Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday April 21, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Electrical & Lighting

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-13-2004, 01:26 PM   #1
1DOWNCLOWN
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 50287
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Franklin IN
Vehicle:
02 WRX
silver

Default 02 Sensor Help Please!!

I installed a A/F guage today and i had to add a little wire to the 02sensor.. my question is... will it effect anything if i used a piece of wire that is about 2 inchs long and thincker then the factory wire.. its a small add on but i need to know if that wire will be ok or do i need to change it to a factory size wire... thanks
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
1DOWNCLOWN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2004, 01:47 PM   #2
pistoffjstr
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 29283
Join Date: Nov 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Bangor PA
Vehicle:
2003 Subaru Forester
Red

Default

did the same thing with mine you should be fine
pistoffjstr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2004, 01:53 PM   #3
1DOWNCLOWN
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 50287
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Franklin IN
Vehicle:
02 WRX
silver

Default

its about 2 times the size of the factory wire.. are you sure it will be ok.... thanks for the info
1DOWNCLOWN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2004, 02:37 PM   #4
1DOWNCLOWN
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 50287
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Franklin IN
Vehicle:
02 WRX
silver

Default

anyone else????? please
1DOWNCLOWN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2004, 02:48 PM   #5
ATX25RS
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 4597
Join Date: Mar 2001
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Laredo, Texas
Vehicle:
2011 Mitsu Outlander
Sport (Ex-Suby owner X3)

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by pistoffjstr
did the same thing with mine you should be fine
same here
...wait you ran a wire straight to the 02 sensor? why didnt you run it to the ECU?
ATX25RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2004, 02:55 PM   #6
1DOWNCLOWN
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 50287
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Franklin IN
Vehicle:
02 WRX
silver

Default

Its to the wire that conects to the ECU.. just outside of the ECU.. i just want to make sure that i wont have any problems do to the larger wire i had to splice in the wiring...
1DOWNCLOWN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2004, 02:57 PM   #7
1DOWNCLOWN
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 50287
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Franklin IN
Vehicle:
02 WRX
silver

Default

i didnt think you are suppose to hook anything to your ECU so i used the wire comming out of the ECU to the O2sensor.. was that wrong??? and picture this -------=====------ that is what i meen by adding in a larger wire, will that cause some type of problem????? like resistance problems or something
1DOWNCLOWN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2004, 05:41 PM   #8
Uncle Scotty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16200
Join Date: Mar 2002
Vehicle:
OK Houston
we have an Uncle

Default

Your AF gauge is useless unles you installed a wideband o2 sensor to connect it to.
Uncle Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2004, 04:55 PM   #9
EvasionOfTruth
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 13282
Join Date: Dec 2001
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Richmond, VA
Vehicle:
2007 FXT
WRB SPB Edition

Default

You should be fine, I've seen much much worse and everything worked ok. As long as everything has a solid connection and doesn't fall out and short you won't have any issues.

Buster
http://subaru.awdcars.com
EvasionOfTruth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
crank/cam sensor HELP PLEASE 199subaru Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 7 09-15-2008 04:59 AM
EA82T code 11 crank angle sensor help please!!! iluvdrt Pre-2002 Factory Turbo Powertrain 4 11-02-2005 05:25 PM
02 sensor help please JikJak Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 4 07-23-2004 05:53 PM
02 sensor help please JikJak Vancouver Impreza Club Forum -- VIC 5 04-17-2004 06:26 PM
02 sensor question please help ac_gohan Normally Aspirated Powertrain 1 02-04-2001 08:59 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:07 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.