Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday July 28, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Electrical & Lighting

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-15-2003, 10:21 AM   #1
gothamz_hero
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 45293
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Northern NV
Vehicle:
2005 Baja
Obsidian Black

Question Impreza Brighton gauge help

I couldn't find anything on the 'net to help me, so hopefully the knowledgable folks who frequent this message board can. I have a Brighton, which as I'm sure you all know is the barest of the bare bones subarus for its time. It's a 1997, and it has no tachometer, which isn't really that big of a deal, but I'd like to install one. The tachometer I bought has 4 leads: Pos, Neg, Input, and one for a light. I've been all over under the hood, and I've had the gauge pod out looking for the wire to use for the signal and I havn't had any luck. I know it's a solid green wire on the later subby's, but mine has no such wire. Perhaps there is no lead for the tachometer, but behind that guage pod are all kinds of wires not connected to anything, so I'm sure it's there somewhere. Thanks in advance for any help you guys can offer!!
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
gothamz_hero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2003, 10:55 AM   #2
satrya
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 5887
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Fremont, CA USA
Vehicle:
2002 GDAA
797

Default

Not sure if this helps, but there's a wiring diagram for the ECU pinout of my1997 Impreza 2.2 L engine at:
http://www.northursalia.com/index1.html

perhaps you can tap the engine speed output off the ECU. There are wiring diagrams for other model years too, but I'm not sure if any of them are compatible with your Brighton.
satrya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2003, 02:53 AM   #3
Subosche22
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 20398
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Louisville
Vehicle:
03 Evolution 8
Tarmac Black

Default

I to have a Brighton and you can either wire your input signal wire to the back of the printed circuit board or even go to the ECU Pin location 64 i Believe its a red wire but mine's a 96 and they may have changed the wire color's. If this doesn't help or you have any other questions let me know

Mitch


PS What are your future plans for the Suby?
Subosche22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2003, 08:02 AM   #4
avk
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 17252
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NJ
Vehicle:
'06 WX8
59E

Default

On the '97 Brighton cluster, are there mounting holes for an OE tach. on the circuit board? If there are, you can trace the conductors to the connector slots on the sides and see if the signal wire is in the harness. The tach. connections should be for power, ground and ECU signal. The first two, at least, are easy to spot. On a '95, the tach. signal is at the 5th pin from the top on the right side of the board, looking from the back, and the wire is solid red.
avk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2003, 03:46 PM   #5
scoobyimprza
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 24956
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Littlestown PA
Vehicle:
1997 Impreza WRX
Steel Blue Mica

Default

PM RSimport. I know he did this with his Brighton. I believe that he just put in a normal cluster with the tach.

Brent
scoobyimprza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2003, 08:45 AM   #6
RSimport
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 24718
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Potomac MD
Vehicle:
05 impreza RS
white

Default

that would be correct all you have to do is put the tach in and it works there is no wiring required just a few screw turns and you should have it working. If you need any help just let me know.
Chris
RSimport is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gauging Interest: Trade my '99 Impreza 2.5RS for your impreza Brighton Danny Boy NESIC Private Classifieds 20 11-14-2007 09:19 AM
96 subaru impreza brighton help BenjiG Service & Maintenance 1 02-15-2005 03:20 PM
Impreza Brighton Wagon Sighting in RMD 5 Zigen Vancouver Impreza Club Forum -- VIC 0 11-24-2001 11:26 PM
1996 Impreza Brighton Turbo Questions KarZoned Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain 7 08-31-2001 05:00 AM
which to buy? Impreza Brighton or Outback Sport? Garvinator Canada Region Forum 12 12-20-2000 07:35 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.