Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday August 23, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-13-2003, 04:37 PM   #1
swalker
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 30190
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Richmond, VA
Vehicle:
2010 Obsid Black STi
ATP GT30, Jermaine tuned

Question Where do I go from here (I have money to spend!)

Ok, need some help/advice. I've currently done an AEM short-ram intake, HKS BOV (I know, big whoop but I like the sound), and ProDrive axle-back. I've already ordered the TurboXS Stealth-Back to mate up to the ProDrive muffler.

I WAS going to do the uppipe at the same time until I read something saying you need to do the computer (ie UTEC) first or the stock ECU won't be able to handle the EGT readings. Is this true and if so, should the UTEC be the next thing done to the car?

Any help on this would be appreciated.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
swalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2003, 04:43 PM   #2
mlambert
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 13831
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: 99 problems but a bitch aint 1
Default

Upipe and stealthback at the same time would be best. Only get a UTEC if you want to learn how to tune it yourself, its not made for "set and forget" type folks.
mlambert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2003, 04:53 PM   #3
Rick539
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 35997
Join Date: Apr 2003
Default

I disagree on the utec. If you use the txs base maps it is basically a set and forget. I know the maps are conservative, but if you are not going to tune yet, they will give much better performance than the stock ecu. Also, it sounds like you are getting hooked like the rest of us and sooner or later you will want to tune for future mods. Once you get into tuning, you are hooked.
Rick539 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2003, 05:09 PM   #4
JSiwek
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 14909
Join Date: Feb 2002
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Bay Area, CA
Default

You do not need engine management to run an uppipe. Some do not have a bung for the stock EGT probe and you will then need a fix to keep the computer from throwing a CEL, but some do have the bung. I have a PDE uppipe on mine, no CEL, no problems. I didn't heat wrap it though and if I did it again, I would have heat wrapped it like I did for my downpipe... keeps the heat out of the engine compartment much, much better especially since all of the stock shielding is lost...

But your car will run perfectly w/ an uppipe without doing any sort of tuning.
JSiwek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2003, 05:11 PM   #5
swalker
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 30190
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Richmond, VA
Vehicle:
2010 Obsid Black STi
ATP GT30, Jermaine tuned

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mlambert
Upipe and stealthback at the same time would be best. Only get a UTEC if you want to learn how to tune it yourself, its not made for "set and forget" type folks.
Thanks for the feedback. I read somewhere (no I don't remember where) that said the stock ECU would throw CEL's left and right with a cat-less uppipe due to EGT sensor getting much higher readings. I'm only thinking UTEC because of the pre-programmed maps and the fact that if i change something, I can just download a new map and not have to pay someone to reflash every time. Not only that but there really isn't anyone too close that could do it. The other thing I noticed was TXS had maps for full turbo-back exhaust which is what I'll have as soon as the Stealth-Back is installed. The next map was for uppipe and larger TMIC (probably with silicon IC hoses as well). I am far from a 'tuner' yet but of course want a faster car - it IS addictive!
swalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2003, 05:40 PM   #6
mlambert
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 13831
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: 99 problems but a bitch aint 1
Default

What you do to solve the egt sensor cel is plug a 2.2kohm resistor into the egt plug, its simple to do and only costs a few cents. Also if you get an ecu reflash, like ecutek, you dont need to send it in for reflashing every time you do a minor mod. It will learn around small things like a new intercooler, hoses, ect. Just make sure you get it from the right tuner.
mlambert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2003, 05:54 PM   #7
Boost_Junkiee
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 34520
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: McKinney, TX
Default

You can buy my Stage 4 withVF30, FMIC, UTEC, Injectors, and fuel pump for $2500
Boost_Junkiee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2003, 06:51 PM   #8
Rickyh
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 40453
Join Date: Jul 2003
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Metairie, Louisiana
Default

Get an uppipe. You don't need a reflash or anything. You can re use the stock egt sensor. If you don't want to do that then use a 2.2k ohm resistor from radio shack (99 cents for 5 of them), bend it in a u shape and plug it into the socket that the egt plugs into. I haven't done this though. I just reused the stock egt sensor. Believe me, your car will spool up soooo much sooner. My car starts to spool around 2k.
Rickyh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2003, 11:25 PM   #9
swalker
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 30190
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Richmond, VA
Vehicle:
2010 Obsid Black STi
ATP GT30, Jermaine tuned

Default

Thanks everyone for their info. I don't want to use Radio Shack parts but as long as the factory ECU has no problems with the EGT readings from a cat-less uppipe then I want to get the uppipe done at the same time. It would save labor in the long run (since I don't have my own lift ).

I know that some people talk from no experience so I do appreciate everyone's feedback. It's forums like these that keep me from blowing my engine!
swalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2003, 11:42 PM   #10
dan avoN7
Top Scoob 002
 
Member#: 32771
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Danville, CA
Vehicle:
03 Black WRX
04 White M3

Default

another vote for uppipe. After doing this mod my car felt like a new car. Also about not wanting to use radio shack parts... All it is, is a small resistor that you stick into a connector. Do it because if not you will possibly throw a cel.
dan avoN7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2003, 01:54 AM   #11
Eggas
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 43214
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: In love with a stripper
Vehicle:
2003 Stage should
have bought a house

Default

I was thinking about getting the perrin uppipe and I heard that one is pretty good about not throwing up any cels... Also where can I get the heatwrap for an up pipe?
Eggas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2003, 02:11 AM   #12
Uncle Scotty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16200
Join Date: Mar 2002
Vehicle:
OK Houston
we have an Uncle

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by swalker
Thanks everyone for their info. I don't want to use Radio Shack parts but as long as the factory ECU has no problems with the EGT readings from a cat-less uppipe then I want to get the uppipe done at the same time. It would save labor in the long run (since I don't have my own lift ).

I know that some people talk from no experience so I do appreciate everyone's feedback. It's forums like these that keep me from blowing my engine!
Re-using the stock EGT probe in a catless up-pipe is absolutly pointless, and potentially dangerous to your turbo as it can melt and destroy the turbine wheel.
As for not using 'Radio Shack' parts on your car, the resistor makes the ECU think the cat in the up-pipe is at a nice safe temperature(the EGT probe is for the cat in the up pipe) which won't melt it and cause it to eat your turbo.
So...NO up-pipe cat=No need for stock EGT probe, and need for 2.2k ohm resistor. Dosen't matter where you buy the resistor.

Wrap your up-pipe, it really does help.
Uncle Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2003, 02:52 AM   #13
mlambert
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 13831
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: 99 problems but a bitch aint 1
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Uncle Scotty

NO up-pipe cat=No need for stock EGT probe, and need for 2.2k ohm resistor. Dosen't matter where you buy the resistor.

Isnt it amazing how many times this is repeated? Someone should make a sticky for this for everyone to point to.
mlambert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2003, 03:19 AM   #14
Uncle Scotty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16200
Join Date: Mar 2002
Vehicle:
OK Houston
we have an Uncle

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mlambert


Isnt it amazing how many times this is repeated? Someone should make a sticky for this for everyone to point to.
Yeah...there are several things that should be required reading to register....Like "Which BOV should I....", and "Why are my parking lights on all the time?" and......
Uncle Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2003, 08:44 AM   #15
swalker
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 30190
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Richmond, VA
Vehicle:
2010 Obsid Black STi
ATP GT30, Jermaine tuned

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Uncle Scotty


Re-using the stock EGT probe in a catless up-pipe is absolutly pointless, and potentially dangerous to your turbo as it can melt and destroy the turbine wheel.
As for not using 'Radio Shack' parts on your car, the resistor makes the ECU think the cat in the up-pipe is at a nice safe temperature(the EGT probe is for the cat in the up pipe) which won't melt it and cause it to eat your turbo.
So...NO up-pipe cat=No need for stock EGT probe, and need for 2.2k ohm resistor. Dosen't matter where you buy the resistor.

Wrap your up-pipe, it really does help.
So, if you don't use stock EGT probe, how do you monitor EGT's since it's supposed to be so important to monitor?
swalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2003, 01:33 PM   #16
GRNMTNRS
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 7607
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Vermont
Vehicle:
04 forester
red granite

Default

From what I know (not that much) Egt is very important, but the best way to monitor it is to run a egt gauge and place the probe in the manifold. do a search because I can't remember what side to tap.

I am running a helix flex up-pipe ( $199 shipped w/ gaskets subydude.com) and a mrt turbo back and it is running great. No cel and no leaks. For the ecu put on the following mods and reflash it if you want a set and go.

Good louck..

Happy Motoring.
GRNMTNRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2003, 02:23 PM   #17
Uncle Scotty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16200
Join Date: Mar 2002
Vehicle:
OK Houston
we have an Uncle

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by swalker


So, if you don't use stock EGT probe, how do you monitor EGT's since it's supposed to be so important to monitor?
The most common place to put an aftermarket EGT probe is in the exhaust manifold ~3"-4" from the head, either side. many choose the drivers side because, if the probe does melt(and they can), the debris has a lot farther to go and may adhere to the inside of the system before it gets to the turbine. The drivers side is also easier if you already have installed an up-pipe and don't wish to disassemble the passengers side again.
The manifold must be drilled and tapped to accept the EGT probe bung, which requires removing it from the vehicle.
Don't let anybody try to tell you that it can be done on the car, and the drill chips won't hurt anything blowing out the exhaust. Bullspit.
Uncle Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2003, 03:20 PM   #18
lawn boy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16345
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: WashPA
Vehicle:
2003 WRX- Sold
E60 BMW 545i

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Boost_Junkiee
You can buy my Stage 4 withVF30, FMIC, UTEC, Injectors, and fuel pump for $2500
really now ?
lawn boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where do I go from here? dylanhauge Interior & Exterior Modification 19 05-07-2007 04:30 PM
Where do I go from here? lvfc_rook_1503 Factory 2.5L Turbo Powertrain 11 04-26-2007 04:12 PM
Where Do We Go From Here? firstHKS Built Motor Discussion 2 01-23-2007 01:05 PM
Where do I go from here? Log inside. 9d2TSi Engine Management & Tuning 8 06-15-2006 03:14 PM
New Car !! so.. where do I go from here? songcho Texas Impreza Club Forum -- TXIC 1 08-16-2001 09:52 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.