Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday September 26, 2016
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Electrical & Lighting

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-22-2003, 12:39 AM   #1
left footed whooten
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 44652
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Truckee, CA
Vehicle:
06 WRX
17 Colorado Duramax comin

Default Need a tach for my Brighton

Want to put a tach from a suitable Impreza into my tach-less Brighton Impreza. Does my car have pickups and wiring already, or, on such transplants do i need the whole shebang? Hoping I can just grab a donor gauge from the salvage and drop it in without having to run wire & such. Appreciate the input.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
left footed whooten is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 10-22-2003, 07:13 PM   #2
tmat3
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2817
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: NYC and Troy, NY
Vehicle:
2001 Impreza 2.5RS
BRP

Default

I believe you can tap an aftermarket tach (such as Autometer tach) into ECU's engine speed signal wire even though you don't have a tach. The ECU still needs to know the current engine RPM.

If you can't find one, then you can tap into ignition module. I don't have a clue on which wire.
tmat3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2003, 09:44 PM   #3
subiekid
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 25516
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Send help, stuck in internet!
Vehicle:
1995 Legacy TURBO!!!
EJ22T/TEC3 & '12 Civic

Default

should be able to just tap the wire that goes into the ecu.
subiekid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2003, 09:56 PM   #4
avk
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 17252
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NJ
Vehicle:
'06 WX8
59E

Default

You can remove the blank plate and install a tachometer. It's the same p/n for all 1993-96. The electrical connection is through the mounting screws and the signal wire is already connected to the circuit board on the back.
avk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new jdm bumper for my brighton tn 96 impreza Subaru Conversions 7 08-06-2007 11:01 AM
I need parts!!!...not for my WRX, for my skateboard! NJwrbT-WRX Tri-State Area Forum 23 09-16-2003 06:08 PM
Need service advice for my area rktwgn South East Region Forum 3 06-06-2001 06:20 AM
need replacement stickers for my Volks....please help MI members!! subywan-kenobi Mid West Subaru Owners Club Forum -- MWSOC 12 04-29-2001 05:50 PM
Need a fix for my bra (4 my car silly!!) wieger54 Interior & Exterior Modification 9 03-27-2001 11:34 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2016 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2016, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.