Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday December 22, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Electrical & Lighting

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-30-2004, 12:22 AM   #1
GTR STI
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 45209
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Houston
Vehicle:
2004 STI
Black

Default Anyone moved battery to trunk?

I would like to relocate my battery to the trunk. Has anyone done this? I recently purchased a FMIC, and I would like to transfer some of the weight added to the front to the rear.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
GTR STI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2004, 12:54 AM   #2
v8killah
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 37270
Join Date: May 2003
Location: 561
Vehicle:
2004 STi
Ducati 996 955 s4r

Default

doing it this weekend (back seat acctually on the floor behind the passanger seat)if you need i could probably take pics step by step even tho i am not putting it in the trunk it self let meknow if that would be of any use to you
v8killah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2004, 01:05 AM   #3
GTR STI
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 45209
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Houston
Vehicle:
2004 STI
Black

Default

I was just wondering if anyone else has done it... and if they found a place to mount it in the trunk. I haven't stripped the trunk out yet, but am wondering if I can get rid of the IC water resovoir(don't really need it with the FMIC), and try and fit it there..... thanks for the help
GTR STI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2004, 02:21 PM   #4
v8killah
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 37270
Join Date: May 2003
Location: 561
Vehicle:
2004 STi
Ducati 996 955 s4r

Default

ok the IC resovoir is not as big as a battery but i got an OPTIMA yellow top and they made one that is like half the size of the regular one for imports and such you might sqeeze that one in there.
totaly off the subject how big a difference did the front mount make and how much more lag do you have now
v8killah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2004, 03:05 PM   #5
Uncle Scotty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16200
Join Date: Mar 2002
Vehicle:
OK Houston
we have an Uncle

Default

I put an Odyssey PC 680 under the passengers seat.
See: http://www.imagestation.com/album/?id=4289006473

Works great
Uncle Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2004, 03:14 PM   #6
GTR STI
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 45209
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Houston
Vehicle:
2004 STI
Black

Default

How much did that run you? Where did you get it?
Thanks
Chris
GTR STI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2004, 05:18 PM   #7
Uncle Scotty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16200
Join Date: Mar 2002
Vehicle:
OK Houston
we have an Uncle

Default

The battery was ~$100 and I bought it locally from a battery wholesaler...they are used in full dress Harley's...It's a motorcycle battery....no reserve capacity to speek of, and you can't leave ANYTHING electrical on with the engine off...I don't have an alarm, but I should think you would be able to use it for a night but not more...
I'm in florida, and it has only been to about 38-39F here and it had no problems, but it might if it got cold...I don't know.
Uncle Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2004, 09:31 PM   #8
GTR STI
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 45209
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Houston
Vehicle:
2004 STI
Black

Default

damn... I wouldn't want to run into problems down the line(I do like to use my stereo, and I have an amp powering the speakers in my car....
I am going to pull appart the trunk interior this weekend and see where I can mount the stock one. If I come up with any solutions I will be sure to post some pics.
Thanks againf for the help.
GTR STI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2004, 01:44 AM   #9
olappa
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 48126
Join Date: Nov 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
2004 STi
blue/gold

Default

Im about to install an Odyssey 925 in the rear in two (long) days. I think the 680 wont handle the New York cold, but Ill try to arrange a pathway for the wiring that will facilitate its use under the passenger seat come summer (inspired by UncleScotty).
olappa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-31-2004, 05:25 AM   #10
Uncle Scotty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16200
Join Date: Mar 2002
Vehicle:
OK Houston
we have an Uncle

Default

I did MUCHO research before I did what I did with the battery and I'm just lucky that I can get away with what and where I did an how I did what I did....I guess...
You can not mount a standard battery in the passenger compartement without a(outside) vented enclosure, and by the time you get to the trunk...still has to be enclosed and vented...all the weight savings are pretty much shot to hell...
The PC680 is just about the perfect battery for the application.
Uncle Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Moving battery to trunk, 2GA cable ok? damn_4eat Electrical & Lighting 1 05-04-2004 06:37 PM
Has anyone relocated battery to the trunk? tonytiger Normally Aspirated Powertrain 12 08-12-2002 06:49 PM
Battery to trunk electricpork Service & Maintenance 4 01-18-2002 03:12 AM
relocation of WRX Battery to trunk nhluhr Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 20 11-12-2001 11:34 AM
relocating battery to trunk blitzpb General Forum Archive 10 07-12-2000 12:13 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.