Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday September 1, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Electrical & Lighting

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-05-2004, 06:26 PM   #1
nhluhr
John Wayne Toilet Paper
Moderator
 
Member#: 7327
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2008 Mazdaspeed3
2006 Wrangler Sport

Question EDM heavy duty wiring harness problem

I just assembled a heavy duty wiring harness using (3) 40amp dual-87 relays, a couple 9005 connectors, and then the H1s for the lowbeams.

The problem I'm having is after i've turned on the headlights, and then try to turn them OFF or turn off the car, the hi-beams just come on.

This is the wiring diagram I used:



What is my problem?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.

Last edited by nhluhr; 07-09-2004 at 09:33 PM.
nhluhr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2004, 06:49 PM   #2
PARANOID56
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 22035
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego, CA
Vehicle:
2003 Brocoma DCab
71 FJ40, 13 DRZ400SM

Default

Dejavu
i say ditch the three realy system, as its not realy needed. just do a normal 2 realy system. one realy for the high beams, and one for the lowbeams. more then enough relay for the power being used.
Shane
PARANOID56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2004, 06:54 PM   #3
nhluhr
John Wayne Toilet Paper
Moderator
 
Member#: 7327
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2008 Mazdaspeed3
2006 Wrangler Sport

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PARANOID56
Dejavu
i say ditch the three realy system, as its not realy needed. just do a normal 2 realy system. one realy for the high beams, and one for the lowbeams. more then enough relay for the power being used.
Shane
how does that work? could you maybe sketch a diagram?
nhluhr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2004, 07:00 PM   #4
PARANOID56
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 22035
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego, CA
Vehicle:
2003 Brocoma DCab
71 FJ40, 13 DRZ400SM

Default

something like this
PARANOID56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2004, 07:08 PM   #5
nhluhr
John Wayne Toilet Paper
Moderator
 
Member#: 7327
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2008 Mazdaspeed3
2006 Wrangler Sport

Default

but i thought the impreza had switched grounds instead of switched + so that diagram won't quite work

I know daniel stern's site mentions the switched ground approach, but it doesn't really give much detail on it...
nhluhr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2004, 08:10 PM   #6
nhluhr
John Wayne Toilet Paper
Moderator
 
Member#: 7327
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2008 Mazdaspeed3
2006 Wrangler Sport

Default

so does this look correct then?



I'll go ahead and make this right now if it's right....

Last edited by nhluhr; 07-09-2004 at 09:33 PM.
nhluhr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2004, 08:26 PM   #7
PARANOID56
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 22035
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego, CA
Vehicle:
2003 Brocoma DCab
71 FJ40, 13 DRZ400SM

Default

well, i have a better pic, but my server is down, can you host a pic for me?
Shane
PARANOID56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2004, 09:07 PM   #8
Zola
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16876
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: St Paul, MN
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
WR Blue

Default

Hmmm...and I was just at Radio Shack tonight shopping for parts for a relay setup. I was also going to do the three relay setup because I wanted to retain proper functionality--working flash-to-pass and lows turn off when highs come on.

Joel
Zola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2004, 09:51 PM   #9
PARANOID56
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 22035
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego, CA
Vehicle:
2003 Brocoma DCab
71 FJ40, 13 DRZ400SM

Default

on my system, i can still do all that, i just converted it to a normal dual relay system.
SHane
PARANOID56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2004, 10:03 PM   #10
PARANOID56
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 22035
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego, CA
Vehicle:
2003 Brocoma DCab
71 FJ40, 13 DRZ400SM

Default

here you go,
PARANOID56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2004, 10:20 PM   #11
nhluhr
John Wayne Toilet Paper
Moderator
 
Member#: 7327
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2008 Mazdaspeed3
2006 Wrangler Sport

Default

so that works? Only using one of the 9007 connectors like that? is that how you've done it?

I'd really prefer to use only one connector, because my driver-side connector is melted on the edge from a long time ago when I was a dumbass and I put in some of those gay blue bulbs... basically, it makes a very intermittent connection...

I've rebuilt the harness now but i would just need to splice in one more wire in to have it like yours - i actually haven't wired in the driver side connector, yet...

Last edited by nhluhr; 02-05-2004 at 10:32 PM.
nhluhr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2004, 10:57 PM   #12
PARANOID56
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 22035
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego, CA
Vehicle:
2003 Brocoma DCab
71 FJ40, 13 DRZ400SM

Default

this is how i have mine set up, and it works great, i have over a volt increas at the headlights now. you only need to use one conector, since they are both doing the dame thing.
Shane
PARANOID56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2004, 11:52 PM   #13
nhluhr
John Wayne Toilet Paper
Moderator
 
Member#: 7327
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2008 Mazdaspeed3
2006 Wrangler Sport

Default

ok thanks a lot for the help!!

and also thanks a lot to Daniel Stern with whom i've exchanged several emails tonight!

nhluhr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2004, 12:11 AM   #14
Zola
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16876
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: St Paul, MN
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
WR Blue

Default

Would you mind sharing the reasons why the three relay setup doesn't work (if known)? Was your HID kit the issue? Mine are and will remain halogen, so would the three relay setup work? As I understand it, the only difference between the method in your original post and what Shane posted is the fact that the two relay setup gives constant power to the headlights. I assume the safety concern is pretty minor.

If two relay constant power is not a big issue and the three relay doesn't work, then I guess I know what I'll be doing.

Joel
Zola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2004, 12:35 AM   #15
PARANOID56
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 22035
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego, CA
Vehicle:
2003 Brocoma DCab
71 FJ40, 13 DRZ400SM

Default

well the way i set it up, is like most american cars OEM head light set up. of corse they dont use the realys that close to the headlights. I have run this set up in my truck for over 5 years, and in my scooby for a year. its safe
Shane
PARANOID56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2004, 01:07 AM   #16
nhluhr
John Wayne Toilet Paper
Moderator
 
Member#: 7327
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2008 Mazdaspeed3
2006 Wrangler Sport

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Zola Rex
Would you mind sharing the reasons why the three relay setup doesn't work (if known)? Was your HID kit the issue?

Joel
I am 100% positive that the HID kit wasn't the problem because I put the stock H1 bulbs in place to test it out... still the same problem...

Anyway, avatarr and I did some discussion on it and we think maybe the polarity of the 86/85 coil circuit may have something to do with it. could be the current was flowing the wrong way through the relay coil thus triggering the 30-87 circuit at odd times. no idea, really.
nhluhr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2004, 07:29 AM   #17
Mulder
Trust no one
Moderator
 
Member#: 11170
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
02 WRX
15 WRX/05 GTO

Default

Relay coils are not polarized. Some relays do have internal diodes across the coil to prevent voltage spikes when the coil is energized/de-energized, but the automotive relays generally don't have them. If there was a diode and you connected the voltage the wrong way you'd know it- the relay wouldn't work and it would appear shorted.
Have you pulled the main DRL module?
Mulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2004, 07:54 AM   #18
nhluhr
John Wayne Toilet Paper
Moderator
 
Member#: 7327
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2008 Mazdaspeed3
2006 Wrangler Sport

Default

yeah the main DRL module under the dash AND the fat resistor pack under the hood are both non-existant in my car.

I re-wired the harness in the fashion that PARANOID56 posted above, as per recommendation from Daniel Stern and it works flawlessly.

So this is the simplest, most surefire way to wire up an H/D harness:


Last edited by nhluhr; 07-09-2004 at 08:53 PM.
nhluhr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2004, 08:48 AM   #19
Mulder
Trust no one
Moderator
 
Member#: 11170
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
02 WRX
15 WRX/05 GTO

Default

So what you did with that circuit is to flip the headlights from a switched ground system to switched power, using the switched grounds for relay control. The first circuit, while unnecessarily complicated with the three relays, should have worked, but there was probably voltage backfeeding from other components in the headlight wiring that aren't accounted for in the diagram (i.e. the fog light system). Have you done the fog light mod or is that wiring stock?
Mulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2004, 02:32 PM   #20
nhluhr
John Wayne Toilet Paper
Moderator
 
Member#: 7327
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2008 Mazdaspeed3
2006 Wrangler Sport

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Mulder
So what you did with that circuit is to flip the headlights from a switched ground system to switched power, using the switched grounds for relay control. The first circuit, while unnecessarily complicated with the three relays, should have worked, but there was probably voltage backfeeding from other components in the headlight wiring that aren't accounted for in the diagram (i.e. the fog light system). Have you done the fog light mod or is that wiring stock?

Yes i have done the "foglight mod" if you mean re-wiring them so they can be on anytime.... but then i changed that later so that the fog switch controls the driving lamps and they only come on with the highbeams... so... there's some weirdness external to that circuit, apparently.
nhluhr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2004, 02:39 PM   #21
nhluhr
John Wayne Toilet Paper
Moderator
 
Member#: 7327
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2008 Mazdaspeed3
2006 Wrangler Sport

Default

one more question - if I want to have my lowbeams always on, even with hibeams, will this diode crossover thing work?


Last edited by nhluhr; 07-09-2004 at 08:53 PM.
nhluhr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2004, 03:05 PM   #22
avatarr
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 14010
Join Date: Jan 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Trogdor's 3rd birthday tribute
Vehicle:
'04 APS-ified STi
TopSpeed Tuned - Black

Default

yes, that should work. make sure, however, that the diode is rated for the calculated current.

-Jason
avatarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2004, 05:22 AM   #23
Genner
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 18372
Join Date: May 2002
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
White

Default

what that diagram with the diode,

I have the edm sti's is it safe to run both left and right headlights with low beams and high beam on at the same time from one single headlight harness?
Will that draw too much current from just one harness?
Genner is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS SoCal: Subydude EDM/JDM Headlight Wiring Harness Lazyxturb0 Exterior/Styling 25 04-20-2007 11:13 PM
Subydude EDM/JDM Headlight Wiring Harness *NEW* Lazyxturb0 SCIC Private Classifieds 23 04-20-2007 11:12 PM
WTB: stock driver-side bugeye headlight; EDM STi projector wiring harness ButtDyno Private 'Wanted' Classifieds 3 03-23-2005 01:07 PM
What do you think of this heavy duty headlight harness? garface Interior & Exterior Modification 0 10-14-2001 03:27 PM
Rex wiring harness problems! ObiWanJak Car Audio, Video & Security 3 10-09-2001 08:12 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.