Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday September 23, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-23-2004, 06:57 PM   #1
04rex
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 38116
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: TaCoMa
Vehicle:
2004 RIP 04MoNsTa
12.79@104

Default unichip

currently have a stg 2 vishnu setup, but the unichip was originaly flashed for a VF22, and now i have a VF34, and vishnu does not have the software anymore to reprogram. Does it really make that much of a diff. changing from a 22 to a 34. and if it does anyone know who can help me reprogram this thing.

don't know if this matters it's the unichip with the EMI..

thanx 04rex
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
04rex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2004, 03:20 AM   #2
skywalker
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1990
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: San Diego, CA
Default

The difference between a VF22 and VF34 are signifigant. The VF22 boost comes on much later than the VF34. Therefore the timing that has been setup for the 22 is probably to high for the VF34 when it spools and will not be good for the engine. Then at higher RPM's the timing will be too low as it was compensating for the VF22's power up up top.

Right now I think Turbo XS might still reflash the unichip, to bad we don't or we could help out. We only do EcuTeK at this point.

Cheers,
Bill Knose
Tuner I-Speed USA
skywalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2004, 04:10 PM   #3
04rex
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 38116
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: TaCoMa
Vehicle:
2004 RIP 04MoNsTa
12.79@104

Cool

thanks skywalker, but i think if you didn't get your unichip from turboxs they will not reprogram, i got mine from vishnu and they currently don't have the software to reprogram and i think they don't intend to deal with it anymore. Any other shops that will reprogram.
04rex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2004, 04:53 PM   #4
Brewmaster
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16856
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Slow :)
Vehicle:
"I work until BEER
O clock" Stephen King

Default

There are very few unichip tuners left. I read a post a week or two ago about unichip. If you do a search for unichip, you should find the info you need

Jim
Brewmaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2004, 05:12 PM   #5
Subahaulic
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 51163
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: northern virginia
Vehicle:
02-5 02WRXwgn &05FXT
sedona & cayenne red

Default

Unfortunately, only isolated tuners retain the capability. I wonder lf Cobb Tuning could still tune a Unichip?
Subahaulic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2004, 05:30 PM   #6
Trey
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 670
Join Date: Dec 1999
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Austin, the Republic of Texas
Default

Yes, we still have all of our Unichip tuning equipment. However, we don't and never did offer Unichip's pre-programmed to ship out to someone. Just the nature of the Unichip and how plug & play systems work we never felt comfortable with it.

If somehow the car were brought to us, we'd be happy to tune it on our dyno.

Otherwise, I have an extra tuning setup for the Unichip that I'll happily sell to skywalker (i-Speed) if they want it. haha...

Cheers,
Trey @ COBB Tuning
Trey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2004, 07:21 PM   #7
nmyeti
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 4980
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Albuquerque, NM USA
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by skywalker

Right now I think Turbo XS might still reflash the unichip, to bad we don't or we could help out. We only do EcuTeK at this point.

Cheers,
Bill Knose
Tuner I-Speed USA
Bill,
Our unichip tuning cable is busted. You wouldn't still have yours by any chance would you?

-Nathan
www.turboxs.com
nmyeti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2004, 07:22 PM   #8
nmyeti
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 4980
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Albuquerque, NM USA
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trey

Otherwise, I have an extra tuning setup for the Unichip that I'll happily sell to skywalker (i-Speed) if they want it. haha...

Cheers,
Trey @ COBB Tuning
Trey,
I should have read the rest of the thread...

I'll send you an email about this.

-Nathan
www.turboxs.com
nmyeti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2004, 07:32 PM   #9
MikeWRX-NJ
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 33410
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: wishing i was somewhere else
Vehicle:
08 wrx
dgm

Default

so Nathan does this mean if you get the new equipment you could reflash a vishnu stage 2 unichip to something like a turbo-xs stage 2 unichip?
MikeWRX-NJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2004, 08:37 PM   #10
nmyeti
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 4980
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Albuquerque, NM USA
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MikeWRX-NJ
so Nathan does this mean if you get the new equipment you could reflash a vishnu stage 2 unichip to something like a turbo-xs stage 2 unichip?
It is our policy not to re-flash the vishnu chips.

I don't need the software though, i might be able to send the extra software to Shiv and let him take care of his customers.

-Nathan
www.turboxs.com
nmyeti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2004, 09:05 PM   #11
Crawford/I-Speed
Vendor
 
Member#: 12347
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Oceanside, CA
Vehicle:
ECU ReProgramming
Dynapack AWD Dyno

Default

Trey,

Please do not encourage bill (skywalker). He has enough work and enough toys here already

Chris
I-Speed USA
cescamilla@i-speed.us
Crawford/I-Speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2004, 12:29 AM   #12
WRXVII
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 15854
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Upstate NY
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
VF34'd...

Default

Nathan, 497hp 441ft/lbs is simply amazing...
WRXVII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2004, 02:03 AM   #13
04rex
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 38116
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: TaCoMa
Vehicle:
2004 RIP 04MoNsTa
12.79@104

Cool

talked to vishnu today and they said,"quote". there is no real diff between the two maps. meaning VF34 vs. VF22, and should work just fine."end quote". But hay Nathan it wouldn't hurt none to send some of the software to vishnu to service some of the customers that still currently have the dastek unichip. small stuff like reprogramming a chip for a diff. turbo shouldn't lead me to dead end all the time.

Bill(i-speed) maybe you should take Trey(COBB) up on his offer and obtain this tuner, i know it has been an, increasing demand for unichip owners out there to upgrade thier current programs, and getting any type of tech support in Alaska is well you know...
04rex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2004, 03:45 AM   #14
skywalker
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1990
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: San Diego, CA
Default

I would like to go to Alaska, but I moved to California from Vermont for a reason. I hate the snow.

In any case, thank you Cobb for the offer, but at this time I believe we are going to hold off on relfashing the unichip. As I would prefer to hand tune such a device, as it basically reuires it for the car.

We prefer not to tune the Unichip, we have noticed in from past experience that stock ECU will adjust overtime to compensate for the tune on the Unichips. We would prefer to keep you happy and have you move up to a reliable, quality setup, such as the products that are being sold today.

If you have any more questions please ask.

Cheers,
Bill Knose
I-Speed USA
skywalker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2004, 08:47 PM   #15
JMP781
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 42488
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Summerville, South Carolina
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Blue

Default

Hey Nathan. If you get the unichip tuning cable does that mean TXS will be tuning the uni's again. Hope so, have one that i'm just itching to tune.

Justin
JMP781 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
does the vishnu unichip = turboxs unichip ants wrx Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 3 09-18-2002 10:05 AM
vishnu unichip vs. turbo xs unichip atomicapples Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 8 07-24-2002 09:31 PM
TurboXs Unichip harness without unichip? Ryan23 Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 1 07-07-2002 01:38 AM
my unichip doesnt say unichip WRxednEffect Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 6 02-05-2002 06:43 PM
Unichip from him or Unichip from them? metoo Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 20 07-15-2001 01:47 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.