Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Sunday July 13, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Miscellaneous > Off-Topic

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-02-2003, 01:59 AM   #1
xfactor834
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 12506
Join Date: Nov 2001
Default $%*#!!!!! My External HD Just Took a Dump! Help!

Of course...why shouldn't this happen??? I got an Acomdata (IBM) external 80GB HD less than a month ago (USB 2.0/Firewire) and for some reason, it stopped working today.

When I plug its AC adapter into the wall, the AC adapter's green light turns on (so far so good).

But when I plug the AC adapter into the HD's power port, the AC adapter's green light turns off, and the HD does not power on at all.

What the hell?

I can't seem to find the number for tech support, so I emailed them. And it's not like I can return it and get a new a drive because I have lots of important files on it.

F!!!!!

Any thoughts?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
xfactor834 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2003, 02:05 AM   #2
incorporeal
Guest
 
Member#:
Default

I have the same drive, looks like I will be backing up everything on it tomorrow.


FTW
  Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2003, 02:07 AM   #3
xfactor834
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 12506
Join Date: Nov 2001
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by incorporeal
I have the same drive, looks like I will be backing up everything on it tomorrow.


FTW
Something may have happened when I turned it on/off from the back red I/O switch.
xfactor834 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2003, 02:08 AM   #4
moktod
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 34768
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: i am everywhere
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
White

Default Re: $%*#!!!!! My External HD Just Took a Dump! Help!

Quote:
Originally posted by xfactor834


Any thoughts?
find the manufacturer's website and see if they have a phone number.

-moktod
moktod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2003, 02:11 AM   #5
I am mattjk
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 36411
Join Date: May 2003
Location: I have my old screen name back
Vehicle:
I can be PM'd at
"mattjk"

Default

IBM harddrive are horrible. Sorry.
I am mattjk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2003, 02:12 AM   #6
xfactor834
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 12506
Join Date: Nov 2001
Default

maybe i should have gone with western digital.

i had lots of problems with maxtors, and i don't know if seagate makes usb 2.0/firewire external drives.

xfactor834 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2003, 02:17 AM   #7
I am mattjk
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 36411
Join Date: May 2003
Location: I have my old screen name back
Vehicle:
I can be PM'd at
"mattjk"

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by xfactor834
maybe i should have gone with western digital.

i had lots of problems with maxtors, and i don't know if seagate makes usb 2.0/firewire external drives.

There was a class action lawsuit on their smaller drives, they all sucked and they sold their entire HD division to Hitachi. We used to build all our systems with IBM disks, 90% of them have come back... We've had really good luck with Seagate's new drives. Companies are now selling hard disks with 1 year, and 3 year warranties. Seems they are cost cutting to much and the quality is suffering.

Try taking the drive out of the Acom unit and install it in your computer to see if it powers up. If not, you can get your hands on an identical IBM drive and swap the main board on it.

Matt
I am mattjk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2003, 02:21 AM   #8
drmosh
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 2429
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: SoCal
Vehicle:
2007 EVORX STi MR
Bluish Silver

Default

Quick fix:

Most of those drives are just IDE drives, pull it out... plug it into a running computer and see if it powers up.
drmosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2003, 02:31 AM   #9
xfactor834
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 12506
Join Date: Nov 2001
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by drmosh
Quick fix:

Most of those drives are just IDE drives, pull it out... plug it into a running computer and see if it powers up.
yeah but i'd still need to get cables for it, and i don't know how my dell will like another HD in it.

xfactor834 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2003, 02:36 AM   #10
drmosh
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 2429
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: SoCal
Vehicle:
2007 EVORX STi MR
Bluish Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by xfactor834


yeah but i'd still need to get cables for it, and i don't know how my dell will like another HD in it.

Each IDE channel can handle 2 devices, so unless yer using everything up (highly doubtful) you have plenty of space to hook up another IDE drive (most motherboards have 2 IDE channels). You might already have a cable with an open connector on it. There's usually also spare power connectors.
drmosh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2003, 02:43 AM   #11
Jimmy S.
I'm a real doctor
Moderator
 
Member#: 11271
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: www.ftwracing.net
Default

I agree.

Take that sucker out and plug it into your computer directly. You have no idea how many firewire drives bite the dust at my work. We are constantly takeing the HD's out of them and sending the stacks back to the companies for new ones.

-SF
Jimmy S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2003, 02:49 AM   #12
xfactor834
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 12506
Join Date: Nov 2001
Default

so i won't be able to refund it, but i'll be able to get my info out of it...

hmmm

because if break the seal i highly doubt they'd refund the drive.
xfactor834 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2003, 03:21 AM   #13
philip_g
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 32906
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Castle Rock CO
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by xfactor834
so i won't be able to refund it, but i'll be able to get my info out of it...

hmmm

because if break the seal i highly doubt they'd refund the drive.
which is more important? your 150 (or w/e bucks) or your data?
if you send the drive in for warranty they'll just send you a new one sans your data I bet.
philip_g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2003, 03:39 AM   #14
Jimmy S.
I'm a real doctor
Moderator
 
Member#: 11271
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: www.ftwracing.net
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by philip_g


which is more important? your 150 (or w/e bucks) or your data?
if you send the drive in for warranty they'll just send you a new one sans your data I bet.
yep.

-SF
Jimmy S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.