Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday May 7, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Electrical & Lighting

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-10-2003, 02:56 PM   #1
Dolphin Overton
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1925
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: denver
Default Battery relocation Q.

I am about to relocate my battery to the trunk and was wondering if there would be any issues using the stock battery back there. Someone told me you need a stronger battery when going from the trunk... this doesn't seem right. Anyone got any info? suggestions? good prices on boxes etc.?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Dolphin Overton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2003, 06:20 PM   #2
armand1
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 10309
Join Date: Sep 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
'02 OBS 2-tone!
'95 Montego Miata

Default

Not sure why you would want to, since you'll need to run something like 0 gauge power wire to the front, which isn't light, and physically protect it from any chafing etc so you don't get a car-B-Q.
armand1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2003, 08:23 PM   #3
LinuxGuy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 17270
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Vehicle:
1998 Fender Bender
Holds 1000lbs.

Default

Just curious, did you buy a kit or are you making up a homemade system?

Stock battery should be ok in the trunk.
LinuxGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2003, 02:03 AM   #4
Uncle Scotty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16200
Join Date: Mar 2002
Vehicle:
OK buy Nates beans
westcoastroasting.com

Default

I put an Odyssey PC680 under the passengers seat a while ago, and it works great. I used 4ga. power cable to run the pos. to the front and used the seat bolt for the neg. and have had no problems. i also used an Anderson connector(SB120) to make it easy to install/remove.
The car changes directions better with the weight off the front end, and generally feels lighter up front.

I'll see if I can get a link to pics going....
Uncle Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2003, 03:44 AM   #5
Dolphin Overton
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1925
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: denver
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by armand1
Not sure why you would want to, since you'll need to run something like 0 gauge power wire to the front, which isn't light, and physically protect it from any chafing etc so you don't get a car-B-Q.
weight distribution. it's nothing new, it's a basic principle. take 30 pounds from in front of the front axles, and put it behind the rear axles. so it's not for overall weight reduction, it's for distribution... not for drag racing.

I am getting a Moroso kit(really nice kit with breather and high quality box) and using my own cable... either 0 or 4 gauge. dunno what yet.
Dolphin Overton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2003, 01:20 AM   #6
armand1
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 10309
Join Date: Sep 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
'02 OBS 2-tone!
'95 Montego Miata

Default

4 gauge may be a bit small -- check out:
wire gauge current capacity for standard run (roughly length of car)
The Moroso box *does* look nice; where do you run the vent hose?
armand1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2003, 10:16 PM   #7
tdxflex
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 13634
Join Date: Dec 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Boston
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by armand1
Not sure why you would want to, since you'll need to run something like 0 gauge power wire to the front, which isn't light, and physically protect it from any chafing etc so you don't get a car-B-Q.
Specs I got from knukonceptz,
0ga wire weighs 0.40 lbs/ft
2ga wire weighs 0.25 lbs/ft

For extra protection I ran split loom where the wire needs to pass by tight clearances like the rear seat and firewall areas. I'm using 0ga wire, a lot of battery relocation kits use 2ga, the only person I know that has a battery in the trunk that uses 4ga is NavyBlueSubaru and it's been working out ok for him.
tdxflex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2003, 04:11 AM   #8
Dolphin Overton
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1925
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: denver
Default

thanks tdxflex

armand1: the vent hose goes out th ebottom of the car so you have to do some drilling. it's a bit scary, but there is a graumet and everything so it should be OK.

i think i am going to get the entire Moroso Kit. wires, box, terminal etc. My friend can get them at cost, so it will be significant;y cheaper than online
Dolphin Overton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2003, 02:50 PM   #9
koolaid
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 43491
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Michigan
Vehicle:
1997 Impreza Outback
Red

Default

you could also get a dry cell battery so as to not worry about the troubles of fumes or tipping over
koolaid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2003, 10:03 PM   #10
subiekid
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 25516
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Send help, stuck in internet!
Vehicle:
1995 Legacy TURBO!!!
EJ22T/TEC3 & '12 Civic

Default

what about the ground cable that is still in the motor bay compartment?

i have some things that are grounded off of that, so do you just ground it to the chassis?
subiekid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2003, 11:15 PM   #11
koolaid
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 43491
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Michigan
Vehicle:
1997 Impreza Outback
Red

Default

yes.. usually to the strut tower, or make a new hole
koolaid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2003, 12:09 AM   #12
Dolphin Overton
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1925
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: denver
Default

a dry cell battery is OK, but tranfering the stock battery to the rear of the car is more effective for balancing the car. the moroso kit will not allow tipping or any fumes to get into the car. dunno if i have the cash right now though, i need new rear brake pads now
Dolphin Overton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2003, 02:09 AM   #13
atomicapples
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12626
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: morristown, nj
Vehicle:
02 2.5 rs
silver

Default

doesnt the stock battery a wet battery and will release some toxic fuses?

i relocated my battery, but i used a drycell...
atomicapples is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2003, 05:39 AM   #14
Uncle Scotty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16200
Join Date: Mar 2002
Vehicle:
OK buy Nates beans
westcoastroasting.com

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Dolphin Overton
a dry cell battery is OK, but tranfering the stock battery to the rear of the car is more effective for balancing the car. the moroso kit will not allow tipping or any fumes to get into the car. dunno if i have the cash right now though, i need new rear brake pads now
I moved the battery(a 'drycell'..no fumes, can't leak even if split open) under the passengers seat, after careful consideration.
This position is better than the trunk for several reasons, balance being one.
Under the seat is lower and closer to the center of the vehicle(offsets some of the drivers weight) than the trunk, and the battery I used is about half the weight than the stock battery WITH all associated hardware used for the installation. The Moroso kit adds weight to the stock battery and the cable to run to the front must be of heavier guage and more must be used.
No trunk space is used if the battery is located elsewhere.

My install may not be legal for some race sanctioning bodies, but I'll deal with that if and when it becomes necessary.
Uncle Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2003, 12:24 AM   #15
subiekid
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 25516
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Send help, stuck in internet!
Vehicle:
1995 Legacy TURBO!!!
EJ22T/TEC3 & '12 Civic

Default

hey uncle scotty? what type of battery are you using? doyou have a pic? is it the one that is like half the size of the oem battery? where did you get it?
subiekid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2003, 01:47 AM   #16
Uncle Scotty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16200
Join Date: Mar 2002
Vehicle:
OK buy Nates beans
westcoastroasting.com

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by subiekid
hey uncle scotty? what type of battery are you using? doyou have a pic? is it the one that is like half the size of the oem battery? where did you get it?
I'll bet you didn't read this thread, did you?
Uncle Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2003, 02:11 AM   #17
subiekid
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 25516
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Send help, stuck in internet!
Vehicle:
1995 Legacy TURBO!!!
EJ22T/TEC3 & '12 Civic

Default

i been ow3ned.

i just ordered a summit trunk mount kit. 34 bucks, its got a box and 20 feet of 2 gauge wire, and 3 feet for the ground.

how do i ground the ground cable in the motor bay? does anyone make like battery posts that you can bolt do the chassis?
subiekid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2003, 10:12 PM   #18
subiekid
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 25516
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Send help, stuck in internet!
Vehicle:
1995 Legacy TURBO!!!
EJ22T/TEC3 & '12 Civic

Default

the summit kit is very nice. the box is kinda cheap, but it will be ok.

i will get install pics some time next weekend.
subiekid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2003, 01:23 AM   #19
atomicapples
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12626
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: morristown, nj
Vehicle:
02 2.5 rs
silver

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by subiekid
i been ow3ned.

i just ordered a summit trunk mount kit. 34 bucks, its got a box and 20 feet of 2 gauge wire, and 3 feet for the ground.

how do i ground the ground cable in the motor bay? does anyone make like battery posts that you can bolt do the chassis?
you can ground it to anywhere in the truck.

i grounded the battery in the trunk to the frame rails.
atomicapples is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2003, 01:24 AM   #20
atomicapples
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12626
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: morristown, nj
Vehicle:
02 2.5 rs
silver

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by subiekid
the summit kit is very nice. the box is kinda cheap, but it will be ok.

i will get install pics some time next weekend.
let me try to get some pics up...
atomicapples is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2003, 05:55 AM   #21
armand1
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 10309
Join Date: Sep 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
'02 OBS 2-tone!
'95 Montego Miata

Default

For those of you doing battery relocations without running a ground cable back up front along with the +12V cable, remember that the steel in the body conducts electricity less well than does a copper cable. Thus, if you hook up your battery (-) to the body in the back near the relocated battery, up front the difference between your +12V cable and the engine compartment ground is going to be less. Similarly, the actual charging voltage from the alternator that the battery sees at its terminals will be less than normal. Just something to keep in the back of your mind if you get some weird electrical problems.
armand1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2003, 12:24 PM   #22
tdxflex
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 13634
Join Date: Dec 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Boston
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
WRB

Default

There is a lot of steel though, I would be more concerned about the contact from the battery to the frame. Strip all of the paint off, spray a little dielectric grease, and make sure the ring terminal is sandwiched well to get maximum surface area contact. I just grounded to one of the rear seatbelt bolts, have had no problems at all in the last 3-4 months.
tdxflex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2003, 04:49 PM   #23
Uncle Scotty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16200
Join Date: Mar 2002
Vehicle:
OK buy Nates beans
westcoastroasting.com

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by armand1
For those of you doing battery relocations without running a ground cable back up front along with the +12V cable, remember that the steel in the body conducts electricity less well than does a copper cable. Thus, if you hook up your battery (-) to the body in the back near the relocated battery, up front the difference between your +12V cable and the engine compartment ground is going to be less. Similarly, the actual charging voltage from the alternator that the battery sees at its terminals will be less than normal. Just something to keep in the back of your mind if you get some weird electrical problems.
This is why I ran a secondary 8ga. ground to the gounding point on the on the drivers side of the intake manifold.
Uncle Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2003, 10:14 PM   #24
subiekid
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 25516
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Send help, stuck in internet!
Vehicle:
1995 Legacy TURBO!!!
EJ22T/TEC3 & '12 Civic

Default

did you just cut the end off of the ground wire and put on an end that would alow you to bolt it do the chasis?
subiekid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2003, 06:18 AM   #25
atomicapples
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12626
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: morristown, nj
Vehicle:
02 2.5 rs
silver

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Uncle Scotty
This is why I ran a secondary 8ga. ground to the gounding point on the on the drivers side of the intake manifold.
thats alot of wiring.

what i did was i dremeled some paint off in the back, and grouded it, and then got some car paint (aspen white) and just resprayed it. no problems, been using it for the past 11 months.
atomicapples is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Battery relocation, with conventional Battery. azn0boi04 Electrical & Lighting 3 02-23-2010 11:06 PM
Battery Relocation Kits BongMan Normally Aspirated Powertrain 25 09-16-2001 01:29 AM
('93-'01) Battery relocation questions Imprezer Impreza Forum 2 06-05-2001 04:50 AM
For sale: battery relocation kit bill harvey New England Impreza Club Forum -- NESIC 3 03-04-2001 03:39 PM
Battery Relocation? Jeff 2.5RS Newbies & FAQs 2 10-16-2000 09:58 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.