Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday September 22, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-27-2004, 01:44 AM   #1
kenchan
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 15106
Join Date: Feb 2002
Default Ideas on where to mount Utec remote sw

I finally came around to ordering the remote switch from
Garret (WorldOnePerf) today.

Where are good locations to mount the switch? I'm thinking
it should be conceived...but then Im thinking it should be some
where easy to access.

I was thinking of mounting it by the dummy heated seat
switches...

Any suggestions?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
kenchan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2004, 09:42 AM   #2
mtb_dude
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12619
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: LI, NY
Vehicle:
02 WRX Wagon
#47 SM w/RA gears

Default

Mine is right next to my Cruise Control. Only problem is it's a little hard to see at night which map I'm on.
mtb_dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2004, 11:12 AM   #3
LiquidForce
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12811
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Roswell Ga
Vehicle:
2002 2.5l Wrx
517whp/516wtq (Stage pi)

Default

I wouldn't mount it where the seat heater switch would go. You could very easily accidently switch maps. On the dash by the cruise control button is best.
LiquidForce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2004, 11:39 AM   #4
kenchan
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 15106
Join Date: Feb 2002
Default

I already have a switch mounted in the dummy switch by
the cruise control.

Does Subaru sell those dummy switch covers? I can take out
the cruise on/off since I dont use it (nor my steering wheel
have that option since its aftermarket).
kenchan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2004, 12:12 PM   #5
el~sharko
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 29735
Join Date: Nov 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Westminster,MD
Vehicle:
2011 JSW TDI - DSG
2008 EVO X MR

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by kenchan
I already have a switch mounted in the dummy switch by
the cruise control.

Does Subaru sell those dummy switch covers? I can take out
the cruise on/off since I dont use it (nor my steering wheel
have that option since its aftermarket).
speaking of the switch blanks, let me know if you come across the part number for the small (HID adjustment in STi) blank that the map selector comes in. The dealer can't seem to find the part number for me and keeps giving me the bigger switch blanks.
el~sharko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2004, 03:10 PM   #6
PeteDucati
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 44629
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: '04WRX-Axis ej257, IPT 4eat.
Vehicle:
CNC 'd heads, cams
DB18g/EWG - F/S $8K

Default

I liked having the switch on the console.. I had it there for over six months and I NEVER hit it by accident. Plus, what's the worst that could happen, switch to another map that works?
PeteDucati is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2004, 05:27 PM   #7
mtb_dude
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12619
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: LI, NY
Vehicle:
02 WRX Wagon
#47 SM w/RA gears

Default

I know one of my maps is CAM2 only. Don't want to even think about running that lean with that much advance by mistake on 93

Maybe not such a good idea keeping it on board either way, but still.
mtb_dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2004, 06:57 PM   #8
kenchan
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 15106
Join Date: Feb 2002
Default

I installed the remote sw today. i didn't know the selector
switch already comes pre-mounted to the blanks. that was
a very pleasant surprise. I mounted mine to the center
console where the heated seat switches would go. it's a
perfect location for me and I too don't see how I would
accidentally hit that while im driving. I noticed that the cruise
control and the blank next to it is a deeper snap housing so
the utec remote sw would not fit there. that's ok, im happy
with where it's mounted. ran some tests on the dialog
menu and maps scrolled as it should. very cool.
kenchan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2004, 07:03 PM   #9
Bolster
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22290
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Vehicle:
2002 WRB WRX Wagon

Default

I was thinking about putting mine in a more "secret" place. The probelm is I am lazy. Where's a good, out of sight spot that's doesn't require contortion to get to? (Yeah, I know I'm being lazy and not using my own brainpower here.)
Bolster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2004, 09:44 AM   #10
kenchan
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 15106
Join Date: Feb 2002
Default

wouldn't be a 'secret' if we talked about it here, huh?
kenchan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2004, 11:25 AM   #11
Force[FED]
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 292
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Elmer, NJ USA
Vehicle:
2008 BMW 335xi Coupe
Alpine White

Default

Quote:
I'm thinking it should be conceived...
Whoa. Your UTEC remote switch must be sexier than mine. I didn't even know they COULD conceive :P

I kid...I kid...

I put mine next to the cruise control. I don't let anyone else drive my car anyway (my wife won't even drive it), so I wasn't trying to CONCEAL it.

If you are worried about that, just hide it in the glove box.

Kev
Force[FED] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2004, 01:09 PM   #12
GMTarkin
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 9237
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Youngstown, Ohio
Vehicle:
2008 Saab Turbo X
400+ lbft

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mtb_dude
I know one of my maps is CAM2 only. Don't want to even think about running that lean with that much advance by mistake on 93

Maybe not such a good idea keeping it on board either way, but still.
Leaded fuel in your poor subie!!!

GMTarkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2004, 03:18 PM   #13
mtb_dude
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12619
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: LI, NY
Vehicle:
02 WRX Wagon
#47 SM w/RA gears

Default

Nah, CAM2 GT100 is without lead and ironically only about twice the price of normal gas these days!

GT110 is the leaded variety.
mtb_dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2004, 04:13 PM   #14
GMTarkin
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 9237
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Youngstown, Ohio
Vehicle:
2008 Saab Turbo X
400+ lbft

Default

i'm assuming GT100 means 100 octane correct? why not go for alcohol injection, a proper setup can bump 93 octane up to 104-108 for cheap
GMTarkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2004, 11:33 PM   #15
mtb_dude
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12619
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: LI, NY
Vehicle:
02 WRX Wagon
#47 SM w/RA gears

Lightbulb

Cuz I'm a weenie and don't feel like competing in SM class in AutoX.

I run stock boost in ESP with 100 octane advance/fuel maps. So fun racing against Mustangs and F-Bodies.


Quote:
Originally posted by GMTarkin
i'm assuming GT100 means 100 octane correct? why not go for alcohol injection, a proper setup can bump 93 octane up to 104-108 for cheap
mtb_dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2004, 04:03 PM   #16
Subahaulic
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 51163
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: northern virginia
Vehicle:
02-5 02WRXwgn &05FXT
sedona & cayenne red

Default

What happened to the topic? I just received my used Utec Ver. ? w/ switch, but mine has a cylindrical knob that doesn't appear to be compatible with the rectangular blank locations being suggested. Is this cylindrical switch typical/standard? Am I missing the Suby blank?
Subahaulic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2004, 05:44 PM   #17
kenchan
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 15106
Join Date: Feb 2002
Default

I think you may have gotten the older version. The latest
version has the launch control harness already attached....
does yours have that? If not, then its probably the old version.
kenchan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2004, 11:01 PM   #18
TurboXS (Pete)
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 16704
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sydney (Australia)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Subahaulic
What happened to the topic? I just received my used Utec Ver. ? w/ switch, but mine has a cylindrical knob that doesn't appear to be compatible with the rectangular blank locations being suggested. Is this cylindrical switch typical/standard? Am I missing the Suby blank?
There has never been a TurboXS Remote Switch made with a cylindrical knob. The only rotary switch is the one fitted on the UTEC itself.



regards
Pete
(TurboXS)
TurboXS (Pete) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2004, 03:04 PM   #19
Subahaulic
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 51163
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: northern virginia
Vehicle:
02-5 02WRXwgn &05FXT
sedona & cayenne red

Default

I dug around and found the little switch in the pkg--sorry
The anodized blue cylinder is on kind-of-a rubber Y-tube and has an electrical(?) pin- or air- hole in the other end--something to control boost?? Darn thing did not have any literature/manual w/ it.
Subahaulic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2004, 04:23 PM   #20
TurboXS (Pete)
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 16704
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Sydney (Australia)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Subahaulic
I dug around and found the little switch in the pkg--sorry
The anodized blue cylinder is on kind-of-a rubber Y-tube and has an electrical(?) pin- or air- hole in the other end--something to control boost?? Darn thing did not have any literature/manual w/ it.
That is the ABC.

Download the manual from theTurboxs Web Site as it has a picture of what you should get with a UTEC.

regards
Pete
(TurboXS)
TurboXS (Pete) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2004, 05:47 PM   #21
PaulRex
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 12454
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Vermont
Vehicle:
10 Toyota Taco
K8 SV650SF

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by mtb_dude
Nah, CAM2 GT100 is without lead and ironically only about twice the price of normal gas these days!

GT110 is the leaded variety.
The GT110 smells so good though I love it
PaulRex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2004, 06:21 PM   #22
Subahaulic
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 51163
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: northern virginia
Vehicle:
02-5 02WRXwgn &05FXT
sedona & cayenne red

Default

Thanks Pete--problem solved!
Subahaulic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2004, 11:11 AM   #23
02R6
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22157
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Westerville, OH
Vehicle:
'02 WRX '04 350Z
Cause We Are The Aquateen

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PaulRex
The GT110 smells so good though I love it
NuTec smells better.
02R6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2004, 05:52 PM   #24
kenchan
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 15106
Join Date: Feb 2002
Default

I was playing around with the remote switch yesterday and
compared my stg1 winter (open loop) map which i programmed
with the 'stock' map.

Me likes winter map much better.
My summer maps are even more agressive.

this is the very first time i was able to compare my map
vs. stock back to back. VERY BIG difference in spool up and
overall boost even on stg1.

Utec + remote = must have.
kenchan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Other Ideas on where to mount tweets. rxer311 Car Audio, Video & Security 7 09-04-2009 10:22 AM
Need ideas on how to mount my RB320 grill o2sys Interior & Exterior Modification 9 03-07-2008 03:32 PM
I need ideas on where to mount DVD player prelude/2.5rs Car Audio, Video & Security 6 01-25-2005 01:37 PM
EGT probe for each cylinder? it is worth it? if so any ideas on where to find guages? LargeOrangeFont Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 18 06-26-2003 05:08 PM
How to mount UTEC remote switch in swtich blank Rich10 Interior & Exterior Modification 3 01-01-2003 05:05 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.