Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday August 29, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Miscellaneous > Off-Topic

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-09-2004, 12:21 PM   #1
live311
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 10801
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Middletown, CT
Vehicle:
2008 Outback

Question Computer Help: Video card not getting enough power

While surfing the web in IE I get a warning saying that my video card is not getting enough power, so it's been de-tuned to allow it to run properly. I'll check the video setup myself after getting the error and everything seems to be fine. Then I'll get it a couple more times and the computer will re-boot.

Here's my system:

Abit IS7 mobo
Intel P4 2.6C
1 GB Corsair TwinX PC3200
Gainward Geforce FX5900 128MB
Seagate 120GB SATA HD
Maxtor 13GB ATA HD
Sony CDRW/DVD-ROM combo drive
floppy drive
420W Raidmax PS
3 case fans (1 with LEDs)
Windows XP Home

There's no way the wattage is too low for this system, unless the power supply is a piece of crap (it came with the case). I've got the video card plugged into its own molex connector, so it's not daisy-chained with anything else. So what the hell is the problem? It's really starting to piss me off
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
live311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2004, 12:43 PM   #2
Kaiser
Ansel Adams of the Cornfield
 
Member#: 7170
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Vehicle:
Aut Kaiser,
aut nullus.

Default

Did you plug the power cable from the video card directly into one coming from your power supply? The 40 watt the AGP slot provides isn't enough for the the 5900's, which is why they come with their own power cable.

EDIT: ok, so I read your post more carefully but still, make sure it's connected securely. That's the only thing it could be, or test the power cable you're using is actually getting power from the supply.
Kaiser is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2004, 12:44 PM   #3
Kaiser
Ansel Adams of the Cornfield
 
Member#: 7170
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Vehicle:
Aut Kaiser,
aut nullus.

Default

Look at the top right part of the card. See the power cable?

Kaiser is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2004, 12:58 PM   #4
Star*Child
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 5659
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: 127.0.0.1
Default

There's two types of voltages for AGP slots. 1.5v and 3.3v Are you MoBo and vid card compatible with each other?
Star*Child is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2004, 01:03 PM   #5
Turbosnow
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 9029
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Syracuse, NY
Vehicle:
'02 WRX, 84 VW Conv
Silver

Default

Check the solder joints on the power connector on the card, if you have a test light for your car check the power at the connector as well.
Turbosnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2004, 02:28 PM   #6
live311
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 10801
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Middletown, CT
Vehicle:
2008 Outback

Default

Yes, I do have it plugged in at the molex connector. I've had it plugged in at a couple different connectors. I do have to use a splitter simply because I need it to reach, but I have nothing plugged into the other end of the splitter. I'll try unplugging the case fans tonight and see if the problem persists. If not, it's obviously the PS. I'm pretty sure that's it. Otherwise I think I'll have to RMA the card
live311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2004, 02:34 PM   #7
Turbosnow
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 9029
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Syracuse, NY
Vehicle:
'02 WRX, 84 VW Conv
Silver

Default

I doubt it;s the ps unless it's voltage regulation is really crappy, it could easily be a bad solder joint on the card at the power connector.
Turbosnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2004, 02:37 PM   #8
DISCOPOPE
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 43339
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: mpls, mn
Vehicle:
2oo4 STi
URgt35r w/t3hM3finj3cki0n

Default

check voltage, not wattage.
DISCOPOPE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2004, 03:35 PM   #9
live311
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 10801
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Middletown, CT
Vehicle:
2008 Outback

Default

The AGP voltage is maxed out at 1.65V in the BIOS. Someone on another message board recommended I increase it from the 1.55V it was set at to see if it would solve the problem. It didn't. Would decreasing the voltage to 1.5V help?
live311 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2004, 03:46 PM   #10
Star*Child
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 5659
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: 127.0.0.1
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by live311
The AGP voltage is maxed out at 1.65V in the BIOS. Someone on another message board recommended I increase it from the 1.55V it was set at to see if it would solve the problem. It didn't. Would decreasing the voltage to 1.5V help?

that may be the problem? I'm not an expert on this, but my new mobo (soyo plat drag 2) only supports the 3.3v cards. Maybe the issues it that you AGP port isn't supplying enough voltage to your card?

I'm using a 9800xt at home and the AGP slot has a little light in case the card you try and plug an older 1.5v card into the slot.

Check your vid card documentation and see what it is and check your mobo documentation to see what you can support.
Star*Child is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2004, 04:04 PM   #11
J!M
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 31595
Join Date: Jan 2003
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Cary, NC
Vehicle:
04 STi
Silver

Default

Just knowing that you have a 420W power supply isn't enough. Somewhere in the specs for the power supply it should split up how much power can be maxed on each of the voltage lines.

It's possible that your power supply can't handle the power demands for the voltage rating the video card is on. Check out the ratings for the +3.3 +5 and +12 on your power supply, and make sure you're not going over those limits with all of your devices.
J!M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2004, 04:15 PM   #12
m750
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 2278
Join Date: Sep 2000
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Pepperell MA
Vehicle:
8Sti | 07 allez
White | Comp

Default

just because the ps says it's rated for 420, doesn't mean it actually puts that out. It could be the mazda of power supplys. If one of your friend has a qualiy / name brand one, I'd try that.
AO
m750 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2004, 02:51 PM   #13
dicksosa
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 13742
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Los Angeles -- was Santa Cruz
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
WR Blue

Default

The RaidMax PS are OK.. they are really not all that great. What J!M and m750 say basically applies.

Try Antec, Enermax, Thermaltake, Zalman -- those are some good Power Supplies. And probably nothing less than the 420 you had before..
For the rest of the components in your system try the Antec TrueBlue 480. -- As the rest of your stuff is pretty good quality why not have the PS be too.

Just a note ALL these power supplies are not cheap ($80-110). But it's one area that you really shouldn't skimp out on. Also having a better PS can actually allow you to overclock your computer a bit more.. usually.
dicksosa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stance Gr+ Pro coilovers, not getting enough rear camber with camber plates caffeinefr3e Brakes, Steering & Suspension 24 03-06-2009 07:43 PM
Computer Gurus: Video Card Help ricified Off-Topic 5 06-03-2006 08:58 AM
Not getting enough sex from my GF....HELP. wrxman555 Off-Topic 180 01-05-2005 02:45 AM
My uncle fell through some ice today, drunk and not getting enough sex on his date. Protege Menace Off-Topic 4 12-25-2004 01:17 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.