Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday April 16, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Subaru Models > Legacy Forum

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-18-2003, 05:02 AM   #1
Daemonic
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 43695
Join Date: Sep 2003
Default MAF tricks?

ok, despite all the feelings about the usfullness in a ram tube and CAI, my friend and i have one installed for the most part... but the MAF is getting in the way. Is there any way to bypass it? the car sounds awesome with only the aluminum tube and filter (no resonators or sensor/plastic tube to get in the way)

There was a trick for civics where you just put a resistor in the plug to keep the ecu thinking its getting data from the sensor.
Is there a similar trick for a 99 Legacy GT? or is there a better way?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Daemonic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2003, 08:50 AM   #2
Legacy777
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 4800
Join Date: Mar 2001
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Houston, Tx
Vehicle:
1990 Legacy & 97 OBS
AWD 5MT EJ22T AWIC Swap

Default

Unplug your maf = car doesn't run above 3-4000 rpm and runs super crappy.

The MAF sensor is probably one of the most important sensors on your car in terms of providing feedback to the ECU to control air/fuel mixture. Only way to get rid of MAF sensor is to replace it with a MAP based system......and I don't think you want to do that.....
Legacy777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2003, 04:34 PM   #3
NiTRoN
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 30556
Join Date: Nov 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Vehicle:
2000 Legacy GT (BE)
over 250,000 Miles

Default

how about these MAF sensor adaptes that work for CAI's like the one below

NiTRoN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2003, 04:55 PM   #4
ciper
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 15543
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: san francisco, ca
Vehicle:
90BJ Legacy LS ABS
AWD 946 Rio Red Jpn built

Default

Civic owners actually disable the MAF? I thought I heard everything.

Wouldnt that be like disabling the brakes so they wouldnt make you slower?
ciper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2003, 05:01 PM   #5
KD7000
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16653
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Central MA
Vehicle:
2012 Mazda 3
2004 Honda Pilot

Default

Brake pad drag is a biatch! I like to spray my rotors with grease to lessen the drag.

And I also Armor-All my tire treads. And my tires are pumped up to 60 psi.

Nuthin's worse than having those pesky sensors "get in the way" of the airflow.

But my Tornado Fuel Saver works wonders!


-Brian
KD7000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2003, 05:40 PM   #6
Legacy777
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 4800
Join Date: Mar 2001
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Houston, Tx
Vehicle:
1990 Legacy & 97 OBS
AWD 5MT EJ22T AWIC Swap

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by NiTRoN
how about these MAF sensor adaptes that work for CAI's like the one below

This allows for the fitment of an open style intake....which I think the original poster is installing.....so in theory.....he should already have one of these.
Legacy777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2003, 01:54 AM   #7
Daemonic
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 43695
Join Date: Sep 2003
Default LOL

LOL@those posts...

yeah, we have one.... but the sensor tube section makes the whole assembly about 4 or 5 inches too long...

we thought about trying to remove the sensor from the tube peice, and stick it in one of the opening in the ram tube... but it looks like its a sealed unit...

and about the MAP conversion, why wouldnt we want to do it? is it similar to speed density conversion? or is that EXACTLY what it is? LoL

im not too worried about the sensor obstructing airflow so much as the peice makes everything fit rather akwardly and without the filter (makes me nervous too, as it is getting colder and wetter out).
Daemonic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2003, 02:02 AM   #8
subiekid
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 25516
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Send help, stuck in internet!
Vehicle:
1995 Legacy TURBO!!!
EJ22T/TEC3 & '12 Civic

Default Re: LOL

Quote:
Originally posted by Daemonic
im not too worried about the sensor obstructing airflow so much as the peice makes everything fit rather akwardly and without the filter (makes me nervous too, as it is getting colder and wetter out).
are you running no air filter? that is bad, very very very bad. ifyou drive next to a corn field a corn husk could get sucked into your motor, or even a bird.

dont take pills and then drink beer.
subiekid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2003, 08:45 AM   #9
Legacy777
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 4800
Join Date: Mar 2001
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Houston, Tx
Vehicle:
1990 Legacy & 97 OBS
AWD 5MT EJ22T AWIC Swap

Default

I haven't necessarily seen a "conversion" kit for MAF to MAP. Usually it involves a new ECU...
Legacy777 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2003, 07:54 PM   #10
ciper
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 15543
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: san francisco, ca
Vehicle:
90BJ Legacy LS ABS
AWD 946 Rio Red Jpn built

Default

Issue is that the opening is calibrated. The sensor measures how much air is passing over a small section. The tuning of the ECU takes into account the size of the tube around it. If you moved the sensor to a larger tube the sensor would be reading LESS air than whats entering the engine. If you put the sensor in a larger tube it would be reading MORE air.


If you still want to, does anyone remember when alot of people kept getting air flow meter failures and someone found the part number for the sensor itself, instead of purchasing the entire tube?
ciper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2003, 11:10 PM   #11
Daemonic
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 43695
Join Date: Sep 2003
Default corn?

Quote:
Originally posted by subiekid


are you running no air filter? that is bad, very very very bad. ifyou drive next to a corn field a corn husk could get sucked into your motor, or even a bird.

dont take pills and then drink beer.
well the MAF does have a screen on it which will block out large things (like ears of corn? in Colorado? hmm..) but yeah, i know its bad... which is why i need to get the MAF assembly out of the way so i CAN put the filter on

and about the tube being too big... the ram tube im using is actually the same size as the rest of the intake assembly... so no worries there
Daemonic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2003, 12:13 AM   #12
subiekid
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 25516
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Send help, stuck in internet!
Vehicle:
1995 Legacy TURBO!!!
EJ22T/TEC3 & '12 Civic

Default

hahahhahahhahahhahahahaha. a bird at 80 miles an hour would wipe that screen out.

ya know even some grains of sand could have deadly effects on a motor. just think of that when you are driving behind a gravel truck.

that cool sound is gona cost you your motor. why dont you just waint and do it the right way.

what kinda of intake are you trying to use anyways?
subiekid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2003, 01:21 AM   #13
Daemonic
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 43695
Join Date: Sep 2003
Default ???

a bird at 80mph is gonna fly under the car, make an upwards 90 degree turn, past all the belts and fan, make another 90 degree turn, and find its way to the 3 inch tube on the passenger side of the car all while still going 80 mph... DAMN! thats some bird....


but anyway, this is all besides the point.... im trying to figure out how to put the filter ON....

i dont mind having the MAF on if i can make the assembly fit somehow... i was just hoping someone had an idea

the filter is just a cone air filter that fits on the end of any 3 inch tube...
Daemonic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2003, 04:52 AM   #14
noahr
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 15434
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: walla walla/t-town
Vehicle:
98 legacy gt
caucasian

Default

take a picture for us if you can. that should lessen the amount of random comments. come on y'all, he's posting in the legacy forum. yeah he brought up a civic, but there are few and far between legacy owners out there. give him a little love

anyway, the maf gets feedback and loses horsepower in everything but wide open throttle when you get rid of the box on top of the throttle body and the intake tube. you can easily replace all of the crap before the maf with a cone filter using the previously shown adapter and gain the most power, and still get the great sound. the intake produces a sort of "hum" sound with the factory intake tube that has been talked about much in the past. it is interesting that AEM now sells an intake that produces a hum and produces more hp that their previous top of the line model. in other words, replace the intake box and snorkus before the maf, and keep the rest. no check engine lights this way.

i think the trick you are talking about tells the maf that is it getting wide open throttle airflow all the time and this tells the ecu to fire the injectors accoordingly, giving the engine full fuel throughout the powerband. this might not be as noticable on a 1.6 liter motor but you will notice horrible fuel economy on a 2.5 liter not to mention very little power gains over the previously described method. the maf is there for a reason. learn to love it. wrx's have them now, and have had them anyways.
any questions, let me know.
-noah
noahr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2003, 07:32 AM   #15
Z1 Performance
Former Vendor
 
Member#: 9327
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Z1Auto.com
Default

I think what you'll find in the end is that the stock intake is really the best design for these cars..especially on a 99 spec car which is known for its notoriously weak MAF. If you want, fit a simple cone K&N with one of the MAF adapters above, and call it a day. You have to be very careful with placement of the MAF in the overall intake design, as the pipe diamter will alter the readings it sends back to the ecu.

As for doing a MAP conversion (MAP= Speed Density), it is possible with an aftermarket ecu but you are talking quite a little investment in time and parts.

I have never heard of people using a resistor in the MAP (Hondas are Speed Density) - that is the most retarded thing I think I have ever heard of!!! Something like a SAFC is the proper way to alter the MAF singal, as at least you can make it rpm and TPS dependant....a resistor is going to be there all the time, unless you start wiring in a whole mess of resistors....
Z1 Performance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2003, 06:31 PM   #16
Daemonic
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 43695
Join Date: Sep 2003
Default

(i'll try and have pictures soon)

yeah, my feelings about the resistor are the same...
i got rid of the the stock air box(2 resinators), and snorkle peice(1 resinator) and it sounded better and felt better too... i guess the real problem is that the ram tub was never designed for this car... but as money is a bit tight at the moment, i was hoping i could get it to work... right now i have the tube out, and just using the snorkle from the throttle body to the MAF to the filter.. doesnt sound the same... but atleast its safer that running no filter

and as for the stock intake setup being the best... you ever look in to that little assembly in the fender? it goes from an oval 3" x 1" opening, to a 1" opening, to a box, with another 1" opening, which changes to a 3" tub that connects to the filter assembly... that has got to be the most restrictive setup i have ever seen...

anyway... if i can remove the sensor and pop it in the ram tube, that would do just fine... the ram tube is a 3" opening just like the tube the sensor sits in... it shouldnt be a problem

one other question while you all try to decipher my ramblings above =P

anyone know what "bank 1 fuel trim" would be refering to?
Daemonic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MAF Excellent MAF 02-07 MAF $100 Shipped jdmstuff Engine/Power/Exhaust 3 02-12-2007 10:41 AM
GP Moto MAF, Perrin MAF, or Samco MAF hose? dpk777 Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 9 10-13-2005 05:17 AM
Larger diameter intakes (to trick MAF sensor) Red Rocket Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 27 11-05-2003 11:39 AM
MAF and MOD MAF on UTEC logs Zackbo Engine Management & Tuning 1 10-28-2003 09:51 AM
Need DIY Cone-Air intake "prop-up-device" tips for MAF EJ18 (or any MAF car) Kostamojen Normally Aspirated Powertrain 24 04-11-2002 03:00 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.