Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday July 30, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Subaru Conversions

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-20-2003, 06:38 PM   #1
garface
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 1581
Join Date: Jun 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: yonkers, ny
Vehicle:
MY00 RS/STi7
MY01 RS Both Silverthorne

Default What are the turbo engine swappers doing about the radiator and hoses on GC/GM body?

I have a 2000RS with a Ver. 8 UK engine and am using the stock RS radiator. Is that what everyone else is doing? Is there an upgrade, maybe from a real GC8 or even an RS aftermarket one. I have been told the GD WRX ones won't mount onto the GC/GM chassis and the GC8 turbo ones are wider and would require the ac lines to be moved. Is anyone else having problems? Is there a different cap I can use that would help or maybe mod my cap to work better?
My coolant line is rupturing and I don't know what to do. See my other thread here for pics: http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show...hreadid=409706

Thanks for any help.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
garface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2003, 07:59 PM   #2
supermoose
Visiting NASIOC Timeout
 
Member#: 9093
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SF
Vehicle:
1995 RHD STi RA Ver2
swap starr

Default hhmmm

hey- we're going to use the GC8 radiator on our swap, looks like it will fit perfectly, the mounts /hoses are the same place. u could use a legacy turbo perhaps?

or do what one of the midwest michigan guys (yamaharocket?) and make a hybrid rs/wrx radiator. rs end tanks,wrx core?

h
supermoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2003, 09:01 PM   #3
stimpy
Homicidal Maniac
Moderator
 
Member#: 1612
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Austin, TX
Vehicle:
2008 STI

Default

I am going to make my PWR WRX radiator fit. Hoses will be from the WRX. Lower mounting tabs should be ok, but upper ones must be moved. I've heard there are A/C conflicts, but I haven't looked yet.

-Jon
stimpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2003, 08:38 AM   #4
yamarocket630
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 9436
Join Date: Aug 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: My member# is lower than yours
Vehicle:
05 Saab 9-5 Aero

Default

The RS end tanks fit perfectly on a wider WRX core, thus giving you a lager WRX radiator that fits perfectly in a GC body and looks factory.
yamarocket630 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2003, 09:42 AM   #5
garface
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 1581
Join Date: Jun 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: yonkers, ny
Vehicle:
MY00 RS/STi7
MY01 RS Both Silverthorne

Default

How would one go about swapping cores and end tanks? Are they welded together or....? I don't know if my problem is the radiator or not, but my cap is spitting fluid everywhere, I guess it's when I get into medium boost even though I'm shifting at 4k or under. Any suggestions?
garface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2003, 10:17 AM   #6
supermoose
Visiting NASIOC Timeout
 
Member#: 9093
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SF
Vehicle:
1995 RHD STi RA Ver2
swap starr

Default thermostat

hey- have u checked thermostat good/bad?

try running w/o thermostat to see if its a block at all

h
supermoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2003, 10:41 AM   #7
peepshow
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1777
Join Date: Jun 2000
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Charlotte, NC USofA
Vehicle:
2005 LGT
#92 FZippy

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by garface
How would one go about swapping cores and end tanks? Are they welded together or....? I don't know if my problem is the radiator or not, but my cap is spitting fluid everywhere, I guess it's when I get into medium boost even though I'm shifting at 4k or under. Any suggestions?
So, you should have a rad cap at the original location, and one on the coolant chalice of the EJ20, right? When Lachute did my swap, they cut the pressure valve off of the rad cap in the stock location, leaving the one on the chalice.

I'm not sure if that could be part of the problem or not, but it's something to check at least.

- Trent
peepshow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2003, 05:22 PM   #8
crash
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1440
Join Date: May 2000
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Keeps Bumpers Fresher, Longer!
Vehicle:
05 LGT Wgn; 04 FXT
BDSM -- Birmingham, AL

Default

You should contact Hose Techniques and see if they will make you some custom hoses....

www.hosetechniques.com

-Nathan
crash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2003, 05:30 PM   #9
garface
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 1581
Join Date: Jun 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: yonkers, ny
Vehicle:
MY00 RS/STi7
MY01 RS Both Silverthorne

Default

Lachute did cut off the spring and plunger from my cap. I'm thinking maybe in the process of doing that they may have damaged the cap itself and that's why it's leaking. I'm wondering though, does it matter if I got a 20psi cap or a 1000psi cap(I know they don't make them)? Is there a limit I shouldn't go over, like as a precaution so that the cap blows before the radiator? Thanks.
garface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2003, 12:44 AM   #10
TaiChih
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3467
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Odenton, MD
Vehicle:
1998 Dinan3
Bleck

Default

I went that way for a while with the modified rad cap, If I were you, I'd just spend the couple hundred for a used WRX radiator with no cap on it and install. Make sure you can get the radiator with fans or you'll have a pretty tough time with mounting it together. That's what I did, however, the WRX radiator needed some pretty clever mounting techniques to attach to the Gc body style.
TaiChih is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2003, 06:37 PM   #11
garface
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 1581
Join Date: Jun 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: yonkers, ny
Vehicle:
MY00 RS/STi7
MY01 RS Both Silverthorne

Default

Thanks, why did you decide to switch over to the WRX radiator? Were you having cooling problems or any other problems or just for the hell of it? Isn't the WRX radiator wider, so wouldn't it affect the ac lines or something in that area? Also, I have very little room between the fans and engine, would there be a problem with fitting the WRX one? What engine do you have?
garface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2003, 09:41 PM   #12
EJ25
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 10768
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canada... bent and broken 2000RS Rally
Default

For one car, I got an STI 4 rad from the Japan yahoo auction site. Fit like a glove obviously.

For the other car I got a C&R aftermarket WRX Rad, from Kastles Corners, it also fit fine. Just have to use a WRX upper hose as the return line is in the center top of the rad.

http://www.kastleskorner.com/store/p...roducts_id=604

If you are doing any serious racing/speed stuff, don't use the RS rad, its not made for major heat dissipation, (its too thin!). Use it for testing but don't keep it too long.

(just my opinion)
EJ25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2003, 11:04 PM   #13
garface
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 1581
Join Date: Jun 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: yonkers, ny
Vehicle:
MY00 RS/STi7
MY01 RS Both Silverthorne

Default

Lachute told me the WRX radiator won't work nor fit. Doesn't it interfere with the AC lines or something? How thick is it? I don't have much room between it and my engine at the moment, even with the stock RS one. Thanks.
garface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2003, 12:18 AM   #14
stimpy
Homicidal Maniac
Moderator
 
Member#: 1612
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Austin, TX
Vehicle:
2008 STI

Default

As far as I can tell, the fans mount to the endtanks which remain the same thickness regardless of radiator. The RS is a 16mm core whereas the WRX radiator is a 27mm core. yamarocket630 swapped his RS endcaps onto a WRX core so he had a WRX core without the mounting tab hassle.

I am not sure what the problem with A/C. I have heard from a couple people that it cannot be retained with a WRX radiator, however I intend to keep mine. I guess it just depends if you want a drop in solution of if you are willing to work for it.

On a little side note, the WRX fans are 120W each whereas the RS fans are only 70W each.

-Jon
stimpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2003, 05:02 PM   #15
TaiChih
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3467
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Odenton, MD
Vehicle:
1998 Dinan3
Bleck

Default

The WRX radiator will not fit with the stock RS fans and needs a custom bracket mounted to fit into the bottom bracket. I have an STi V5 motor with USDM wrx radiator. Besides the custom brackets to fit to the GC body style, you also need to find a radiator hose in the right dimensions to prevent the rad hose from rubbing against the power steering pulley nut. It is a tight fit, but can be done.I'd say 3-4" space between motor and radiator.
TaiChih is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2003, 11:53 PM   #16
stimpy
Homicidal Maniac
Moderator
 
Member#: 1612
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Austin, TX
Vehicle:
2008 STI

Default

Wanna see pictures of the WRX radiator core with the RS fans?

Why won't it fit? It looks like I'm in for the long haul trying to shoehorn my PWR radiator in there.

-Jon
stimpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2003, 01:29 PM   #17
Homemade WRX
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 33782
Join Date: Mar 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: 3MI Racing LLC
Vehicle:
96 bastard child
search FIRST, then PM!!!

Default

Hi, the way i-speed has done it is that the spill line from the stock rad will run up to the chalice for the WRX and then the other line from the chalice runs to the coolant reservoir (overflow tank).
Hope this helps, Micah
Homemade WRX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2003, 01:44 PM   #18
garface
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 1581
Join Date: Jun 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: yonkers, ny
Vehicle:
MY00 RS/STi7
MY01 RS Both Silverthorne

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Homemade WRX
Hi, the way i-speed has done it is that the spill line from the stock rad will run up to the chalice for the WRX and then the other line from the chalice runs to the coolant reservoir (overflow tank).
Hope this helps, Micah
Thanks. Yea, that's how I have it done, but I ran into problems with the cap and hose. I got a new cap and after I refill the fluid I'll see if it helps. I have a feeling this cap is going to leak even more since it's from AutoZone, but we'll see. If it does leak then I'm getting an OEM cap and NOT cutting off the spring/plunger part again.
garface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2003, 01:53 PM   #19
stimpy
Homicidal Maniac
Moderator
 
Member#: 1612
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Austin, TX
Vehicle:
2008 STI

Default

The 2003-2004 WRX is equipped with a cap on the radiator with a similar purpose. Maybe try that cap and see if it fits.

-Jon
stimpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2003, 02:01 PM   #20
garface
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 1581
Join Date: Jun 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: yonkers, ny
Vehicle:
MY00 RS/STi7
MY01 RS Both Silverthorne

Default

I thought the WRX only has one cap on the header tank and that's it. Where is the cap on the WRX? Thanks.
garface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2003, 02:24 PM   #21
TaiChih
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3467
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Odenton, MD
Vehicle:
1998 Dinan3
Bleck

Default

I believe they started putting 2 radiator caps on the later year 03's. One on the coolant tank on the intake manifold and one on the radiator core.
TaiChih is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2003, 08:06 AM   #22
garface
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 1581
Join Date: Jun 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: yonkers, ny
Vehicle:
MY00 RS/STi7
MY01 RS Both Silverthorne

Default

Somebody told me both caps are the same, so I'm guesing that would put me down the same route. Would it be possible to have the lower cap welded or sealed permanently somehow? Would that be ok since the WRX didn't have a lower cap or would the radiator differences cause problems? Thank you.
garface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2003, 02:37 PM   #23
supermoose
Visiting NASIOC Timeout
 
Member#: 9093
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SF
Vehicle:
1995 RHD STi RA Ver2
swap starr

Default cap

the 03 wrx has a dummy cap on teh radiator itself simply for easier filling. tahts what my tech says. get one of those caps and see what it does

h
supermoose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2003, 05:25 PM   #24
garface
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 1581
Join Date: Jun 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: yonkers, ny
Vehicle:
MY00 RS/STi7
MY01 RS Both Silverthorne

Default

REPLACED CAP, STILL LEAKING!!

I put on the new cap. I had already replaced the hose a few days ago. Filled up the coolant to the full line and turned the car on. After about 2-3 minutes of idling, fluid started slowly leaking down next to the cap. I pushed down on the cap and fluid squirted out. THIS IS GREAT!!!!!! What should I do? Should I just get an OEM cap and not modify it? I feel like any cap is going to leak. Why is mine doing this, but yours didn't? I don't want to buy an OEM cap and cut it up, just so that it can leak some more. Do you think it's leaking because it's a cheap AutoZone cap or is there too much pressure in the system? I don't get it. HELP please. I want to drive this thing already. Thanks.
garface is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2003, 09:54 PM   #25
TaiChih
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3467
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Odenton, MD
Vehicle:
1998 Dinan3
Bleck

Default

The only way you are going to properly seal that cap is to remove the spring mechanism completely and use a thick rubber sheet, cut a circle and place under the cap as a seal. Also use a thin layer of subarubond or hondabond on the cap. The cap should fit extremely tight on to the neck ( I used pliers to tighten it down. and then zip tied it off) in order for it not to leak. I suggest just getting a WRX radiator and save yourself the headache. I've been there and there is no good way of sealing that cap off.
another option is- You could tehnically have it plastic welded closed.
TaiChih is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
STi wheels on GC/GM/GF and rubbing issues Danny Boy Tire & Wheel 3 12-15-2006 02:30 PM
Anyone remember the really old group buy on GC/GM/GF carpet? Siper2 Interior & Exterior Modification 15 10-02-2006 01:59 AM
What are all you crazy fools doing for the 4th? Spheris Off-Topic 35 06-26-2006 10:43 PM
FS: JIC FLTA2's for GC/GM body style FLTA2 JDM spec poormansporsche Private 'For Sale' Classifieds 9 04-27-2005 01:50 PM
Is anyone running a six speed in a GC, GM body car? RebelINS Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 24 01-20-2003 02:19 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.