Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday September 20, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-03-2003, 11:10 PM   #1
the spacecowboy
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 765
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: westernport,md,usa
Default car acting up...need help....

i was gone for 32 days.....come back and now i am having the worst luck with my car

this is what the major problem is....

when i go to accelerate, the car starts spitting/sputtering

idles find and if you give it alittle gas, goes good...but if you give it too much, it does its own thing....

its a 2000 2.5 RS with a asr turbo....it also has the split second voltage..

anyone please help....

space
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
the spacecowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2003, 01:20 AM   #2
Aphex
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 146
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Wahcheeta, KS
Vehicle:
'05 Legacy GT
Silver

Default

either reset the ECU, or the gas is crappy.

does gas go bad in 32 days? anybody?....... anybody?
Aphex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2003, 02:19 AM   #3
Darshu
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1676
Join Date: Jun 2000
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Exile in Norcal
Vehicle:
98RS w/ EJ207
2010 Mazdaspeed3

Default

Running too rich? Bad ground? I was getting some serious hesitation on boost before I doubled up on the stock grounds. Once did the grounding mod thing it made a huge difference. I was skeptical about it, but for 15 bucks in 4ga stranded copper wire from home depot it was so worth it.
Darshu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2003, 08:46 AM   #4
the spacecowboy
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 765
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: westernport,md,usa
Default

ground?!?!?!....doesnt hurt to try...

my first guess is that the split voltage componet may be bad....just a wild guess....

i dont think the gas is bad....i had my mother drive it and she filled it up with high test....but she says it wasnt acting up or anything

i'll reset the ECU, clean the air filter and go from there....i'll try everyones suggestion....also, keep the ideas coming....

space
the spacecowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2003, 10:30 AM   #5
DoctorNick
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 7022
Join Date: May 2001
Vehicle:
heh, DC ITCA are
my rides

Default

How many miles do you have on the car? mabye your fuel filter is clogged? I would have thought the voltage clamp, but if it was broken you wouldn't do real well in boost. How are your egts? Mabye your running too rich and bogging the heck out of the car? Hows the car at idle? What about when you rev it when parked? Any jerkyness?

-Neal
DoctorNick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2003, 12:12 PM   #6
Chav
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3269
Join Date: Dec 2000
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego
Vehicle:
2001 2.5RS Sedan STM
RSTi

Default

Do you have CEL? If you had one before for cat inefficency, I'd get them pulled at autozone to see if you have a map or any other sensor code as well.

Also just look over your vacuum hoses.

-Chav

P.S. I'm guessing your using a RRFPR?
Chav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2003, 09:46 AM   #7
foolio
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 9351
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Last Minute Motorsports
Vehicle:
2006 trailblazer SS
black

Default

After you reset the ecu you should be fine. My car was acting up a few weeks ago. I pulled the codes.. (P0420 and a MAP code). I ended up replacing the front and rear O2 sensors and all has been fine ever since. I figure I should probably do it anyways so it doesnt catch up with me later on. However I had the same problem in the winter and I just reset the ecu and it ran fine for the longest.

J
foolio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2003, 05:16 PM   #8
Thumper
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 9214
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Alabama
Vehicle:
2002 WRX

Default

I think Foolio might be right. Could be bad O2 sensor.
Thumper is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replaced Radiator but car acting up Help Please Catracho Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 24 07-30-2009 11:10 AM
Car Acting up...:/ URABUSgrl13 Newbies & FAQs 20 01-16-2009 11:09 PM
Help!!! Car acting up!!!! xXTOUGEIZZYXx Southern California Impreza Club Forum -- SCIC 27 10-17-2007 02:21 PM
Bah, banged up my car a bit - need help! GTWagon_Phreak Legacy Forum 52 07-22-2006 01:02 PM
Cars acting up edel33 Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 3 05-05-2005 04:21 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.