Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Sunday December 21, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo)

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-07-2001, 10:47 AM   #1
sc00by71
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 5362
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Olympia WA USA
Vehicle:
2004 OBS
Green

Post Turbo Timer w/Factory Alarm,Possible?

Has Anyone installed a turbo timer with the factory alarm system.I have a Blitz MSTT and I of course can't arm the system with the engine running.Anyone know of a way around this?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
sc00by71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2001, 02:25 PM   #2
sc00by71
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 5362
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Olympia WA USA
Vehicle:
2004 OBS
Green

Post

Well by day I am a technician.I am not that familiar with Subaru wiring.My guess from past experience is that there is an input(switched ignition) from the ignition switch to the theft deterrant ecu.If I was able to interrupt that signal,then it would fool the theft system into arming.So yes I am comfortable with rewiring but I do not have a wiring diagram for this vehicle.Does anyone know the wiring?
sc00by71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2001, 11:39 PM   #3
pilotdoc
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 899
Join Date: Feb 2000
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Richmond
Post

You're on the right track. It can easily be done with a 12volt relay. Wire the relay so that it will interupt the 12 volt ignition sense going to the alarm when it receives a signal from the turbo timer.
pilotdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2001, 11:41 PM   #4
pilotdoc
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 899
Join Date: Feb 2000
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Richmond
Post

You could find the correct wiring using a multimeter.
pilotdoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2001, 01:13 AM   #5
Narcisse91
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3931
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Rochester, NY
Vehicle:
WRX, Ninja, RX-7
Legacy, Fiat 850

Post

Yes and no. I haven't done it, but I can tell you what you would need to do. How good are you at rewiring alarms?
Narcisse91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2001, 10:06 AM   #6
sc00by71
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 5362
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Olympia WA USA
Vehicle:
2004 OBS
Green

Post

Thanks for the tip pilotdoc! I had not thought of using a relay although I knew I needed to return it to normal operation after the timer was done.I'll probably give that a try today,i'll let you know how it turns out.

[This message has been edited by sc00by71 (edited April 08, 2001).]
sc00by71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2001, 05:29 PM   #7
sc00by71
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 5362
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Olympia WA USA
Vehicle:
2004 OBS
Green

Post

Just figured it out!!!!
There are two wires that need to be modified.Now the security system goes into full arm with the car counting down on the TT.If anyone else wants to try this let me know.
I also tried to "accidently" arm the system while driving.It will not arm on accident.

[This message has been edited by sc00by71 (edited April 08, 2001).]
sc00by71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2001, 05:40 PM   #8
White US WRX
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 4886
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Rochester, NY USA
Post

sc00by71, if you could please post how you went about getting that to work.
Thanks

White US WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2001, 07:03 PM   #9
sc00by71
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 5362
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Olympia WA USA
Vehicle:
2004 OBS
Green

Post

Two wires need to be modified. Green with black trace at the keyless entry ecu above the fuse panel,left of the steering column. Gray wire at the security ecu next to the parking brake under the center console.You can either back the wires out of the connectors and tape them up as I did or cut the wires. That's all there is to it! The security system will now arm from the remote like usual while the turbo timer is counting down. I also checked to make sure this would not affect the possibility of accidentally arming the system while driving and it does not.Hope this helps
sc00by71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2001, 07:31 PM   #10
GL10toWRX
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 4356
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: League City, TX
Post

I got my service manual on friday and I think there is a better way. The alarm watchs for voltage out of fuse 18 in the cabin. All you need to do is install a relay at this fuse to activate and power 12 volts if the key is in the ignition. You connect the trigger of the relay up to the wire that detects if the key is in the ignition. This is what I am planning on doing next weekend, I will let you all know if it works.
GL10toWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2001, 04:39 PM   #11
drftsub
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 4989
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: nor cal
Post

GL10,
did you get this to work? I am curious as I have the factory alarm and want to put a timer in,
Thanks,
Nate
drftsub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2001, 10:18 PM   #12
chcor70
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 3585
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Bayside, NY
Post

yeah GL10 im planning to do the same thing as Nate here, just wondering if it worked, possibly a picture or two.
chcor70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2001, 04:36 PM   #13
GL10toWRX
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 4356
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: League City, TX
Post

I decided to try the above mentioned "wire cut" method and it worked better than I thought. I ran a couple of tests on the fuse 18 thing and it didn't work any better than cutting the wires. As sc00by71 mentioned, the alarm is somehow smart enough to not arm while the car is on (non-turbotimer). I most warn though, this last weekend, my alarm went off while I was driving (actually autoXing). No siren, but my parking lights were blinking and the starter kill was active. I checked the connections at the alarm and found the harness is a little flakey and had wiggled itself loose enough to cause a loose connection. So, make sure that the harness is snapped firmly in place before putting things back together.

PS, I installed the Blitz Dual Turbo Timer in the "blank" space to the left of the cup holder and everyone thinks that it is stock. It really looks at home there.

Sorry for not replying earlier.
GL10toWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2001, 04:50 PM   #14
drftsub
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 4989
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: nor cal
Post

Thanks!! that is what I wanted to know.
Nate
drftsub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2001, 11:17 PM   #15
SilverSubie
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 4375
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Napa, CA
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
PSM

Post

GL10....can you post a pic of the TT installed, i would like to see.

-grant
SilverSubie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2001, 10:14 AM   #16
SilverSubie
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 4375
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Napa, CA
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
PSM

Post

is the apex'i TT the same size as the blitz, if so i guess it would fit in the place next to the upper cupholder.any help.

-grant
SilverSubie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2001, 04:32 PM   #17
SilverSubie
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 4375
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Napa, CA
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
PSM

Post

^^bump^^
SilverSubie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2001, 10:36 AM   #18
viodea
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 7497
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Over there
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
WR Blue

Default

I really want to see the pic after installation too!!!! pics pics pics

andy
viodea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2001, 10:42 PM   #19
syntrix
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 9211
Join Date: Aug 2001
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Little Rock, AR, Las Vegas, NV
Vehicle:
2002 wrx wrb
swankmonkey.com

Default

. 2x post

Last edited by syntrix; 08-22-2001 at 10:51 PM.
syntrix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2001, 10:43 PM   #20
syntrix
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 9211
Join Date: Aug 2001
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Little Rock, AR, Las Vegas, NV
Vehicle:
2002 wrx wrb
swankmonkey.com

Default

I have to print this when I get to work. I had a similar problem on my last car, and it took a wiring diagram and a relay to get it working properly.

The #18 sounds like the one that the relay should go to, that way it can trick the alarm module

I have the faq on my site for the VW 1.8T install here:

http://www.swankmonkey.com/turbotimer/

and the setup for the relay should be the same. My Blitz DTT DC should be here by Friday, so I'll check it out, test it and post some pics on the relay setup.
syntrix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2001, 03:05 AM   #21
aspera
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 7879
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: east of Zzyzx
Default

I hope syntrix does as good a job on the WRX turbo timer mod as he did on the VW mod. I would like to see a diagram with colored wires, and everything labeled. Pictures always help too. Cutting and tapping into wires when I don't know what they are makes me queasy. Please make the mod as newbie friendly as possible.
aspera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2001, 06:33 PM   #22
syntrix
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 9211
Join Date: Aug 2001
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Little Rock, AR, Las Vegas, NV
Vehicle:
2002 wrx wrb
swankmonkey.com

Default

I just installed the Blitz DTT DC, without alarm support (short on time today) in about 45 minutes. Without a harness, it's very very very simple. You can check the wires at the harness junction with a simple test light. Just ground and probe any of the 4 wires.

With the tab on the left looking at the front of the harness you have a grid of 4 wires:
_____
Tab side _|__|__|
|__|__|

Top right - constant power
Bottom right - accessory power
Bottom left - ignition power

Top left - not used, not tested (maybe starter trigger?)

But please check the wires before soldering them.


I have to get back in tomorrow to figure out relay wiring for the alarm. Might test the cut wire trick for giggles. I'll also take pics with the digital camera and try to get a basic FAQ up, but if you can get the harness, it's really a no brainer. I'm a cheap ba$tard, so I saved $16.00
syntrix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2001, 05:28 PM   #23
syntrix
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 9211
Join Date: Aug 2001
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Little Rock, AR, Las Vegas, NV
Vehicle:
2002 wrx wrb
swankmonkey.com

Default



I just had to do the green wire with a black stripe (it's the dark green wire going to the alarm). It tested with power when the car is on.

I didn't do the grey wire, maybe I'll have problems later, but so far so good!

I took some pics with the digital camera and I'll post some more and work on a FAQ later.

Hope that helps.
syntrix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2001, 06:30 PM   #24
jacklock
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 5486
Join Date: Apr 2001
Default question

Hey syntrix,

I just bought the same turbo timer for my WRX and I got a couple of questions about the install. Where did you tap for boost readings? Also, what is that plastic red thing that comes packaged with the turbo timer. And lastly, did you notice the A B switch on the grey timer unit? What is that used for? Your insight would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

-Jack
jacklock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2001, 01:07 AM   #25
syntrix
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 9211
Join Date: Aug 2001
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Little Rock, AR, Las Vegas, NV
Vehicle:
2002 wrx wrb
swankmonkey.com

Default

Red thing is (should be) a wire tap.

I used the hose going to the FPR, but replaced it with a new hose to get the T piece to fit. Made it much longer.

I saw the A B switch, haven't had time to play with it yet.

Lights don't flash when I arm with the TT running, but the doors do lock, might have to cut that grey wire after all!
syntrix is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Turbo timer w/factory alarm Subaruman03 Car Audio, Video & Security 23 07-11-2010 01:26 AM
turbo timer and factory alarm scrmblr2 Newbies & FAQs 7 09-18-2002 06:51 PM
Turbo Timer and Factory Alarm KIMUTAKU Newbies & FAQs 7 07-26-2002 05:00 PM
HKS Turbo Timer & Factory Alarm - wires cut but.... wy_wrx Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain 7 10-21-2001 07:47 PM
Turbo Timer with Factory Alarm wildguineapig Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 8 10-16-2001 09:12 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.