Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday August 31, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Subaru Conversions

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-19-2003, 03:20 PM   #26
stimpy
Homicidal Maniac
Moderator
 
Member#: 1612
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Austin, TX
Vehicle:
2008 STI

Default

That is the sort of thing I was looking for.

So they don't necessarily give pins for non-terminating plugs? Is that how I am understanding that?

For instance, if we want to find out what pin 1 is on connector E12 (assuming we don't know anything about E12), then we follow the blue wire (L = blue) up to pin 5 on connector B22, then follow the yellow wire (YL = yellow) up to pin 25 on connector B134 (I think, it's hard to read that pic). On B134, if I am not mistaken, we are then told all the pinouts. Yup, pin 25 on B134 is "Ignition control", #1, #2 as per the pinouts for the ECU plugs. Now with that information, we know that pin 1 for E12 goes to the ECU which, in turn, fires the coil. If we had a pin layout of connector E3, then we would also know that the corresponding pin for it would be the one that matches up to pin 1 on E12 and pin 5 on B22. Then we could say that pin xx for E3 is the "Ignition control".

More or less, we have to reverse engineer the wire harnesses rather than have the pinouts for ever single connector listed.

Thanks,
-Jon
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
stimpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 08-19-2003, 04:31 PM   #27
spiralsmurf
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16085
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Chatsworth, CA
Vehicle:
2005 STi
Black

Default

i don't mean to sound dumb....but can't you just take the ecu pinouts and mark off the wires you need and then do the same on the car and find out which ones need to be spliced. then whatever your MY96 doesn't have you just add.
spiralsmurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2003, 09:09 PM   #28
Ver.III
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1185
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: North of the border
Vehicle:
I flap my gums
and now I'm a specialist

Default

Depending on what model Subaru, most of the cluster wiring is in jiberish whether it is done purposely or not. I found that some of the labelling of the cluster on diagrams do not necessary correspond to the actual plug pin-out. Aside from that, the engine diagrams are straight forward.
Ver.III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2003, 05:28 AM   #29
scoobynation
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 40487
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: gilbert az
Default

my question is...if you had for ex:ralli spec do all your wiring harness needs,will it pretty much be like a plug and play ordeal or will there have to be more splicing...oh and i plan to go with the ej20T.
scoobynation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2003, 12:35 PM   #30
stimpy
Homicidal Maniac
Moderator
 
Member#: 1612
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Austin, TX
Vehicle:
2008 STI

Default

I have heard no mention that Rallispec, or anybody for that matter, will build a completely plug and play wiring solution for factory engine management. There are some that will provide solutions for aftermarket engine management, though. Rallispec typically wires the car while it is in their posession.

-Jon
stimpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2003, 02:59 PM   #31
spiralsmurf
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16085
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Chatsworth, CA
Vehicle:
2005 STi
Black

Default

i'm sure you can send them a wrx wiring harness, they'll take out the unnecessary wires, add the ones the RS doesn't have and tell you which wires to splice into the RS harness. this really isn't that difficult of a task in concept, but i think unless you've done it before it is a rather tedious task.
spiralsmurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2003, 07:28 PM   #32
stimpy
Homicidal Maniac
Moderator
 
Member#: 1612
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Austin, TX
Vehicle:
2008 STI

Default

What are people doing about the fuse and relay boxes? I'm trying to decide if I want to use the WRX boxes or use my L boxes. I think that switching the boxes is a serious headache waiting to happen.

-Jon
stimpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2003, 08:25 PM   #33
spiralsmurf
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16085
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Chatsworth, CA
Vehicle:
2005 STi
Black

Default

Rich (Ver. III) is not around, but i'll answer that question because i already asked him; there's no need to switch fuse boxes.
spiralsmurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2003, 12:11 AM   #34
stimpy
Homicidal Maniac
Moderator
 
Member#: 1612
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Austin, TX
Vehicle:
2008 STI

Default

I haven't compared the fuseboxes to know what one has and the other doesn't, but hypothetically, if we come across a wire that goes to the fusebox, but doesn't have a spot in the existing box, I would assume we try to locate a blank spot? Splice into an existing fuse? I don't have experience with this yet, I'm just throwing stuff around.

-Jon
stimpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2003, 12:52 AM   #35
spiralsmurf
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16085
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Chatsworth, CA
Vehicle:
2005 STi
Black

Default

i really think that would be easier than switching fuseboxes like I-Speed does, thats why their swaps take so long.
spiralsmurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2003, 03:10 PM   #36
Ver.III
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1185
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: North of the border
Vehicle:
I flap my gums
and now I'm a specialist

Default

For powering the ecu / engine , you just use the existing main relay and fuel pump relay. So there is no need to swap fuse boxes.
Ver.III is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2003, 03:28 PM   #37
stimpy
Homicidal Maniac
Moderator
 
Member#: 1612
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Austin, TX
Vehicle:
2008 STI

Default

That saves a lot of hassle in doing that. I would gladly eliminate all that extra stuff in there and use what I have.

-Jon
stimpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2003, 07:53 PM   #38
HeMan1320
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 26067
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Tucson, AZ
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
Open Sourced

Default

So the word is about 30 wires to splice from the RS harness into the WRX engine harness to get the car running. Correct?
HeMan1320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2003, 09:24 PM   #39
spiralsmurf
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16085
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Chatsworth, CA
Vehicle:
2005 STi
Black

Default

like 20, plus some you need to add soem things the RS doesn't have.
spiralsmurf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2003, 12:10 AM   #40
HeMan1320
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 26067
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Tucson, AZ
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
Open Sourced

Default

does anyone know the exact wires that need splicing? I'm not looking for the exact pin-out just the fucntion of the wire itself. It might be easier that way with all the different harnesses out there.
HeMan1320 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2003, 12:31 AM   #41
stimpy
Homicidal Maniac
Moderator
 
Member#: 1612
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Austin, TX
Vehicle:
2008 STI

Default

stimpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wtb full 02 wrx wiring harness for 99lgt swap supernick77 Private 'Wanted' Classifieds 4 04-09-2009 03:10 PM
Which wire to the ECU id the MAP wire? renhoek Pre-2002 Factory Turbo Powertrain 2 12-08-2008 01:10 AM
Which wire to use for the amp turn on lead? '04 WRX Phylomatic Car Audio, Video & Security 27 04-21-2008 03:43 AM
Argh! Which wire to use for remote turn on lead? shawndoggy Car Audio, Video & Security 4 01-07-2002 12:30 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2015, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.