Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday April 18, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Electrical & Lighting

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-10-2003, 01:09 PM   #1
jefersun
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 37716
Join Date: Jun 2003
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Houston, TX (sugarland, TX)
Vehicle:
2002 ej257 Black WRX

Default new cluster = mileage start at zero?

if i get a new cluster for my '02 WRX, say just a normal '02 WRX cluster...would my mileage start at zero again?

kinda sneaky when you wanna sell your car
but i love my car so aint happening but just wonderin

thanks..
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
jefersun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2003, 01:25 PM   #2
cnk
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 10757
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NJ
Vehicle:
2013 BRZ Limited 6MT
DGM

Default

Yes. Odometer readings are stored in the gauge cluster. If you replace the cluster, you're supposed to get an Odometer reading and written confirmation from the dealer.

Calvin
cnk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2003, 03:35 PM   #3
Mulder
Trust no one
Moderator
 
Member#: 11170
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
02 WRX
05 GTO/11 Sonata(!)

Default

The law requires that if the cluster is replaced and/or the mileage set back to zero or changed for any reason, a sticker has to be attached to the doorpost to indicate the true mileage.
Mulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2003, 11:58 AM   #4
Murray
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 11312
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: ghettoville, PA
Vehicle:
2009 Gray
Legacy 2.5i

Default

i dont know about subaru's, but i know at toyota when i have to order a new cluster for a car we give them teh milage and it comes in pre-programmed with the correct miles on it..
sometimes if it takes afew days to get it we will give the car back to the customer and they drive for like 500 miles, and hte new odometer is installed later, there is a slight difference in milage..but 500 miles..thats nothing.

if you order one(or the STi cluster like everyone else) see if you can provide them with your current mileage, and have it programmed bfore its shipped
Murray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2003, 04:50 PM   #5
bigdweeb
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 31035
Join Date: Dec 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Boston
Vehicle:
13 Ford Explorer
14 ISM STi

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Murray
i dont know about subaru's, but i know at toyota when i have to order a new cluster for a car we give them teh milage and it comes in pre-programmed with the correct miles on it..
sometimes if it takes afew days to get it we will give the car back to the customer and they drive for like 500 miles, and hte new odometer is installed later, there is a slight difference in milage..but 500 miles..thats nothing.

if you order one(or the STi cluster like everyone else) see if you can provide them with your current mileage, and have it programmed bfore its shipped
There isn't any way to get the cluster reprogrammed on a Subaru. At least no legal way that I know of. I think the only way to have a slightly accurate gauge cluster swap is to find someone selling a cluster with about the same amount of miles that you have.
bigdweeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2003, 05:04 PM   #6
Mulder
Trust no one
Moderator
 
Member#: 11170
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
02 WRX
05 GTO/11 Sonata(!)

Default

A while back there was a thread in here where someone had their cluster replaced because the LCD display went bad. The dealer installed a new one with zero miles and placed the required sticker on the doorpost.
Mulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new gauge cluster mileage CaseD Newbies & FAQs 5 03-29-2009 10:45 PM
please help: no power, mileage resets to zero se0ul Electrical & Lighting 5 11-07-2008 05:27 AM
New EVO IX's starting at $25,699 DriveFast Off-Topic 6 02-16-2006 02:00 PM
STi stock bypass valve, almost new free shipping starts at $1 StatiK Private 'For Sale' Classifieds 0 11-02-2005 03:16 PM
Does the mileage change w/ new cluster? scoobieREX Electrical & Lighting 1 06-18-2003 08:08 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.