Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday July 31, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-14-2004, 11:58 PM   #1
smacksube
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 4067
Join Date: Feb 2001
Vehicle:
01 2.5 rs
silver

Default tec-3, anyone running it?

i need to get another tec style ecu, with it's own coil packs, so i was looking at the tec-3. it says something about autocalibrated baseline maps to get the car initially running. is it really that easy? any info would be great, for some reason i can't find writeups or reviews on the tec-3. thanks
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
smacksube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2004, 09:04 PM   #2
Boxologist
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 21118
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: LI, NY
Default

pretty rare still. iirc, rs22b has one and Nino from Nino's autoaccessories sold me his(in car at the end of the summer).
Boxologist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2004, 01:47 PM   #3
jdk
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 26114
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Reno
Vehicle:
06 rs

Default

Did you have a tec2? If so use a calibration file as a reference(mainly for advance and basic fuel enrichments) then let the wizard pick your UAP(TOG) by giving the wizard calibrater the appropriate info. Then double check the style of map sensor you have (new/old) by going into advanced settings and looking at the real time kpa reading. My sensor was about 5 kpa lower then my tec2 was. Should be good to fire up and auto tune the VE table. (this is what I did anyway) I also always have a timing light to double check its referenced off the correct trigger wheel tooth...Hope this helps
jdk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2004, 08:14 PM   #4
batmanalan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 37583
Join Date: May 2003
Location: bloomfield, MI
Default

haha i like the title,"tec-3, anyone running it?"

samuel L jackson voice- "english, do you speak it?"
batmanalan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2004, 11:15 PM   #5
Jaxx
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 177
Join Date: Aug 1999
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Boise,Idaho,USA
Vehicle:
The 93 Imp W/EJ20K
flat black

Default

i am running a tec 2 on a motor identical to what you are installing ..

only issue is that the tec 2 won't control the subaru idle air control motor.. which is an issue when you live in a climate where there is radical tempature changes -15 to +115

although the tec 3 might
Jaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2004, 01:45 AM   #6
luvmyrs
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1048
Join Date: Mar 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: the barnyard
Vehicle:
2000 Nothing, thanks
to POS thieves.

Default

Yes the tec 3 controls the IAC motor. I Have TEC2, and as Jaxx said the IAC control would be a good thing. I currently have the stock ECU running the Idle and it seems to be doing pretty well.
luvmyrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2004, 12:15 PM   #7
Jaxx
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 177
Join Date: Aug 1999
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Boise,Idaho,USA
Vehicle:
The 93 Imp W/EJ20K
flat black

Default

i have considered buying a tec IAC and plumbing it in ..ugh ...
Jaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2004, 07:08 PM   #8
luvmyrs
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1048
Join Date: Mar 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: the barnyard
Vehicle:
2000 Nothing, thanks
to POS thieves.

Default

cuase if you do that, your gonna have to change everything else.
luvmyrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2004, 05:42 AM   #9
ChAi
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1277
Join Date: Apr 2000
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: issaquah, WA
Vehicle:
1999 Minnam Stage 2
Cobb Stage3 engine, TEC3

Default

what MAP are you useing?
ChAi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2004, 03:56 PM   #10
Jaxx
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 177
Join Date: Aug 1999
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Boise,Idaho,USA
Vehicle:
The 93 Imp W/EJ20K
flat black

Default

jared's map .. i couldn't find anything close so it is 100 tuned by me..

Quote:
cuase if you do that, your gonna have to change everything else.
mmm no .. the ej20G has the devorced IAC (w/ a one way valve) its not in the throttle body. so i could simply connect it down stream of the throttel plate and and give it its own air filter.. proublem is finding the correct one..
Jaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2004, 08:12 PM   #11
smacksube
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 4067
Join Date: Feb 2001
Vehicle:
01 2.5 rs
silver

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by batmanalan
haha i like the title,"tec-3, anyone running it?"

samuel L jackson voice- "english, do you speak it?"
sorry it wasn't coherent enough for you? everyone else understood what i was asking? dumbass....


anyhow...thanks everyone for responding. I wasn't planning on running this with the ej20g, but with my ej25. I still have most of the sensors from my tec-ii, so i can use those for the tec-3. But my main question/problem is...do the ends justify the means? lol

is the $1900-2200 i'll be spending make it THAT much better than a tec-ii. I'm looking at getting another tec-ii unit for 950 including plug wires and sensors. f
smacksube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2004, 11:08 AM   #12
Jaxx
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 177
Join Date: Aug 1999
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Boise,Idaho,USA
Vehicle:
The 93 Imp W/EJ20K
flat black

Default

is short words

is the tec 3 a $1000 better than a tec 2

yes

espically with wintec 3.1
Jaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2004, 12:23 PM   #13
bullseye17
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 16661
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Buffalo
Vehicle:
1997 Outback
Green

Default

Ron at axis power just built a car with one...
bullseye17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2004, 08:20 PM   #14
smacksube
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 4067
Join Date: Feb 2001
Vehicle:
01 2.5 rs
silver

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Jaxx
is short words

is the tec 3 a $1000 better than a tec 2

yes

espically with wintec 3.1
ahh,don't be sad....lol..thinking more and more about it and looking at all the wintec 3.1 differences it looks like it's way more than $1000 better when you consider all the options. extra GPO's, reliability, and tuning.
smacksube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2004, 08:35 PM   #15
Jaxx
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 177
Join Date: Aug 1999
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Boise,Idaho,USA
Vehicle:
The 93 Imp W/EJ20K
flat black

Default

im sad as some one sold a tec 3 kit on nasioc for the same price i paid for my tec 2 kit
Jaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2004, 08:49 PM   #16
smacksube
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 4067
Join Date: Feb 2001
Vehicle:
01 2.5 rs
silver

Default

ah damn....was it the full kit or just the tec-3 ecm. There all over ebay for 1500, but that doesn't include sensors, power harness, wiring harness, plug wires or the DFU. So by the time you add all that together it comes out to around the 2300 it retails for.
smacksube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2004, 10:22 PM   #17
Jaxx
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 177
Join Date: Aug 1999
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Boise,Idaho,USA
Vehicle:
The 93 Imp W/EJ20K
flat black

Default

was 1000 for the kit
Jaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2004, 09:31 AM   #18
latinskllz
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3461
Join Date: Jan 2001
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: orlando, fl, USA
Vehicle:
1998 BMW M3 Coupe
Estoril Bleau

Default

Eric, I have an Idea, call me at the number I PM you with!

It's to your advantage.
latinskllz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2004, 06:08 AM   #19
skywalker
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1990
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: San Diego, CA
Default

My question is why are you running a Tec in the first place? Do you have major modifications to the RS? As there are solutions coming out soon for the RS, that will take care of all these issues everyone is having.

Though if you know it well, and are planning major modifications it might be worth keeping.

Cheers,
Bill Knose
I-Speed USA
skywalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2004, 11:30 AM   #20
Section 8
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 821
Join Date: Jan 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: "Like a hyena you are..."
Default

Mine is closet mounted right now. I posted a while back to see if anyone was running it full stand alone. I am trying to decide weather or not to do it all at once, or leave the stock ECU in there for a while for ease of things (instead of having to "tune" EVERYTHING right off the bat).

cheeRS,

Greg
Section 8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2004, 11:18 AM   #21
Z1 Performance
Former Vendor
 
Member#: 9327
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Z1Auto.com
Default

The III is light years ahead of the II in every possible regard, and still our personal favorites in terms of bang for the buck and ease of use.
Z1 Performance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2004, 01:22 PM   #22
luvmyrs
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1048
Join Date: Mar 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: the barnyard
Vehicle:
2000 Nothing, thanks
to POS thieves.

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Z1 Performance
The III is light years ahead of the II in every possible regard, and still our personal favorites in terms of bang for the buck and ease of use.
I agree with Adam on this one. Ive seen RS22B's tec3 and the features are great. ALOT more on-fly features. and the 16x16 maps are great. Not to mention the ability to do individual cylinder fuel trims. drooooool...
luvmyrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Forza 3, anyone "beaten" it yet? bulgarianfreak55 Off-Topic 1 12-28-2009 03:25 PM
B&M Trick Shift transmission fluid...anyone running it? kaisersouse Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 3 07-29-2005 08:59 AM
42 offset 17x7 rims. Anyone running it? Have any issues? SinhCredible Tire & Wheel 5 04-03-2004 11:05 PM
anyone running a tec? subiekid Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain 6 10-18-2003 10:23 PM
Has anyone heard to much about the TEC 3? E'scubi Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 1 05-16-2001 10:24 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.