Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday April 21, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Archives > NASIOC Archives > General Forum Archive

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-05-2001, 09:24 PM   #1
Overtime
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1346
Join Date: Apr 2000
Angry A warning: problems with a popular Subaru vendor...thoughts?

I'll begin this by saying that I don't claim impartiality. I want my money back and I want it back two minutes ago.

What I'll give you is a complete recount of the actions that took place from my perspective. I have the correspondence to back this up, so it's no bull. I offer this up to you as both a topic for discussion and advice and a warning on what to note and what not to ignore. I did a lot of things wrong, but I feel I'm still in the right. Please read this and respond. At worst, it makes for an entertaining story...because I was really, really, REALLY stupid.

Here we go:

I took part in a Corbeau seat groupbuy about a month back. It was run by Dante Primm, he of Primm Motorsports, and my seat ran me only $350 with the brackets and shipping. I was ecstatic and he said that the seat would reach me no later than December 1st.

I expressed concern about the poor quality and lack of adjustability from Wedge's brackets, but Dante never directly answered my questions, especially regarding what to do if the seat did not fit.

The seat came late, but I wasn't very worried. It was wholly intact, and other than some wit at FedEx detailing the Corbeau "birdie" logo, it was fine. I had a few caveats; they spelled Impreza "Ingreza", listed it as 97+, and there were no instructions. I bit my lip. This could still turn out fine.

The worst part was that it was a passenger's side seat. Figuring I could fit it in anyway (and ignoring several crucial bits of information) I decided I'd keep it for now. Primm let me know that it was a "Euro-spec" seat. Never mind that it was mailed from Utah. He offered that I could buy a second seat after installing this one and suggested that as my best choice. I said I'd wait and see, politely noting that Corbeau, while an exporter of seats to companies like Lotus, knew this was an American car needing an American seat.

It didn't take me long to figure out the counterintuitive brackets which placed all the stress on two thin pieces of metal. One was bent when I received it, but I bent it back. Not a good sign.

I complete the assembly and figure it's time to install. I put it in properly and suddenly the thought strikes me: I can't use the seatbelt with this seat. I can't adjust the vertical support with this seat. Heck, this seat doesn't even completely FIT.

I send Primm a notice saying all of this. He replies that he cannot refund my money until the seat is returned and that he is issuing the refund, not Corbeau. I am a little upset. I have to leave town in a few days and I would like my money back...and I did not intend to pay shipping to Utah on this seat. Plus, I already trashed the somewhat battered original packaging.

Primm tells me that Corbeau will arrange a call tag for the seat to be returned to them (they were the return address on the package anyway.) I thank him for his help; he asks me to place the seat in the original packaging. I convey to him that I have trashed the original box, which wasn't in great condition when it got to me, and he tells me to put everything in a box and have it ready for the call tagger. I ask if that's all I have to do. He affirms.

I rush off to Parcel Plus, buy a huge wardrobe box, tape it up decently, and have it ready when a truck comes by to pick it up. The shippers have no problem with the packaging; the guy says he'll tape it up further for me. I sign, the seat (and brackets...and hex wrench...and EVERYTHING) is taken away, and I try the PMs once more.

By now I am having to interrupt Primm's groupbuys in order to spur on a response. I am a little upset by this, but I figure it's rather normal to focus on selling more than receiving returns. Plus, I don't blame him for being reluctant to dish out the money. Most vendors do that, I figure.

TRi promptly refunded my money a while ago; I spent it at their store. I was aiming to do the same with Dante provided I could receive my money soon, as I hate to waste his time like this despite the error by Corbeau (or Primm Motorsports?)

I am told that I will receive the refund via FedEx ground whenever he gets the go ahead from Corbeau. I thank him and, resigned to my fate, leave the country on the 26th. He tells me he will check with Corbeau on the 26th and leave me a PM.

I PM him once during this span of a week or so. I receive no reply.

I try again. No reply again.

I resort to interrupting one of his groupbuys. I receive an email promptly. The email states, that I will NOT receive a full refund, that the seat was damaged, that my packaging is at fault for the seat's damage (seen partially in the below pictures) and that I may very well receive the damaged seat with no refund whatsoever. Keep in mind that this seat (and specifically the brackets) were not what I ordered, and I sent my return in because I figured that no company so inept would get such a simple, day-to-day order wrong and do nothing to correct it.

I reply that I am very upset and that I expect a refund in full for what I feel is Corbeau's mistake. I tell him that it is not my fault that the shippers damaged the seat and that I followed his exact commands. I also remind him that, if Corbeau has a problem with damage in transit, Corbeau is completely responsible for taking that up with the transit company. I let him know that I have done exactly what was expected and not only have I received no refund, but I have been threatened with a partial refund or, potentially, a returned product which has damage I am not responsible for and was incorrectly sent to me.

I convey to him that if I don't receive a reply by Friday, I will post this story on the board. I also let him know that if I don't receive my money back by Monday, the story will be posted to the board.

It is 12:13 AM, Saturday. I have received no reply. Primm has made several posts to the board at varying times of the day. He has not responded to my message.

I caution everybody in dealings with both Corbeau and Primm Motorsports and I urge everyone to avoid making the same mistakes I made. My car now has a used seat which I received BEFORE I LEFT (thanks-you know who you are) and which fits perfectly. I am also out $350 which I fully expect to get back...eventually. You all know me to be very up front; I have tried to help the aftermarket by organizing group buys FOR THE VENDORS, several of which I have not even participated in. I hope you trust me and I hope that you keep your wallet closer to your chest than I did. $350 is a lot of money to most of us.

I urge everyone who reads this to post their thoughts in the hope that more of you agree with me than with Dante. If you do so, it may pressure him and help me out...and I would be very grateful.

These two photos are two of the 9-10 photos which I received from Dante. They show the most seat/box. I will upload 2 more tommorrow when my connection is quicker.



A final parting note: this is not a shot at Primm Motorsports. I do not serve as judge, jury, or even executioner. I just want to warn people about what to expect should you be stuck in my situation...and hopefully, Dante can rebound from this and continue to provide the service he has provided in the past.

Think of this as long-winded criticism.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Overtime is offline  
Old 01-05-2001, 09:37 PM   #2
Midwayman
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1997
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Vehicle:
2006 Acura TL 6spd
STMGM6 alumni

Post

Well have to say that any semi-reputable shop would take the damage up with the shipper. You should be able to get a full refund one way or another. If you shipped them to Dante, he should file for insurance. (they did ship insured, right?) or Corbeau if they recieved them. Its unfortunate that this happened. I was interested in getting similar seats at some point.
Midwayman is offline  
Old 01-05-2001, 10:49 PM   #3
Overtime
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1346
Join Date: Apr 2000
Post

Midwayman-

If you're looking to buy a seat, I reccomend going Sparco or STi just because of the brackets. The "custom" Wedge Engineering brackets are...not very sturdy.

They'll hold you, but I don't think they'll take much abuse.

Thanks for the support.
Overtime is offline  
Old 01-05-2001, 11:23 PM   #4
SubePwr
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 140
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Seoul South Korea
Vehicle:
1999 RS 2.5
Blue

Post

One thing I didn't notice in your post was how you paid for he item. If you paid by credit card I would think your safe. Normally you have to write to your card disputing the charge. Yes you order an item but one of "new condition"

I have had to do this in the past, all three times the differant credit cards credited my right away and charged back to the company. Once the company fixes the problem (in your case lets say they sent a new that ment normal standards) at that point Primm could recharge your card.

I would call your card, it is a very easy and quick service and many times you can do what is needed in writting and fax or email it, so it's quick.

On the other side of this I have sold thousand of $$ worth of stuff on this board when I was importing for everyone. I dealt with UPS and USPS even if the package isn't insured if you receive an item with apparent damage to the shipping container you should sign and state on the condition of how it was received. If not it is assumed it was received in good condition unless you contact them other wise after opening. WHen they received the seat back that is what they most likey did and the shipper determined that it was improperly packed.

As far the Post Office goes, I am in th US Air Force and have been a Post Master in several countries working under both DOD & USPS guidelines and in instances of damaged or missing items the shipping container is required so that we can with our best judgement determine if it was pacled correctly.

Your post was long and I hope I understood everything and that I am not runner on, after all it is Friday night and I have had a couple.

If USPS was involved I am sure I could help you out on any of your questions and go over there ruiles and regulations. I should be able to help with UPS as well, but most of my knowledge is with USPS

Please feel free to call me at home at anytime is you have any quesions.

Since I have been both a customer as well as a vendor I will be glad to help you in anyway.

Again I'll be glad to help you, give me a call I'm in Okalhoma. Email me as well.

Jim Bass
405-732-7019 Home
405-812-450 Cell
6775618 ICQ

Spell Check % Grammer Off
SubePwr is offline  
Old 01-06-2001, 09:54 AM   #5
Overtime
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1346
Join Date: Apr 2000
Post

Thanks Jim. I appreciate the information and the offer of help. I may take you up on it.

Unfortunately, I did not pay via a credit card (my first mistake!) and the seat was call tagged via FedEx.

I'm going to call Corbeau on Monday and...talk...to them regarding this problem. I have been offered to take a cut of $125, which means that I receive the brunt of the cost to Corbeau and Primm for this screwup. That is unacceptable.

I'm working on it, and I will receive my money back...eventually.
Overtime is offline  
Old 01-06-2001, 10:31 AM   #6
Jon Bogert
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1133
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: SE PA
Vehicle:
09 GTR, 02 996 C4S
95 993 C4, 71 911, 04 STI

Thumbs down

Not to pile on to Corbeau, here, but the Forzas in my rally car are completely falling apart, after only about 3000 total miles (on and off road). Very poor workmanship and cheesy materials. I posted a long, detailed rant about six months ago when someone asked about the Forzas.

You get what you pay for. Cheap seats are, ummm, cheap.
Jon Bogert is offline  
Old 01-06-2001, 10:56 AM   #7
david2z4
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1838
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: WA
Vehicle:
2000 Impreza RS BRP
Vishnu Turbo/Tec3

Post

I have not had the best luck with Primm Motorsports myself, But he has always strived to work things out.

He does not like credit cards and wants paypal or money orders. The bad part about thay is there is nobody to back you up if there is a problem.

When I got the colored spline lugnuts from him that were not properly wrapped for shipment and came with the paint chipped he wanted me to pay for the return shipping and then he would refund me later.

I insisted on a call tag which he finaly agreed with after multipal pm's back and forth.

I am still waiting for $17 refund for the diferance between the colored and the chrome replacements I got.

I will never pay with paypal again.

[edit] Talked with Dante and he did not know I wanted a refund. Guess there was a miscomunication. Sorry


[This message has been edited by david2z4 (edited January 06, 2001).]
david2z4 is offline  
Old 01-06-2001, 08:39 PM   #8
Overtime
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1346
Join Date: Apr 2000
Exclamation

If you haven't read this yet, READ IT. You don't have to reply to it, but be conscious of what went on.

After all, it could save you some money.
Overtime is offline  
Old 01-06-2001, 09:32 PM   #9
Eric SS
Sooby Guru
 
Member#: 1914
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: 2013 335i, 2011 G37 coupe
Vehicle:
2000 2.5RS w/ EJ22T
swap and N20. gone. : (

Post

Thanks for the warning Overtime!

If there is anyone on this board that I feel sorry for it is you. You are always setting up group buys even if you are not in them and then this crap happpens to you!

Eric
Eric SS is offline  
Old 01-07-2001, 12:26 AM   #10
Overtime
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1346
Join Date: Apr 2000
Post

Jon-

I can't comment on the Targa seat I received, because it was reasonably well crafted, but the brackets were horrible. I should've known better than to scrimp and save on the freaking driver's seat.

David-

It's good to hear that you're getting your refund back. I just wish that Primm would put half as much energy into customer service as he does creating new groupbuys and bringing over new products. The fact that you had to post here for him to refund your money is not a good indication...but congratulations on getting a full refund.
Overtime is offline  
Old 01-07-2001, 12:52 AM   #11
AllWheelsDriven
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1737
Join Date: Jun 2000
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: 3rd Generation Seattle Local
Vehicle:
2005 BMW zhp
www.vispoint.com

Arrow

off the topic there is a complete STi interior for sale on the MRT webpage classifieds for cheap considering the exchange rate

M
AllWheelsDriven is offline  
Old 01-11-2001, 08:26 AM   #12
Primm Motorsports
Vendor
 
Member#: 2098
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Mission Viejo, CA, USA
Post

I just wanted to inform all that Overtime has been given a full refund.

Although Corbeau and Myself did not feel it was warranted we decided in the interest of good business practice to give him a full refund and take this as a learning experience.

If you would like to see the images that were not shown here follow this link: http://www.primmracing.com/bad-seat/seat.htm

I feel most will find the forth pic on top of interest.

Regards,

Dante
Primm Motorsports www.primmracing.com

[This message has been edited by Primm Motorsports (edited January 11, 2001).]
Primm Motorsports is offline  
Old 01-11-2001, 08:45 AM   #13
dada21
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 383
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Gurnee, IL, USA
Vehicle:
2001 Outback Sport
Black

Post

In the interest of good business?

How in the hell do you think its good business to send a paying customer the wrong seat?

How do you think that its good business to even question a customer's motives when that customer has proven their honesty on the board, and when that customer complains that some parts arrived broken or not in the proper condition?

How do you think that its good business to tell a customer "just send it back in any box" rather than have DETAILED RMA instructions like most good businesses have?

How do you think that its good business to say "We'll refund the money, even though we're not wrong, but just to save face"? To me that's as much as saying you're guilty. Like companies that settle "without admitting guilt." What is that about?

I'm sorry, but this puts a really smudge on the lens pointed towards your business. No matter what you have to gain or lose, its also good business to have a strong return policy, to require certain steps to RMA (call in advance, register an RMA number, insure the product via shipping, package the product following certain steps, etc), and to dictate to your customer what the delays are in getting a refund.

NOT accepting credit cards but through paypal is BAD business. I would never use paypal for anything major, and I would never use my debit card or checking account for the same reason -- there is no recource.

Just remember people, Beware Buyer

Overtime: Glad you got your money back. Thanks for learning a lesson for all of us
dada21 is offline  
Old 01-11-2001, 08:50 AM   #14
Die Civic
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3301
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Queens, New York
Vehicle:
2001 RS
Aspen White

Post

Personally I've never dealt with Primmitive Motorsports, but from how Dante spoke with me through email, and on the phone, I would have to say that I would purchase from him. And from his reaction and result to this post, his reputation presents him. I think that there are mistakes and incidents that happen sometimes, not soley the vendors fault. Just my opinion, no favoritism.
Die Civic is offline  
Old 01-11-2001, 09:02 AM   #15
Rich L
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 961
Join Date: Feb 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: near Atco(NJ) 13.566@100.64-
Vehicle:
1999 RS-Tw/ CobraMAF
Custom Rallispec kit/IC#1

Thumbs up

Overtime,

Thanks for the warning. Its a shame you had to "fight" to get what you deserve. It is my opinion that vendors should not make it difficult for their customers to get a refund or new product when there's a legitimate complaint. Venders should be more appreciative of their customers and come through on promises. Thats how they get a good reputation and more money from future business.

Look at Rallispec, good service + good products = good reputation= Great Business!
Heres and example:
They've installed a turbo kit on my car (like 2 days worth of man/hours) about 80% complete, but some parts where missing (guage and FPR). They were very apologetic and told me that the I didnt have to pay them yet(until the job was done). I actually felt bad not giving them my money!

So dont waste your time and effort on vendors you dont deserve you money.
Rich L is offline  
Old 01-11-2001, 09:05 AM   #16
mrbell
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1871
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Salt Lake City, UT
Vehicle:
2000 Impreza 2.5RS
Blue Ridge Pearl

Post

I am just curious, but who took those photographs(Primm, or Overtime?) and if it was Primm, what was the original packaging that Overtime recieved the seat like?
mrbell is offline  
Old 01-11-2001, 09:28 AM   #17
joostin420
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1046
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: New England, United States
Vehicle:
2007 WRX Wagon
UGM

Unhappy

1. damaged
2. wrong seat
3. no response
4. partial or no refund threat

1.& 2. once i saw the box damaged i would have told the delivery person to hold on, so you could open it in front of him to see if everything was ok. (i have done this before, actually alot). then you could have rejected the delivery to damage.

not to say Primm Motorsports did anything wrong besides give you the wrong seat.

3. & 4. IMHO, i would not deal with them again. they should be giving you an extra credit for such a hassle not threatening you.

i deal with shipping issues all day long, if i reject a delivery if damaged, etc. first i call shipping company, then call place of business and tell them the story.

i have never heard bad things about Primm Motorsports.

that is a very upsetting story man, hope everything works out.



[This message has been edited by joostin420 (edited January 11, 2001).]
joostin420 is offline  
Old 01-11-2001, 09:40 AM   #18
Primm Motorsports
Vendor
 
Member#: 2098
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Mission Viejo, CA, USA
Post

The pics were taken by Corbeau upon arrival back to them. The original is a double thick box, seat was wrapped and so were the brackets. As you can see on the return trip the seat was just placed in a wardrobe box not wrapped and the bracket was tossed on top of the seat.

I will not get into any type pf arguments here about what is and isn't good business practice. In the beginning I offered a complete refund as soon as the seat was returned and inspected. Upon inspection the seat had considerable damage due to the buyers negligence in re-packaging it, therefore he was offered a partial refund.

Bottom line I made only $25 on the original sale of $350 for a seat delivered. I have now absorbed the cost of freight 2 ways and a partial credit for a damaged seat = a net loss of $150. He received a full refund and I took the loss as well as Corbeau who can no longer sell the seat due to the buyer poor re-packing job. I am not harping on Overtime, he made a mistake in the way he re-packaged the seat and myself and Corbeau paid for it.

Sincerely,

Dante
Primm Motorsports www.primmracing.com

PS Just to clarify, the seat was not damaged upon arrival to him, and the responses form us were prompt. Lets not get off on a tangent here guys & gals.

[This message has been edited by Primm Motorsports (edited January 11, 2001).]
Primm Motorsports is offline  
Old 01-11-2001, 09:51 AM   #19
subarumantoo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3257
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Houston, TX
Vehicle:
2000 ImprezaRS
Blue Ridge Pearl

Post

NEVER EVER pay by Pay-Pal or by money order! Always pay by credit card! This gives you way more rights and security. A vendor could never screw you that way when you pay by credit card! You should not have to go through what you did just to get a refund, no matter what the reason.
subarumantoo is offline  
Old 01-11-2001, 10:22 AM   #20
jagcars26
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2394
Join Date: Sep 2000
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Bel Air Md.
Vehicle:
2005 Legacy GT wagon
2009 Forester X

Smile

Ok, its over , let it die. everbody learned somethin. Next topic
Rudy
jagcars26 is offline  
Old 01-11-2001, 10:32 AM   #21
JJTheSubeDriver
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 391
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: The land of many Subies
Vehicle:
2004 STi Blue/Gold
2000 RS BRP

Post

Overtime-

That is a very poor packaging job that you did to ship it back to Dante. If you felt that your seat was damaged on it's way to you, it would seem to me that you would have packed it better than that for the return trip, that way, it could be said the damage was done on the way to you. I mean, this is like the equivelent of me sending in my laptop in a box with no packing and then wondering why the vendor won't repair damage. UPS or Fedex would take one look at that/this on a damage claim if filed and laugh.

However, I am not saying that Dante did right by you either. It seems to me in this case that both parties are partially responsible for the problems with this sale. If Dante new the seat would not fit correctly, and further more not help you out when it didn't then SHAME ON HIM. You say the original packaging was a little battered, and in fact if it was you should have made a claim if Fedex "detailed the birdie" logo then you should have made a claim.

All of your other claims stem from communications problems as it seems to me, so SHAME on Primm for that.

Now, I'm not knocking on you Overtime, but you have to look at this, especially the packing job from Dante's perspective. Maybe a good solution would have been for you to ask Dante to ship you a box/packing to his liking or give you very specific instructions on such before you shipped it back. Many companies give out specfic packing information, or in cases like this probably would even ship the empty box to you with the call-tag. I think that would have been fair, you would have gotten a FULL refund and Corbeau would have recieved a seat they could resell, THAT'S THE BOTTOM LINE. Seems to me that you are lucky you got a full refund in this case.

Good luck with any further seats that you decide to go with and let this whole thing be a lesson learned to you and the rest of this board. I have been in the same situation before, and I knew and accepted that I screwed up when shippping the product back to the vendor. To make the long story short, I did lose some of my refund because of the damage.

JJ
JJTheSubeDriver is offline  
Old 01-11-2001, 10:48 AM   #22
STiShawn
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2348
Join Date: Sep 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: St.Louis
Vehicle:
2006 WRX TR
Steel Grey Metallic

Post

Well, as a person who just ordered $300 in parts from Primm/Dante. I hope the two group buys/offers he currently has up (OMP strut Bars,OMP Harness's) go through without hassle, parts are deliverd, people are happy. So, Dante, the onis is on you now to clear your image of this wee bit of a blemish, its not a big blemish becuase its not your fault, you didnt not deliver, you didnt screw him over like someother company with alot of unhappy, un-boosted customers. Make us proud.
My dealings with Dante have been very positive, he has answered all of my questions, and been very prompt with those responses. I sent him a check, no money order....so obviously I trust him. Hopefully Im right in doing so......I cant wait to get my parts.
Life, afterall IS byer beware.
STiShawn is offline  
Old 01-11-2001, 11:20 AM   #23
dada21
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 383
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Gurnee, IL, USA
Vehicle:
2001 Outback Sport
Black

Post

I agree that the blemish is not that harsh on these guys since its one bad experience vs all the good ones. But we all know that bad experiences > good experience in terms of people's recollection of the experience.

The refund is a positive start. From what I gathered from Overtime's message, he had another company pack it up and ship it out, didn't he? I've always used Mailboxes Etc in Chicagoland, they do an awesome job shipping ANYHING (packing, insuring, etc). I'd not hesitate to use them again.

As for opening the box in front of the shipper, I always do that if there is even a LITTLE bit of damage. FedEx and UPS guys have never complained (except of course when they just leave something expensive on my doorstep and take off -- then I take the box to the courier depot and open it there).

I do think you end up getting what you paid for... $350 for a seat is damn cheap, and for these guys to sell it for less than 10% profit is nuts. If you can't sell it for 20% or more, don't sell anything. If you're so cheap that you got them down to less than 10%, then you're going to have to expect some shortcuts in order for the shop to make money. They're here to help, but they're also here to make a profit. It's a fine balance that took me years in my business to get right.
dada21 is offline  
Old 01-11-2001, 02:08 PM   #24
Overtime
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1346
Join Date: Apr 2000
Arrow

Hello everyone:

I think it is rather unnecessary that we bring this up. Suffice to say, as I stated earlier, I got my money back. There was nothing more to say.

However, now that it's been brought up, I may as well finish up the soap opera. I was forced to call Corbeau in order to receive my full refund. The man I talked to in warranties-Spencer-stated several things. I think that you would all do well to take these into account should you decide to do business with Corbeau in the future. I make no claim to the honesty of these paraphrasings, but I urge you to read them and understand what went on.

1) Corbeau never ships out single seats. Only pairs are shipped out. Thus, there's a 50/50 chance of getting the right seat that you order. Corbeau states that all vendors know this and should communicate it to the customers. This sort of returning thing happens fairly often, he told me (rather nonchalantly.)

2) Corbeau is not responsible for the custom brackets, which are made by Wedge Engineering for Corbeau.

3) Vendors are the people responsible for distributing refunds. Corbeau merely authorizes it.

4) Corbeau doublechecks the seat and ensures that it is in good working condition but did not clarify on whether "reconditioned" or "returned" seats were sold as new. In this case, either answer would have been bad: a no would mean that the seat was a loss all along, and a yes would mean that all Corbeau seats are potentially used products.

Spencer, the man I talked to, was extremely respectful (though somewhat short) before he found out my age and extremely condescending (and VERY short) after he found out my age. He believed I was fully at fault for the damage to the seat and thought that I should pay $125 to reupholster the marks you see in the pictures. Corbeau makes seats for a living, but they apparently are not in the business of repairing them.

I pointed out to him that the box had obviously been damaged in transit (note the bashes from the exterior) and that I did exactly as told by Primm: put the seat in a box barring not being able to use the original packaging.

Now I'll address PMS:

Quote:
He received a full refund and I took the loss as well as Corbeau who can no longer sell the seat due to the buyer poor re-packing job
Note that Corbeau wanted to charge me $125 for a reupholstering job and now they are completely unable to resell the seat. I find this as amusing as it is upsetting.

You all have to remember that that my packaging makes perfect sense considering the situation Corbeau has described: after all, they don't normally ship out anything other than pairs, and any and all retailers have to deal with returned/reconditioned merchandise as "less than new." I figured Dante was telling me that they were eating the seat as a loss/partial loss, which is what all businesses end up doing. If I take off the wrapper and return it, the business loses big. They offer that return policy for CONSUMER CONFIDENCE. It's common sense that if 50 people are unhappy with the product, only 25 are going to return it. The rest are going to deal with it because they don't know/don't care about the policy.

Quote:
Although Corbeau and Myself did not feel it was warranted we decided in the interest of good business practice to give him a full refund and take this as a learning experience.
Eventually, it came down to Spencer telling me he would refund my money as a "business lesson" and that I was at fault in this incident. In no way, shape, or form did Corbeau take responsibility for sending the wrong product to my door or for Dante's delay in returning my communication. No one took responsibility. Then again, I didn't ask them to, as I didn't intend to be bitten twice.

I have no desire to deal with either of the two parties above anymore. They gave me what I wanted and what I feel I deserved, and I thank them. Other than that, I was very upset...and Corbeau was made aware of that when Dante forwarded one of my emails to them.

Quote:
My dealings with Dante have been very positive, he has answered all of my questions, and been very prompt with those responses. I sent him a check, no money order....so obviously I trust him.
I just want to say that I had no problems with Primm until I asked for a refund. Then the problems and lack of communication began. In buying the seat, he was, in my opinion, genuinely helpful and he cut me an excellent deal on a good seat (and poor brackets.) If the seat was correct, it would be in my car now.

Quote:
That is a very poor packaging job that you did to ship it back to Dante. If you felt that your seat was damaged on it's way to you, it would seem to me that you would have packed it better than that for the return trip, that way, it could be said the damage was done on the way to you. I mean, this is like the equivelent of me sending in my laptop in a box with no packing and then wondering why the vendor won't repair damage. UPS or Fedex would take one look at that/this on a damage claim if filed and laugh.
To clarify on the packaging...I was told to put the thing in a box and that was IT. See my rationale above. I was also assured by the guys picking it up (for the call tag that I demanded; otherwise, I would have had to pay for shipping to Utah on a seat that was not what I ordered) that it would be fine and that they would tape it up for me.

The original packaging, by the way, was very well done. I had no problems receiving the seat; it was in good condition, other than a FedEx employee's artistic skills. My problem was solely with being blamed for a business's responsibility: getting the order right. When they fought with me about shipping "damages" and Spencer tried to convince me to take the seat back with new, Corbeau-supplied brackets, I finally revealed that all these delays were only natural from businesses that wished to encourage more buying and discourage any sort of returning.

Like I said before, I have my money back, so I have no problems with Corbeau or Primm...but I'll gladly tell the story for whoever wants to learn something from it. All I asked for was a refund for an incorrect product. I received it recently, more than two weeks after I needed one.

In the end, it took a ten minute phone car, a little lip-biting, and an email. I just wish that Primm was able to do that for me so that none of this bickering would have to come about.

But it's water under the bridge now. Just don't do all the stupid stuff I did and your money will stay yours...at least, until you're ready to let it go.

Have a good one.
Overtime is offline  
Old 01-11-2001, 03:14 PM   #25
ColinL
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 114
Join Date: Jul 1999
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Wichita, KS and Whoring, OT
Vehicle:
'03 Evo, Rice White
'01 Erion CBR 929

Post

As an outsider I would certainly agree that your repackaging job was not up to snuff and you deserved to pay damages or settle for a partial refund.

Since all that matters to you is that you got your money back, I'm glad you're happy.

If I were one of these vendors, I wouldn't have given in to you.

Thanks for the "warning". I think the warning is that others should watch out if you're going to be shipping something to them!

[This message has been edited by ColinL (edited January 11, 2001).]
ColinL is offline  
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP - Problem with Ed Reilly Subaru in Concord, NH five_turbos New England Impreza Club Forum -- NESIC 55 01-22-2008 09:04 PM
Problem with 1st gear...any thoughts? the2rz Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 4 07-20-2004 04:22 PM
Problems with Morries (MN) Subaru, need SOA contact info please. WRXMod Warranty Issues & SOA Problems 9 05-05-2002 09:02 AM
('93-'01) Problems with Vendors Maximum Impreza Forum 1 05-06-2001 10:35 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.