today but there server is down so i cant check the post. Hopefully someone at turboxs will reply. Thanks for the info..
knertified is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2003, 01:49 AM   #7
knertified
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 33244
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Default

help !
knertified is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2003, 01:10 PM   #8
ebr0t
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16930
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: U of Central Florida
Vehicle:
2003 WRX Sedan
Sonic Yellow

Default

bump, i got the same cel....
ebr0t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2003, 01:31 PM   #9
jnmarshall
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 40500
Join Date: Jul 2003
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: DFW, TX
Vehicle:
11 wrx
Virtual

Default

I called utec myself about this. They said ver5a or above will work with an '03 and 6 and above for '04. All versions are backwards compatible.
For each one the guy said you have to jumper a wire to the ecu from the utec harness. If you call them, they will tell you exactly which ones. They are VERY helpfull!
jnmarshall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2003, 01:42 PM   #10
ebr0t
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16930
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: U of Central Florida
Vehicle:
2003 WRX Sedan
Sonic Yellow

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jnmarshall
I called utec myself about this. They said ver5a or above will work with an '03 and 6 and above for '04. All versions are backwards compatible.
For each one the guy said you have to jumper a wire to the ecu from the utec harness. If you call them, they will tell you exactly which ones. They are VERY helpfull!
what is jumping a wire?
ebr0t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2003, 03:21 PM   #11
jnmarshall
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 40500
Join Date: Jul 2003
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: DFW, TX
Vehicle:
11 wrx
Virtual

Default

From what I understood, the needed wires didn't exist in the txs harness, and the signal would not get sent to the ecu. So you have to add the wire (or wires?)
You can't just simply get a newer harness either. txs doesn't offer one, plus the version of utec doesn't know what to do with the signal.

Quote:
Originally posted by ebr0t


what is jumping a wire?
jnmarshall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2003, 03:53 PM   #12
ebr0t
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16930
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: U of Central Florida
Vehicle:
2003 WRX Sedan
Sonic Yellow

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jnmarshall
From what I understood, the needed wires didn't exist in the txs harness, and the signal would not get sent to the ecu. So you have to add the wire (or wires?)
You can't just simply get a newer harness either. txs doesn't offer one, plus the version of utec doesn't know what to do with the signal.

so theres nothing else ya can do about it? any other differences in the 02 and 03
ebr0t is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will AP v1 for a 02 WRX work on a 03?? kraigt AccessPort 7 03-08-2010 01:20 PM
wtb: stock exhaust manifold for 02 wrx. trade for GtSpecs?? rolzrex Private 'Wanted' Classifieds 3 07-01-2008 11:40 PM
lights for 02 wrx lookig for the bright light capron765 Newbies & FAQs 11 02-12-2007 06:41 PM
Will the bosal Dp for 02-05wrxs work for 06s? uniden43 Factory 2.5L Turbo Powertrain 1 05-12-2006 02:45 PM
can unichip for 02' wrx work for 03' wrx? BlueWRX Engine Management & Tuning 2 11-09-2002 12:00 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.