Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday August 30, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Archives > NASIOC Archives > General Forum Archive

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-13-2001, 04:22 PM   #1
gerardchau
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 1465
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Edmonton,Alberta,Canada
Vehicle:
2000 rs sedan
brp

Post requstining hella 500 installation gude please

i saw the piaa fog light installation.. it is so detail and good..
now.. my hella had just arrived today...
could some body direct me to such a good installation guide?


* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
gerardchau is offline  
Old 02-13-2001, 04:40 PM   #2
25psi
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3086
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Coram LI NY
Vehicle:
2001 2.5 RS
Silver

Post

1. Open package
2. Read Instructions

25psi is offline  
Old 02-13-2001, 04:44 PM   #3
Yeoman
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 175
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Toronto
Vehicle:
2000 Impreza 2.5RS
BRP

Thumbs up

Gerard, hows it goin? It's Rob from Toronto Club.

I just got my Hella 500s today too! Did you order from carparts.com? Came out to $80 canadian plus $30 for taxes, so $110, we saved right?!!?!

If you start before the weekend, let me know how it goes, I'll probably try install Saturday. Later!
Yeoman is offline  
Old 02-13-2001, 07:15 PM   #4
skyliner33v
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 2675
Join Date: Oct 2000
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Tenino, wa
Vehicle:
MY02 Wagon 350whp
PSM

Post

Here's how I did mine. I made a quick little diagram to show what it looks like.

hella wiring diagram

I did it this way because the instructions were confusing so I threw them away and decided to wire it myself. This way, I can turn the lights on any time I want. And you won't have to worry about blowing anything out because the inline fuse will go before it hurts anything else.

I might have the supply and load wires backwards, I can't remember. If the lights don't work, try switching these two.

One reminder though. You have to be sure that you turn them off when you turn your car off.

Hope it works for ya.

skyliner33v is offline  
Old 02-13-2001, 07:25 PM   #5
5 Door Man
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 2019
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Lancaster, PA, USA
Post

Be warned!! Not using the relay can have bad results!! At least when wired into the headlights, not sure about when not, but you really should use the relays. I have a set of the 500 driving lights on my SAAB, still need to re-wire them correctly with the relay. Getting a V5 bumper for my Brighton coupe, plan on using 500 fog in that.
5 Door Man is offline  
Old 02-14-2001, 07:15 AM   #6
skyliner33v
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 2675
Join Date: Oct 2000
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Tenino, wa
Vehicle:
MY02 Wagon 350whp
PSM

Post

Nothing bad will happen. They are not wired to the headlights. They go from the battery, to the switch, to the lights. And it's not connected to anything else. If anything goes, it will be only the fuse.
skyliner33v is offline  
Old 02-14-2001, 07:32 AM   #7
ImprezedRS
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2771
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Charlotte, NC
Vehicle:
2003 BMW Z4
Blue

Post

Well all a relay is a remote switch but there not that hard to install as i got two sets on my car and i didn't even look at the instructions the second time and as for price you paid well mine where only $75 from pepboys.

ImprezedRS is offline  
Old 02-16-2001, 05:52 PM   #8
gerardchau
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 1465
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Edmonton,Alberta,Canada
Vehicle:
2000 rs sedan
brp

Question

thank you fo all the reply...
my quesiton is.. i did not order a oem fog light bracket...
is that ok?


from the piaa x80 instruction, seem like the bracket is jsut a piece of metal sheet, with a hole attactched on to the already there fog light hole..


i'm thinking about finding such piece of metal..


any comment? on hwo to fit in into our fog light hole?,

--is the "screw for attachmnet" suppose to be going inward toward the engine of the car screw on the bracket(like the instruction show with the piaa) or shoud it be going downward from the fog light on to the bumper skin...?

i am think abtou installing this saterday as well
gerardchau is offline  
Old 02-16-2001, 10:14 PM   #9
gerardchau
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 1465
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Edmonton,Alberta,Canada
Vehicle:
2000 rs sedan
brp

Question

i am reallying doign all teh wireing right now..

i got question...
in the instrcution manual..
the "with switch" and "with out switch".. both have sub scrpt stating
"driving light can be switched on seprately"

what does this mean?
switch and no switch no different?


also there is a piece of weird blue plastic, u can badn the platic and wrap around it self, it also have a pice of metal, seem like it is to attach 2 wire together.... what is that for? groud?
please.. help. i want to install this baby tomor momring.
gerardchau is offline  
Old 02-17-2001, 12:10 AM   #10
skyliner33v
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 2675
Join Date: Oct 2000
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Tenino, wa
Vehicle:
MY02 Wagon 350whp
PSM

Post

I'm not sure what the "with and without switch" is, but I used the little blue thingy to connect a longer wire to my ground wire. I'm pretty sure that it's just to add more wire.
skyliner33v is offline  
Old 02-17-2001, 07:55 AM   #11
Yeoman
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 175
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Toronto
Vehicle:
2000 Impreza 2.5RS
BRP

Post

Skyliner you're the man. I think those are probably the best install instructs I've seen. If I can't get them going I'm definitely going with your diagram.

Cheers.
Yeoman is offline  
Old 02-17-2001, 11:13 AM   #12
Yeoman
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 175
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Toronto
Vehicle:
2000 Impreza 2.5RS
BRP

Question

??? Guys , I got the lights on without a line to my battery! Blue wire from light to switch inside car. Ground from switch inside car to ground and wire from fusebox (illumi) to the switch and voila. Now, I know this is isn't good and I've already disconnected it but, is the same amount of power output being put through to the lights?
Yeoman is offline  
Old 02-18-2001, 12:07 AM   #13
gerardchau
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 1465
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Edmonton,Alberta,Canada
Vehicle:
2000 rs sedan
brp

Post

so.. no need relay?

gerardchau is offline  
Old 02-18-2001, 12:25 AM   #14
skyliner33v
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 2675
Join Date: Oct 2000
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Tenino, wa
Vehicle:
MY02 Wagon 350whp
PSM

Post

What do mean "from fusebox (illumi) to the switch"? What did you wire it to?
skyliner33v is offline  
Old 02-18-2001, 01:05 AM   #15
skyliner33v
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 2675
Join Date: Oct 2000
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Tenino, wa
Vehicle:
MY02 Wagon 350whp
PSM

Post

Nope, you won't need a relay. If you wire it like my little diagram thingy shows, then you should be fine.
skyliner33v is offline  
Old 02-19-2001, 01:35 AM   #16
gerardchau
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 1465
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Edmonton,Alberta,Canada
Vehicle:
2000 rs sedan
brp

Question

if possible.. can somebody explaing to me what the hack the relay is for?
i am so confuse..
from the simple diagram skyline33 given me.. it make sense...

but i want to use the relay as well..
i try to undertand the fucniton of the relay and i just don get it..

seem like the relay require 2 power source, one from battery and ALSO one from the head light
(well head light power is from battery also, but it had voltage diff i suppose?)...

2 power supplies some how go into this so call RELAY box . than this relay box output to ground and to load (fog light)

i just don get what is the function of this RELAY....

( shame on me.. 3rd year electrical engineer student >.< i must figure this out!)
gerardchau is offline  
Old 02-19-2001, 02:56 AM   #17
skyliner33v
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 2675
Join Date: Oct 2000
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Tenino, wa
Vehicle:
MY02 Wagon 350whp
PSM

Post

Alright, from my understanding, all a relay does is when you flip the switch in the dash, it tells the relay to send power from the battery to the lights to turn them on. It basically makes a connection between the hella's and the battery so that they get power. If they are wired to your headlights, then when you turn your brights on, it sends a signal to the relay which shuts down the connection between the hellas and the battery. So that you don't have your brights and hella's on at the same time.

I think that the main function of a relay is to make it so that you don't have your brights and hella's on at the same time. Adn to also turn off the lights when the car is off so that you don't leave them on and drain your battery. But i found out that you don't need a relay and the only thing that you have to really worry about is turning off the lights when you turn off the car.

I'm almost positive i'm right, but I don't really know cause I never got the lights to work with the relay.

skyliner33v is offline  
Old 02-19-2001, 06:20 AM   #18
subarumantoo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3257
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Houston, TX
Vehicle:
2000 ImprezaRS
Blue Ridge Pearl

Post

First of all, use a relay! It is crazy to run all of that current through a switch. Second, I will tell you how I wired my driving lights. It is the best way in my opinion. My driving lights just come on with the high beams only. There is not even a switch for the driving lights. You can't have them turned on any way unless there is no oncoming traffic. I just wired the relay signal wire power to the high beam headlight wire.
subarumantoo is offline  
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help with hella 500 install please! workin4audi Electrical & Lighting 10 09-02-2004 04:40 PM
Hella 500 install questions k2snow Service & Maintenance 5 07-22-2002 03:56 PM
Hella 500 Install to Stock Foglight Locations: Experience and Maybe a Lesson Learned. Yotsuya Interior & Exterior Modification 14 04-13-2001 09:23 AM
Please HELP. More Hella 500 Install questions chyisan Technical Forum Archive 1 08-17-2000 07:35 PM
Hella 500 Installation?! Apexboy North West Impreza Club Forum -- NWIC 2 06-27-2000 09:12 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.