Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Sunday July 5, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-05-2003, 12:46 PM   #1
scoobyimprza
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 24956
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Littlestown PA
Vehicle:
1997 Impreza WRX
Steel Blue Mica

Default MAP signal

im installing a SAFC and im planning on using the MAP instead of TPS. looking at the ECU printouts i have, i dont see anything to do with MAP or anything like that. so where do i wire it up to intercept the MAP signal?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
scoobyimprza is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 08-05-2003, 12:55 PM   #2
ImportInvasion
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 9016
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Pylesville, MD "It's a sl
Vehicle:
1995 Impreza L-turbo
JDM EJ20 conversion

Default

none of the 93 Impreza's I have seen have a MAP sensor. They use MAF and TPS to judge engine load.
ImportInvasion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2003, 01:07 PM   #3
scoobyimprza
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 24956
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Littlestown PA
Vehicle:
1997 Impreza WRX
Steel Blue Mica

Default

can i wire a MAP sensor? do u know what im trying to do? should i just wire the MAF and TPS?
scoobyimprza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2003, 01:10 PM   #4
Imprezd
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3357
Join Date: Dec 2000
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Gburg, Maryland (East Coast)
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Black

Default

you will need a seperate map sensor to do this since the car doesn't have a map sensor.

iMprezD~
Imprezd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2003, 01:11 PM   #5
scoobyimprza
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 24956
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Littlestown PA
Vehicle:
1997 Impreza WRX
Steel Blue Mica

Default

so i should just suck it up and wire the MAF and TPS? btw, which wire should i use for a ground off the ECU?
scoobyimprza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2003, 01:13 PM   #6
Imprezd
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3357
Join Date: Dec 2000
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Gburg, Maryland (East Coast)
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Black

Default

if you can wait i would wire it up to the Map sensor since.. i think i know what road you are going down and the car doesn't have any compensation for boost.
Imprezd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2003, 01:22 PM   #7
ImportInvasion
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 9016
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Pylesville, MD "It's a sl
Vehicle:
1995 Impreza L-turbo
JDM EJ20 conversion

Default

like Imprezd said, if you are planning on turboing, then a MAP sensor would be better. You can just buy a GM one i would think and use that with the SAFC.

As far as the ground wire, i couldnt tell you without seeing a diagram. You could just run a wire to the chassy or engine for a ground.
ImportInvasion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2003, 01:28 PM   #8
scoobyimprza
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 24956
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Littlestown PA
Vehicle:
1997 Impreza WRX
Steel Blue Mica

Default

noah, didnt you install a SAFC on your car? when i install the MAP sensor, do i just tap into the manifold and run lines to the sensor?
scoobyimprza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2003, 01:40 PM   #9
ImportInvasion
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 9016
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Pylesville, MD "It's a sl
Vehicle:
1995 Impreza L-turbo
JDM EJ20 conversion

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by scoobyimprza
noah, didnt you install a SAFC on your car? when i install the MAP sensor, do i just tap into the manifold and run lines to the sensor?
No, i installed a Link Plus on my car. I would just use a vaccum T connector off one of the vaccum lines that come off the intake manifold and connect that to the MAP sensor.
ImportInvasion is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Devils Own MAP sensor signal problem ElSpa Water/Methanol Injection, Nitrous & Intercooler Cooling 10 03-13-2009 08:01 PM
UTEC clamping MAP signal to ECU? testes1010 UTEC 16 05-21-2008 12:16 AM
Link Plus and MAP signal (MY00 2.5RS) erice1984 Engine Management & Tuning 3 03-05-2005 03:27 PM
UTEC shows NO TPS signal NO MAP, and no air or coolant temps. jared nelson Engine Management & Tuning 4 12-20-2004 05:47 PM
MAF or MAP signal for Emanage?? GTR STI Engine Management & Tuning 4 02-18-2004 01:31 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2015, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.