Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday November 27, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Electrical & Lighting

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-28-2003, 09:47 PM   #1
03WRXMA
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 35081
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: CT
Vehicle:
2012 WRX
WRB

Exclamation Can i use the rear wiper fuse as a source to tap +12 Switched for my gauges?

I have a sedan so this circuit is unused, safe to tap into the fuse to get +12 switched power for my gauges? Thanks.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
03WRXMA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2003, 09:56 PM   #2
Mulder
Trust no one
Moderator
 
Member#: 11170
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
02 WRX
15 WRX/05 GTO

Default

Sure, you could probably do that. It would be overkill though since gauges don't draw very much current. Much of the current will be for illumination and that is drawn from the lighting circuit anyway. It would make more sense to use the extra circuit for higher-current devices if you have any, and just tap an existing one for the gauges.
Mulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2003, 10:03 PM   #3
03WRXMA
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 35081
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: CT
Vehicle:
2012 WRX
WRB

Default

Thank you sir, I hoped you would repond, I know you know your **** with electronics.
03WRXMA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2003, 10:14 PM   #4
Mulder
Trust no one
Moderator
 
Member#: 11170
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
02 WRX
15 WRX/05 GTO

Default

A good circuit to use for gauges is the one that powers the compass/mirror and some other low-current stuff. It can be tapped via a yellow/red wire at the connector harness at the front of the under-dash fuse box. It's also good for a radar detector, I have my V1 powered from this circuit.
Mulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2003, 10:45 PM   #5
03WRXMA
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 35081
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: CT
Vehicle:
2012 WRX
WRB

Default

Is this harness on top of the fuse box, 'horizontally' pluged in?
03WRXMA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2003, 10:46 PM   #6
Mulder
Trust no one
Moderator
 
Member#: 11170
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
02 WRX
15 WRX/05 GTO

Default

Yes, look for the yellow/red wire. Should be the same on the '03 as it was on the '02.
Mulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2003, 10:49 PM   #7
03WRXMA
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 35081
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: CT
Vehicle:
2012 WRX
WRB

Default

Thanks again
03WRXMA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 10:42 AM   #8
loupeznik
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 99310
Join Date: Oct 2005
Default

Could you tell me what color wire you tapped? Or did you tie into it some other way. The back of the fuse panel has a bunch of pugs in it. Which one is for the wiper? I want to power a powered subwoofer from it. They are both fused at 10 amps.
loupeznik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 12:03 PM   #9
Cougar4
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 53443
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Anchorage, AK
Vehicle:
2001 LL Bean Outback
Winestone

Default

An easy way to tap into a fused circuit is to use a fuse tap. You can get them at a parts store.
Cougar4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stupid Question: Can you use the FWD fuse to drive the car every day? Koss Normally Aspirated Powertrain 21 12-11-2012 02:02 AM
Rear Wiper Fuse in 02 WRX Sedan, what does it do? ogboot Electrical & Lighting 7 01-14-2010 10:39 AM
can i use the stock banjo bolt for my 18g oil feed line? anthonyrb98 Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 3 09-23-2006 06:59 PM
Can i use the AP if i get my ecutek flashed to stock?? SoSLOWSTi AccessPort 6 06-27-2006 08:36 PM
Can I use the front O2 sensor for my A/F on my turbo timer? Got Groceries? Electrical & Lighting 4 05-29-2004 11:06 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.