Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday September 19, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
North West Impreza Club
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Chapters > North West Impreza Club Forum -- NWIC

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-05-2003, 08:55 PM   #1
well_armed
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 15204
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Bellevue, WA
Vehicle:
2013 Outie Esss Four

Default Switched Ground? Huh? What do I need to do to get my Hella's working!!

Need help here-

How do I hook up my hella lights when our cars use a switched ground system? I want them to come on when the high beams come on, however the high beams read 0 volts when selected.

Hella says that I ground from terminal 85 to the ground on the headlamp (instead of the chassis)...but what is the ground wire on our headlamps? Is that the high beam wire since it reads 0volts when operating?


http://www.hellausa.com/maineng/NewL..._aux_lamps.pdf



Or do I just reverse the wiring, the red wire that normally goes to the battery goes to the ground terminal on the battery, and the ground goes to the positive terminal of the battery?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
well_armed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2003, 09:00 PM   #2
Vostok 7
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 30209
Join Date: Nov 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Get a real car.
Vehicle:
Do you need to
read this in Braille?

Default

If I understand you correctly, I had the same problem with my Rallye 4000's when I hooked them up.

You want them to come on with the highbeams? You have to reverse the wiring basically. Are you using the hella harness? What you do is hook the wire that goes to the highbeams to the lowbeam wire. Confusing I know.

There's three wires on your lights, Low, High and a common ground (iirc).

I can find my old thread in the electrical and lighting thread if necessary.

Patrick
Vostok 7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2003, 09:07 PM   #3
Vostok 7
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 30209
Join Date: Nov 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Get a real car.
Vehicle:
Do you need to
read this in Braille?

Default

Vostok 7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2003, 12:12 AM   #4
well_armed
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 15204
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Bellevue, WA
Vehicle:
2013 Outie Esss Four

Default

Thanks Patrick!

Well, have the lights worked properly since you installed them? Are you gettting the right voltage to your relay (+12V)?
well_armed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2003, 12:12 AM   #5
PhreeZe
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 11676
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Tacoma, WA
Vehicle:
2003 350Z
Super Black

Default

Sorry I didnt read all of what Doug said but couldnt he just do the fog light mod? You do some wire cutting and stuff under the dash...

Jason
PhreeZe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2003, 12:24 AM   #6
Vostok 7
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 30209
Join Date: Nov 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Get a real car.
Vehicle:
Do you need to
read this in Braille?

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by well_armed
Thanks Patrick!

Well, have the lights worked properly since you installed them? Are you gettting the right voltage to your relay (+12V)?
Yeah, I've taken them off since then, but they worked fine as long as I had them (like 4 months IIRC). They came on whenever I flipped the switch and turned on my highbeams. The relay worked just fine. The problem was the wiring for the Subaru is like the opposite of what the Hella instructions say to do... So all it took was a little creative thinking (and another vampire tap ) and everything worked just fine.

Patrick
Vostok 7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2003, 12:29 AM   #7
well_armed
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 15204
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Bellevue, WA
Vehicle:
2013 Outie Esss Four

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PhreeZe
Sorry I didnt read all of what Doug said but couldnt he just do the fog light mod? You do some wire cutting and stuff under the dash...

Jason
I am installing some hella FF1000 driving lamps where the stock fog's used to be. Therefore I needed a +12V source for when the brights go on.

I will show you guys some pics of the install as soon as I get my camera batteries charged up. It's gonna be sweet!

dP
well_armed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2003, 05:53 PM   #8
well_armed
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 15204
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Bellevue, WA
Vehicle:
2013 Outie Esss Four

Default

Okay, so I got the lamps working and what not...however I have another problem.

Since I have tapped the low beam to ignite the driving lamps to go on with the high beams...this means that the driving lamps turn on when I switch off my lights from the steering column.

I want all my lights to turn off! Does this mean that I need to tap another source for this to work? Do I need to incorporate a switch with the system so that activates when the lights read the 12+V source?

http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show...72#post5143372
well_armed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2003, 06:09 PM   #9
gpd323
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 9878
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Beautiful Downtown Spanaway!
Vehicle:
2002 WRX/GTX
WRX Wagon/Mazda GTX

Default

If you visit www.rallylights.com they have a wiring diagram to use for the switched ground system the Sube has.

Its here.
http://www.susquehanna.com/susq/other/auxlamps.htm

Cheers and beer me!

Greg Downing
gpd323 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2003, 06:22 PM   #10
well_armed
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 15204
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Bellevue, WA
Vehicle:
2013 Outie Esss Four

Default

|
|
|
|
V

Last edited by well_armed; 12-04-2003 at 06:31 PM.
well_armed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2003, 06:24 PM   #11
well_armed
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 15204
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Bellevue, WA
Vehicle:
2013 Outie Esss Four

Default



"Note that in some Japanese cars, the GROUND is switched instead. In that case, you would apply battery to pin 85 of the relay and the high or low beam circuit to the other side of the on/off switch. "



Yeah, I could never figure that verbiage out...can someone translate for me?
well_armed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2003, 03:00 PM   #12
Vostok 7
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 30209
Join Date: Nov 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Get a real car.
Vehicle:
Do you need to
read this in Braille?

Default

So let me understand what's going on now... When you turn off the lights, the driving lights come on again? That's odd. I wired my driving lights to another switch so that I could turn them on and off when I had the high beams on, but I don't think they ever came on when the lights were off, switch on or not.

Patrick
Vostok 7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2003, 04:26 PM   #13
well_armed
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 15204
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Bellevue, WA
Vehicle:
2013 Outie Esss Four

Default

I think I am getting some voltage going to the lights still with the DRL lights (even though I have unplugged the drl unit under the hood).

I am going to try and disable the DRL module under the glove-box...see if that works.
well_armed is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where do I get my Subaru worked on? Subaru shops/techs in Texas Geoff Texas Impreza Club Forum -- TXIC 0 01-22-2010 12:37 AM
Who do I need to PM tp get my handle changed like Subiedrift (cough) I mean Semaj? AnorexicSTI Vancouver Impreza Club Forum -- VIC 8 01-16-2007 11:07 AM
what do i need 2 do to beat a ser w/det? denracingwrx Mid West Subaru Owners Club Forum -- MWSOC 25 05-26-2003 02:11 PM
Info on where to get my wrx worked on ram116611 Bay Area Impreza Club Forum -- BAIC 3 10-22-2002 11:40 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.