Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday January 30, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-04-2003, 12:38 PM   #1
GMTarkin
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 9237
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Youngstown, Ohio
Vehicle:
2008 Saab Turbo X
400+ lbft

Default Connect utec via Cat5 cable?

I was just wondering if it was possible to connect the utec via a cat5 cable and a cat5-to-serial adapter, they make them... is it possible, does anyone know?

Im getting a laptop for school soon, and want to be able to tune my utec with it, but i dont want my choice to be limited by if the laptop has a serial port or not... and most of the ones ive looked at lately, do not...

i know here at work our computers have serial ports, and we use a Cat5 to serial port adapter on them for the ERALink software... hmm... can someone shed some light on this?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
GMTarkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2003, 01:55 PM   #2
Mildmanneredman
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 29962
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Tucson
Default

I'm not sure about cat5 but I do know people use usb if they don't have a serial port.
Mildmanneredman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2003, 02:17 PM   #3
GMTarkin
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 9237
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Youngstown, Ohio
Vehicle:
2008 Saab Turbo X
400+ lbft

Default

USB huh?? does someone make a usb to serial adapter? USB operates off of the com ports, right?

thats the only problem i see with the cat5, it operates off of tcp/ip, and not the com ports, if im not mistaken
GMTarkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2003, 02:46 PM   #4
MikeWRX-NJ
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 33410
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: wishing i was somewhere else
Vehicle:
08 wrx
dgm

Default

using cat5->serial won't work. To communicate, the network card wants an IP address, something the utec doesn't have.

No serial ports.... I hate new computers. I would call turbo-Xs and see what they recommend.
MikeWRX-NJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2003, 04:36 PM   #5
SysRq
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 31347
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: ,.:i:.,:i:.,
Vehicle:
() support your
/\ sysadmins

Default

Technically, you can use a CAT-5 cable to make your own serial cable using proper DB9 connectors on both ends... That's what you seem to be doing at work. But if your laptop has no serial port in the first place, how's this going to help?

Get a serial-to-USB adapter.
SysRq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2003, 11:34 PM   #6
Uncle Scotty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16200
Join Date: Mar 2002
Vehicle:
OK Houston
we have an Uncle

Default

I got my USB<--->serial cable at Radio Shack w/driver disc for $34.xx. Works great with my UTEC.
Uncle Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2003, 11:40 PM   #7
Mulder
Trust no one
Moderator
 
Member#: 11170
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
02 WRX
15 WRX/05 GTO

Default

I use a USB-serial adapter for my Delta Dash, works fine. This is the way to go if you don't have serial ports.
Mulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2003, 11:50 PM   #8
GMTarkin
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 9237
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Youngstown, Ohio
Vehicle:
2008 Saab Turbo X
400+ lbft

Default

Awesome, thanks for the info guys, glad to know this is a valid solution! THANKS!! =)
GMTarkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Connecting UTEC to my PC w/o ECU kramps UTEC 10 02-25-2008 12:56 PM
IT question - Cat6 vs Cat5e cabling? banman Off-Topic 12 02-24-2005 09:39 PM
Cheap Cat5 cable? Charge Off-Topic 8 09-17-2003 12:24 AM
How to connect utec to new laptop without serial port? RyeDaddy Engine Management & Tuning 0 09-04-2003 01:12 AM
Is there a "trick" to making cat5 cable? jamz Off-Topic 29 10-02-2002 08:50 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.