Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday September 23, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-20-2001, 01:51 PM   #1
DeliciouSpeed
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3389
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: ContraCosta, Ca
Vehicle:
07 STImpreza
Satin

Post

TechII(stand alone) for turbo $2500 with all the add on goodies,full control,datalogging

UniChip(piggy back) aprox $600ish, fuel/timing control can control boost with an add on, can change the rev limiter with an add on,cannot change idle,no datalogging

Link(stand alone) $1330, plus $330 for the programmer. Full control/datalogging

Ken
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
DeliciouSpeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2001, 05:36 PM   #2
cdigerlando
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 6070
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Longwood, FL
Vehicle:
9202 SVX, WRX
92 Sil/Blk, 02 Sil

Post

OK. Anyone try the Link yet. It seems the most simple and most versitile set up so far. Just haven't hear of it being used yet.
cdigerlando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2001, 06:17 PM   #3
Imprezer
Dynamic Uno
 
Member#: 1
Join Date: Jun 1999
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Alameda, CA
Vehicle:
2011 Impreza WRX STi
Black

Post

It is not the most versitile system.
Imprezer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2001, 06:26 PM   #4
SilverSubie
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 4375
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Napa, CA
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
PSM

Post

i already have an avc-r installed and i love it...i have an s-afc but i don't like it and it really dosn't work well. i took it out. i was thinking about the unichip pretty hard but that link seems beter. is it worth the extra cost of the link over the unichip.and will the avc-r work with the link system.

-grant
SilverSubie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2001, 07:12 PM   #5
cdigerlando
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 6070
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Longwood, FL
Vehicle:
9202 SVX, WRX
92 Sil/Blk, 02 Sil

Post

What is less versitile about the link? And is it significant to our application.
cdigerlando is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2001, 07:20 PM   #6
cOz
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 576
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houston, TX, USA
Vehicle:
1995 Volvo 850 Turbo
Dark Green

Post

Anyone have any experience with this company's product???
www.fjoinc.com

Thanx
cOz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2001, 10:53 PM   #7
PERRIN
NASIOC Manufacturer
 
Member#: 6776
Join Date: May 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Post

Forget all the other CPU's they are talking about and buy a Haltech E6K. they are the best, affordable, best supported, easy to install. i got a killer map if you need one. they have easy to use software.
$1200 can't go wrong.
PERRIN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2001, 11:06 PM   #8
TwinTurbo
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 6177
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Bay Area, California
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
White

Post

Does the Haltech have a stock harness adapter?
Or do you have to use a Haltech Harness.
Is the Haltech a batch fire or sequential?
Does this Haltech come with a wide band O2??
TwinTurbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2001, 12:25 AM   #9
SilverSubie
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 4375
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Napa, CA
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
PSM

Exclamation pricing on unichip and TEC-II...

what are prices for like the unichip ecu and the TEC-II, and like products. and where can you buy them?i tried to search but, didn't find any solid stuff.

-grant
SilverSubie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2001, 12:43 AM   #10
gossamer_monster
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3574
Join Date: Jan 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Blase' Yellow----R.I.P.

Post

For the Unichip call Turboxs. They are a US distributor.

http://www.turboxs.com

Toll free-877.887.2680

For the TEC-II talk to:

http://www.vishnuperformance.com/

Shiv from Sport Compact Car, is the man with TEC-II

Bill
gossamer_monster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2001, 06:58 PM   #11
Julio
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 6363
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Gossip Island
Vehicle:
10 Sec. Club
Element - Crawford

Post

TwinTurbo:

Haltech, uses it's own harness and recommends their own 3 bar MAP sensor on some applications. I would use the F9A instead. You may find it in some places as low as $800 but normal price is $1200. I have worked with Haltech and Tech IIs. For me..honestly they differ. If you're serious about your setup, fine tunning, etc. go for the Haltech. Though keep in mind...you should know what you're doing. Otherwise...get a reputable tuner. You will find Haltech in many Pro drag racing cars.

Where I live. Many Hondas & Acuras are running low-mid 13s with just underdrive pulley, header, exhaust, intake, and a Haltech.
Julio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2001, 07:10 PM   #12
SilverSubie
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 4375
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Napa, CA
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
PSM

Post

i'm really considering the link...anybody want to argue or applaude my decision. so i'm really asking for input. I want an aftermarket ECU that directly plugs into the stock plugs, thats one thing that narrowed it down.

-grant
SilverSubie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2001, 09:02 PM   #13
PERRIN
NASIOC Manufacturer
 
Member#: 6776
Join Date: May 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Post

GO haltech. the plug thing is something i am getting around. i have on order a 2002 WRX ecu plug to make an adapter to use the haltech as if it were a plug and play, but that might be a month before i have time to make. i almost bought a link, but they are really cheesy. they only have like 8 rpm load bars and 12 pressure bars(i think). haltech uses 30 load bars and 16 rpms. the injector ms can be any number, where i think the link is limited. you get 8 different functions you can set up(like shift light, aux rpm, ANTI LAG, VTEC, and tons more.
PERRIN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2001, 09:03 PM   #14
PERRIN
NASIOC Manufacturer
 
Member#: 6776
Join Date: May 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Post

Yes it can do sequential and batch.
PERRIN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2001, 09:14 PM   #15
TwinTurbo
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 6177
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Bay Area, California
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
White

Post

wide band O2?
TwinTurbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2001, 09:20 PM   #16
DaveK
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 2338
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Colorado
Vehicle:
1988 323 GTX
black

Post

anybody got a website for haltec?
Thanks!
DaveK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2001, 09:20 PM   #17
PERRIN
NASIOC Manufacturer
 
Member#: 6776
Join Date: May 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Post

as in 5volt? it can use any type of o2 sensor especially a 5volt wideband. it can even use a exaust map sensor???? why, because it can! Forgot it can datalog also.
PERRIN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2001, 09:33 PM   #18
TwinTurbo
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 6177
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Bay Area, California
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
White

Post

Sorta Sounds like my Felpro Sequential box with Wide Band O2 on my 1300hp race car.
TwinTurbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2001, 09:53 PM   #19
SilverSubie
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 4375
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Napa, CA
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
PSM

Talking

where can i read and see about this so wonderful Haltec...

-grant
SilverSubie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2001, 12:45 AM   #20
Digital_Boy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 730
Join Date: Jan 2000
Post

Well, if you want to get REALLY serious, there's always Motec.

I've got an M48 Pro that's being used right now to finalize the harness for my Sube.

Then again, an M4 is more than sufficient for 99.99% of your needs.

It all depends on your own and your chosen tuner's (that being you if you're DIY'ing) preference in ECU's.
Digital_Boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2001, 04:39 AM   #21
Imprezd
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3357
Join Date: Dec 2000
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Gburg, Maryland (East Coast)
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Black

Post

I want to see Dyno charts for the TechII i would hope to see at least 30 horsepower difference. Imprezer when you going to put it on and dyno?
Imprezd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2001, 07:23 AM   #22
AlexM_UK
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 6825
Join Date: May 2001
Location: London
Vehicle:
1999 Impreza Turbo
Silver

Post

Hi,

The Possumlink is a very cost effective drop-in ECU for old WRX/STis and probably the new WRX too.

As it is a direct replacement you minimise the hassle of changing crank sensors etc..

I thought that the MY2002 link was still under development though... is this being marketed in the US? I thought that the loom connections were different for MY2002 cars, or are you using the wire-in models or Link Plus?.

The link requires a few 'tricks' to get the best out of it, and isn't as feature rich as the MoTec or Haltech ECUS, but it is very easy to install and will give performance comparible with the best with the right map.

I run one on my MY98 with Std TD04 @ 1.15bar and am very happy with the way it performs.

Cheers,

Alex
AlexM_UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2001, 10:21 AM   #23
DeliciouSpeed
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3389
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: ContraCosta, Ca
Vehicle:
07 STImpreza
Satin

Post

I will have the link in my hands this week or next. I will make sure to take plenty of pics of my non-versitile system(sacasm Alex!)for you guys. I will map on road using a knock link, Lambda link, and EGT guage first. Then I'm going to put it on a dyno to see how my maps perform, then I am going to re-map any areas that may be lacking.

And I don't see how the system can be insulted. It's done very well by the likes of MRT and other users around the world.
heavily used by Miata folks, don't here them complaining. Jan Shim care to chime in...
It replaces the stock board(no cutting), is fully mappable an unlimited amount of times, data logs, can control boost, idle correction, It even has a self tune mode. What ever you need it does. Maybe Alex met that its lacking in the $1000 more dollars the Tech costs over the link? Alex care to elaborate? First hand experience or know any folks who have?

Ken
DeliciouSpeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2001, 03:34 PM   #24
Imprezd
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3357
Join Date: Dec 2000
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Gburg, Maryland (East Coast)
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Black

Post

Where's Imprezer... i need to know what he thinks... I am curious about how his mind works...

Oh yeah Congrats... On finishign school...
Imprezd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2001, 04:00 PM   #25
Imprezer
Dynamic Uno
 
Member#: 1
Join Date: Jun 1999
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Alameda, CA
Vehicle:
2011 Impreza WRX STi
Black

Post

What I think? Haha. I think you really don't know what you are talking about. jk A TEC II system can be installed on a car in a mere 2-3 hours. No need for Idle Control Module or A/C or Speedo or anything. All those "accessories" work fine with your stock ECU. And, all your emission systems will also work fine with a Parallel Engine Management System based on TEC II that Vishnuperformance offers.

A Link system will never offer what TEC II offers. It offers the bare minimum. No high resolution timing pick up, no high powered coils, etc. Also, with TEC II system, one can convert his car "back-to-stock" in 15 min. Connect your MAS, connect your stock plug wires and injector plugs and you are set to go. I and many others explained it gazillion times but no one listens. I know what you all going to say. "Group N rally Impreza's use it, it must be good..." See, for Group N, you can use a standalone engine management system only if it fits the stock ECU box. Thats what Link does well, hehe. IT FITS! You simply cannot have a powerfull enough computer to "manage" your car's performance that small. Plus, it uses stock not-so-good timing pick up and poopy coils. Oh a high powered car (you have one right, why else would you want a standalone ECU) timing pickup is critical. Thats something you need to take very seriously. Aaaa, I cannot do it anymore.

Plus, there are ~100 Imprezas with TEC II running all over North America. Why would you want to be testing stuff on your car that no one knows for sure how it works? Plus, Shiv is always available to help you tune it.

Dyno resluts? I never managed to Dyno my RS when I was NA. But, there are bunch of dyno results from various turboed RS's on www.vishnuperformance.com message board. Go see for yourself.

Finally, people will say that TEC II Turbo kit is expensive. Yes it is. So what would I do if I couldn't afford it? What I would do is I wouldn't buy Link.

My TEC II is going into my WRX this week. I will know more of how well it works, although I don't doubt that it will work like a charm.

Afterall, I would be happier if no one buys TEC II's for their WRX's. Why? Becuase my WRX will no doubtably be the fastest AND the safest one.
Imprezer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using a 30amp Bosch Relay STDP to connect four Greddy Gauges and TEC-II Switched 12v. latinskllz Electrical & Lighting 7 05-08-2003 05:33 PM
What's a good price for a used Tec-II? Keiho Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain 0 03-08-2002 12:43 AM
Link, Unichip, or Tec II? Which to pick? cdigerlando Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 35 11-25-2001 11:43 PM
LINk and TEC-II FM2 Normally Aspirated Powertrain 6 02-08-2001 10:22 AM
N vs. S event and TEC-II crank pulleys shiv Bay Area Impreza Club Forum -- BAIC 6 03-31-2000 02:31 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.