Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday March 31, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Subaru Conversions

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-07-2003, 11:28 AM   #1
garface
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 1581
Join Date: Jun 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: yonkers, ny
Vehicle:
MY00 RS/STi7
MY01 RS Both Silverthorne

Default AT to MT swap during JDM STi swap, how much extra wiring?

I'm curious what the wiring differences would be between doing an STi swap on a car that was already MT and doing it on a car that was originally AT, but had the MT put in during the swap? I wouldn't think there would be a huge difference. Tear out the AT, TCU, stock ECU, and AT wiring. So after you put in the new ECU, engine, and tranny what would be different among the two as far as wiring? How much extra time should it take? Thank you.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
garface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2003, 11:56 AM   #2
Soon2Bgreat
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2258
Join Date: Sep 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Irvington, New York, USA
Vehicle:
1999 gc8 ver7 6mt
GT35R 504.7whp;)

Default

from what i've read about auto to manual swaps in general, it seems the only wiring problems would be stuff with the tranny like speed sensors and reverse and stuff, one pin in the harness...which might not even be an issue, and the radiator. But if your swapping out engine and tranny with a new wiring harness, i would imagine the bigger problem is the physical work like the new pedal box and stuff, and the wiring wouldn't be any harder than just doing a swap. That's my take on it, for what it's worth, hopefully someone else can chime in with a more concrete answer.
Soon2Bgreat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2003, 12:51 PM   #3
garface
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 1581
Join Date: Jun 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: yonkers, ny
Vehicle:
MY00 RS/STi7
MY01 RS Both Silverthorne

Default

Thanks. Yea, we're ignoring the pedals and that type of stuff, just purely wiring using the STi harness.
garface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2003, 05:00 PM   #4
d00f
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 6000
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Vehicle:
2000 GC8 STi V4 swap
BRP

Default

Changing from AT to MT isn't quite as simple as you'd think. Yes, the wiring is a nightmare. I looked into it for a friend's legacy turbo wagon and it's not just as simple as connecting a few wires. Granted I'm working from the shop manual on a 2.5RS but they are fairly similar. Depending on whether you're swapping into a GC8 (pre-2002) it may apply even more to your case.

First of all the starter system is completely different. On a MT equipped car it goes through a clutch switch. On an AT car (if I recall correctly) it's all wired through the TCU and a pile of relays. Re-wiring this is very labour intensive since you will probably need to pull the dash.

The cruise control is also completely different. You might as well throw away the idea of running cruise or spend weeks figuring out how to make your wiring do it.

The speed sensor on an AT is also different. I can't remember if it's wired directly to the ECU or through the TCU as well but it will need to be changed. There is also a neutral switch and a backup switch since the AT has a different way of telling that you've put the car in reverse and lighting the backup lights.

Unless you're doing an STi 7 swap with the STi 6 speed gearbox you will also need a driveshaft from the 5MT car as the 5MT is shorter than the 4EA. The shaft from a manual Impreza will work or if you're using the 6 speed it won't be a problem. Something else that you have to be careful of is the gear ratio in the rear. If the rear diff does not match the ratio of the tranny it will blow up your centre diff.

All of that and you will still need the console from a 5MT and all the shifter mechanism. If you got a complete front clip then you may be able to get it from the donor car.

In short it would be far easier and more cost effective to sell your auto car and buy a manual one transferring whatever mods you want. Either that or you can expect to bring a wheelbarrow load of money into a skilled shop. I wouldn't expect it to happen for less than $4000CAD.

Your local dealership probably won't have 2 clues. Honestly I can only think of a small handful of shops in North America that I'd trust with a project of this magnitude.

-Michael
d00f is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2003, 05:07 PM   #5
garface
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 1581
Join Date: Jun 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: yonkers, ny
Vehicle:
MY00 RS/STi7
MY01 RS Both Silverthorne

Default

I actually already had it done, just wasn't expecting it to take so many hours(around 80 with other setbacks) so I was curious what was involved. It's an STi 8 UK with Ver. 4 tranny. I figured since you're using a new ECU and a full harness that most of those problems would be skipped.
When I try to engage cruise control the speedo just twitches down about 20mph and then right back up, but it doesn't hold speed. I think I just need to swap the module with an MT one, but not sure.
Do you have any knowledge of the ABS module, are they different between MT and AT? Because I don't have ABS at the moment and the light is lit. Would just popping in a new MT module work or is it more than that. Thanks for the info.
garface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2003, 05:40 PM   #6
Soon2Bgreat
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2258
Join Date: Sep 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Irvington, New York, USA
Vehicle:
1999 gc8 ver7 6mt
GT35R 504.7whp;)

Default

do you have your car now, is it all done?
Soon2Bgreat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2003, 05:43 PM   #7
garface
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 1581
Join Date: Jun 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: yonkers, ny
Vehicle:
MY00 RS/STi7
MY01 RS Both Silverthorne

Default

Yup! I was gonna email you later. They didn't install my front swaybar though. And I still have to put the STi intercooler on there. Oh yea, and get the EJ25 out where my passenger seat goes. Then put all my interior back in and I'm set.
garface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2003, 06:11 PM   #8
Soon2Bgreat
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2258
Join Date: Sep 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Irvington, New York, USA
Vehicle:
1999 gc8 ver7 6mt
GT35R 504.7whp;)

Default

Are you serious They didn't install your front swaybar? Did they not have it. I didn't even know you could drive without it, lol. Well, if you need a hand putting your car back together let me know. If not let me know when its done and we can do some extensive "testing."
Soon2Bgreat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2003, 06:28 PM   #9
garface
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 1581
Join Date: Jun 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: yonkers, ny
Vehicle:
MY00 RS/STi7
MY01 RS Both Silverthorne

Default

Well, I brought a USDM WRX 20mm bar up with me and a GD crossmember. They switched the crossmember with a GC one, but then the bar wouldn't fit so they had to use a GC8 bar. The only problem was that they didn't have the bushings so they couldn't install it. They're going to send me the bushings in the mail, maybe the bar too, can't remember if the they had it or not and if I brought with me. I had two cars just loaded with parts so I'm not sure what I have. Thanks for offering to help, but there isn't much to do. I'll let you know when everything's done. Later.
garface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2003, 06:59 PM   #10
d00f
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 6000
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Vehicle:
2000 GC8 STi V4 swap
BRP

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by garface
I actually already had it done, just wasn't expecting it to take so many hours(around 80 with other setbacks) so I was curious what was involved. It's an STi 8 UK with Ver. 4 tranny. I figured since you're using a new ECU and a full harness that most of those problems would be skipped.
When I try to engage cruise control the speedo just twitches down about 20mph and then right back up, but it doesn't hold speed. I think I just need to swap the module with an MT one, but not sure.
Do you have any knowledge of the ABS module, are they different between MT and AT? Because I don't have ABS at the moment and the light is lit. Would just popping in a new MT module work or is it more than that. Thanks for the info.
UGH! You should consider yourself lucky to have a swap with only 80 hours to do all that. I can't understand why you'd want to mate a UK STi 8 with a V.4 tranny. That in itself could be a bit of a nightmare unless the shop that did it knew exactly how to deal with the DCCD stuff. Plus version 7/8 swaps with the correct tranny are fairly inexpensive.

For the cruise you might be able to get away with putting in the MT module; not sure since I never got around to getting a WRX cruise solenoid (2.5RS one wouldn't fit with the turbo where it sits). For the ABS they're completely different so I guess you may need to get the MT one in there. I can ask around on that one.

-Michael
d00f is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AT to MT conversion, Wiring help dincolo85 Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 0 05-12-2010 06:50 PM
How much extra wire for the teamrip K probe subeforlife2002 Electrical & Lighting 4 02-20-2006 09:09 PM
JDM STi Wheels - how much are they? SgWRX Tire & Wheel 6 10-19-2004 10:08 PM
Need advice with MY98 AT to MT swap tsuanosuke Hawaii Impreza Club Forum -- HIIC 3 10-28-2002 04:48 AM
Swapping AT to MT on '95 2.2 awd, need info Wellhung Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 1 09-12-2002 10:48 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.