Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday July 9, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Electrical & Lighting

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-09-2004, 09:41 PM   #1
SubieStyle
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 48936
Join Date: Nov 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Yucaipa, CA.
Vehicle:
I Do Installs On The
Side;) PM me for details!

Question Best source to power gauges from

I want to put three guages in my 04 WRX, I will be using a dash pod.I will be installing Autometer; manual boost gauge, electric oil temp gauge, & EGT gauge. What is the best source to power these gauges with? I was thinking of using the wires left from the clock to power them (after I remove it). Will these wires give a sufficient source of power for three gauges?(both for power & lighting). If I use these does anyone recomend running a relays for the power & lighting? I want to make sure they are as bright as possible, & and work correctly! Any help & input word be great. Thanks in advance.
P.S. I searched and found a few ways to do this, but I wanted to know which works the best.

Will.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
SubieStyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2004, 11:17 PM   #2
brunetmj
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 8023
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Way-upstate , NY
Vehicle:
2004 2.5 RS

Default

I generally just use the clock wire for power. I run three different things off the clock wire (2 gauges and a radar detector) without problems. Gauges to not really require much power. The head unit acc. power wire (red) could also be used in addition to the hazard switch if you want to split up the load.
brunetmj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2004, 11:44 PM   #3
SubieStyle
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 48936
Join Date: Nov 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Yucaipa, CA.
Vehicle:
I Do Installs On The
Side;) PM me for details!

Default

Okay cool, thanks for you input "brunetmj". I aslo have a radar detector I would like to hook up direct too, I just want to wait until the gauges are in so i'll no where it'll end up (but thats a whole other story). So will the power for "illumination" also have enough juice to make the gauges as bright as they can be?
SubieStyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2004, 10:46 AM   #4
mbiker97
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 7922
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Tucson
Vehicle:
04 CTS-V b/b/b
99 GMC Highrider

Default

I also used the clock since all the needed wires are there. You won't have a problem getting enough power from those wires.
mbiker97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2004, 12:27 PM   #5
awdman
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 27962
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Indy/East side
Vehicle:
2003 WRX Sedan
Blue, with more dings!

Default Same setup except...

I have oil pressure. I used the clock for switched power and the extra wires off the radio for illumination/ground. I had to remove the factory Boost gauge so I was already working in that area though. Plenty bright, and works with the dimmer...
awdman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2004, 01:58 PM   #6
Uncle Scotty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16200
Join Date: Mar 2002
Vehicle:
OK Houston
we have an Uncle

Default

The spare plug on the radio harness is your best source of 'dimming' power for the lights on the gauges.
The plug for the mirror/compas is great for the radar detector 'cuz it is swithched and fused already, and it you don't have the mirror/compass it is unused......and the best theing about both of these is that you don't have to cut anything...just get some spade connectors from radiosuck and plug 'em in.
Uncle Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2004, 03:01 PM   #7
SubieStyle
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 48936
Join Date: Nov 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Yucaipa, CA.
Vehicle:
I Do Installs On The
Side;) PM me for details!

Default

So there is an unused plug behind the radio? Do I have to remove the radio to get to it, or can I do it w/o having to remove it? Thanks every one for you input.

Will.
SubieStyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2004, 03:08 PM   #8
Uncle Scotty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16200
Join Date: Mar 2002
Vehicle:
OK Houston
we have an Uncle

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SubieStyle
So there is an unused plug behind the radio? Do I have to remove the radio to get to it, or can I do it w/o having to remove it? Thanks every one for you input.

Will.
Sorry, but the radio has to come out to get at it. It is a PITA, but if you are smart and make a nice harness and put it where it is easy to get at for future use(like I did)....it is a job done once.

I can not understand why people make such an issue of where to get power from on this car...it is SO SIMPLE to do right and you DON"T have to cut/splice or vampire anything if you take a little time and use what god(and Subaru) gave you and do it right.
This car, other than the switched grounds, is a piece of cake to wire stuff into. The relay pannel has all sorts of possibilities, and the unused plugs are there for the plucking....
Uncle Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2004, 03:40 PM   #9
SubieStyle
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 48936
Join Date: Nov 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Yucaipa, CA.
Vehicle:
I Do Installs On The
Side;) PM me for details!

Default

Okay cool, thanks for you help!

Will.
SubieStyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best way to ship wheels from the US to Canada!?!?! kyotoegg Canada Region Forum 18 04-25-2007 06:41 PM
Best Way to Xfer Audio from PC to Mac? scoobydrew06 Off-Topic 9 03-04-2007 07:21 PM
Best way to return oil from turbo to block? BrysImpreza Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain 8 12-02-2004 01:40 AM
Best Amp to power single w6v2? dman918 Car Audio, Video & Security 26 09-24-2004 08:27 AM
Oem Rotors-Pads etc. for daily driver. whats the best source to buy ? ptsmalls Brakes, Steering & Suspension 1 08-23-2004 11:51 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.