Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday February 28, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-28-2003, 04:54 AM   #1
mr2guru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 10334
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: St. Louis
Vehicle:
91 RX7 LSx swap
'09 CC 3.6 4motion

Default New Link user some ???'s

Well,

For the "super-duper" engine I decided to go with the Link ECU. I picked up the newest version, the date on the chipsets are 05/2003. So far I really like it. I plugged it in and wanted to play around with it before I put the new motor in. I love the GUI it is so easy to navigate and read. The "cell track" feature in nice.

Couple of questions.

I need to use a GM 3bar map sensor....GM part number? or car that it is from?

Also some link users have noted that GM/Z28 O2 sensors have a little better resolution than ours and wire right in. Z28s have two O2 sensors. Which one is it?

So far with some tweaking, I have got it to idle great, cold and hot start great. My fueling and timing are WAY off in the middle of the map....(Lambda feature is working hard ) but I haven't even pushed full throttle yet and probably won't with this engine.

Anybody have a 550s map?

I don't see many WRX link users and I know that Link had left a bad taste in their mouths and that might be why. My link seems to be trouble free(knock on wood) and I hope LinkUSA has finally got their sh$t together with this new Link plug-in
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
mr2guru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2003, 02:57 PM   #2
teiva-boy
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 22825
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Default

bump, I'd like to see input on this as well

*past LINK user here*
teiva-boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2003, 07:48 PM   #3
milkman
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 8066
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Indiana,
Vehicle:
Y2K RSt
Sedona Mars Red Pearl

Default

For the O2, you replace the rear one with the GM unit then move the new rar GM up front. You will have to cut the harnesses and swich them but all the colors are the same. I don't think the GM O2 is any better.

Try one from a Grand Nash, map.


"New Link user some ???'s

Couple of questions.

I need to use a GM 3bar map sensor....GM part number? or car that it is from?

Also some link users have noted that GM/Z28 O2 sensors have a little better resolution than ours and wire right in. Z28s have two O2 sensors. Which one is it?"
milkman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2003, 10:26 AM   #4
AndrewC
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 27341
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: UK
Vehicle:
1998 Impreza Turbo
Reddish Blue

Lightbulb

Original 3 Bar Map Sensor GM Part #16040749 now replaced by #12223861, connector #15305891

Checkout http://www.gmpartsdirect.com

Andrew...

Last edited by AndrewC; 07-29-2003 at 10:37 AM.
AndrewC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2003, 01:37 PM   #5
mr2guru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 10334
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: St. Louis
Vehicle:
91 RX7 LSx swap
'09 CC 3.6 4motion

Default

Thanks guys....


-Jim
mr2guru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2003, 03:43 PM   #6
8Complex

Moderator
 
Member#: 922
Join Date: Feb 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Vehicle:
04 FXT
Red

Default

Hmmmm... I have the P/N for the GM sensor as 16040749 MAP sensor (three Bar).

Also, regarding O2 sensors, DO NOT trust a narrow band sensor with that motor! I will have to bitch-slap you if you tune that whole thing by yourself with a freaking narrow-band sensor! That motor is WAY too nice to blow up with inproper tuning. You can probably use one for closed-loop cruising, but never for tuning under real power.

You can try a map from www.scoobytuners.com (IIRC), but I highly doubt that anyone will have a 2.4 setup to tune to, plus your setup will be very different as you've had the heads reworked and can take a little more heat then most motors do.

You're around St. Louis, right? I would suggest you talk to Ron (Axis) about getting up on his dyno (I think it's open, or about to open) and have him do some tuning with you. You've got enough other stuff from him to see if he may cut you a little deal on the time, too.
8Complex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2003, 06:57 PM   #7
mr2guru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 10334
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: St. Louis
Vehicle:
91 RX7 LSx swap
'09 CC 3.6 4motion

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by 8Complex

Also, regarding O2 sensors, DO NOT trust a narrow band sensor with that motor! I will have to bitch-slap you if you tune that whole thing by yourself with a freaking narrow-band sensor! That motor is WAY too nice to blow up with inproper tuning. You can probably use one for closed-loop cruising, but never for tuning under real power.

You're around St. Louis, right? I would suggest you talk to Ron (Axis) about getting up on his dyno (I think it's open, or about to open) and have him do some tuning with you. You've got enough other stuff from him to see if he may cut you a little deal on the time, too.

Come on You've got to give me more credit than that..... I have a wideband on the way and so does Ron. So I am covered for WOT tuning. I plan on using Ron's dyno a lot anyway. But the link seems to do some nice light throttle learning with the narrow band (which most cars do anyway) and I just wanted to get the best possible tune in that region. I do plan on doing the tuning mostly myself even on ron's dyno.... Don't worry though I am going to take very good care of this motor. Trust me, I don't want to hurt it more than you don't want me to hurt it.

thanks for the webpage didn't know bout that

-Jim
mr2guru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2003, 10:25 PM   #8
8Complex

Moderator
 
Member#: 922
Join Date: Feb 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Vehicle:
04 FXT
Red

Default

Heh, yeah... NB is fine for vacuum tuning, though you may need to go back through it with the WB and check it out, just to make sure.

Yeah, if you were planning on blowing it up, I'd just have to come down and show you how it's done, then take the saved motor for myself.

Sorry about the link, just realized why it didn't look right... it should be www.wrxhackers.com

Also, I don't know how Link deals with the skewing of load points when switching sensors, but you're almost assured that you'll need to make almost a full fueling map specific to your car since you have such an odd motor/turbo/injector situation on a 3bar sensor. Also, if you plan on going more then 28psi, I'd suggest looking for a 3.5 or 4 bar sensor right off the bat.
8Complex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2003, 08:50 PM   #9
mr2guru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 10334
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: St. Louis
Vehicle:
91 RX7 LSx swap
'09 CC 3.6 4motion

Default

Well,

I have a GM 3bar map sensor, from above, now. What goes to what as far as wiring? The GM part had the pins labled as A B C The stock wiring for the WRX map sensor is Red Black and Orange. I would assume it's power, ground, and signal.

Any info?

Also I am going with the LM1

http://www.innovatemotorsports.com/lm1.html

It can convert a wideband signal into a 200point resolution narrowband signal. That will work awesome for the Link closed loop autotune. Plus it is only $350

-Jim
mr2guru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2003, 06:34 AM   #10
8Complex

Moderator
 
Member#: 922
Join Date: Feb 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Vehicle:
04 FXT
Red

Default

There is a +5 wire, a ground wire, and a signal wire. The signal wire will read about 1.5-2.0v when you find the right combination of wiring for the other two. I actually just used some pins and loose wire and hooked them up to my existing wiring positive and negative and swapped the wires until I found the right combination on my MAP sensor by reading the last wire's voltage output with a voltage tester.
8Complex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2003, 04:31 PM   #11
sideways slut
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 21085
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Vehicle:
2.5 rs-t

Default

so is it possible to tune the link without a wideban, and no access to an awd dyno? how about a narrow band, exhust temp and lots of datalogs? i just blew my factory motor 4 months ago and im now running larry ganz fully build one and i would kinda like it if i didnt blow this one. should i book it in to get steet tuned or buy a wideban or am i ok with what im using(im kinda tapped at the moment)?

jay
sideways slut is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installed a new koyo rad tonight and have some ?'s Gr8wall Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 1 03-08-2008 05:17 PM
new here and got some ?'s jcis2ez Newbies & FAQs 26 03-01-2007 03:04 PM
Getting new turbo have some ?'s dsmkid95 Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 20 09-19-2006 01:04 PM
New Guy with some ???'s MyFirstDeuce Normally Aspirated Powertrain 8 12-12-2003 01:41 PM
Possible Impreza purchase, have some ?'s, need some help. STi2001 Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain 4 10-15-2001 12:10 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.