Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday September 4, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo)

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-02-2004, 03:32 AM   #1
bwco
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 44137
Join Date: Sep 2003
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Vancouver, BC
Default @ Need a doctor here (pic inside)

I need some quick specialists' opinion here.

my question : Is my car safe ? Lean/Rich question

I have:

1)Zerosport exhaust manifold and up-pipe (lean side)

2)PWR top mount intercooler (don't know if it does anything to lean/rich ratio)

3) AEM CAI (lean)

4) Sard fuel regulator

5) Stock BOV (good stuff eh)

6) Samco intercooler hoses

7) JDM STi intake manifold ( same as stock except red)

Well, these are basically the things that I can think of that relate to lean/rich ratio.

Am I running extremely dangerous with the AEM CAI? How to correct this ? play with the sard fuel regulator?

I know I can simply remove the CAI. But just thought i can give it some hope for not removing it


here an old pic....

* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
bwco is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 03-02-2004, 03:35 AM   #2
Uncle Scotty
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 16200
Join Date: Mar 2002
Vehicle:
OK buy Nates beans
westcoastroasting.com

Default

Guessing your mixture is like gussing the Lotto numbers.....good luck.
The ONLY way to know is with a wideband O2 sensor.

Poke and hope 'aint gonna cut it...
Uncle Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2004, 03:35 AM   #3
totoherbs
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 7321
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: waltham, ma
Vehicle:
.... 122 IggPoints
Work... ahhh... so tired.

Default

The cold air wont make you lean as much as it will do funny things to the maf...

What gauges do you have? Why not get your self a reflash; like the cobb stage one?
totoherbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2004, 05:24 AM   #4
bwco
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 44137
Join Date: Sep 2003
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Vancouver, BC
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Uncle Scotty
Guessing your mixture is like gussing the Lotto numbers.....good luck.
The ONLY way to know is with a wideband O2 sensor.

Poke and hope 'aint gonna cut it...
Hi uncle, I know, but I am looking for some insights from people like you guys to tell me if i needa do something before I blow my engine.

So, wideband O2 sensor it is ! Thanks ! I'll search around for that.
bwco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2004, 05:25 AM   #5
bwco
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 44137
Join Date: Sep 2003
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Vancouver, BC
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by totoherbs
The cold air wont make you lean as much as it will do funny things to the maf...

What gauges do you have? Why not get your self a reflash; like the cobb stage one?
what gauages? I don't have A/F !!
I've got boost, volt, oil temp from OEM subaru.

SHould i get something else? please suggest

So, once I got a reflash, the ECU will take care of everything? and I don't have to guess everything in my head?


Thanks
bwco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2004, 05:42 AM   #6
totoherbs
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 7321
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: waltham, ma
Vehicle:
.... 122 IggPoints
Work... ahhh... so tired.

Default

No... a reflash will just open up some power.... im not sure what you mean by guess in you head.

Get rid of the vold and get an a/f....
totoherbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2004, 08:08 AM   #7
Vortechcoupe
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 33262
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Austin
Vehicle:
E36 M3
93 notch, X3

Default

a cheap autometer or other a/f gauge won't be worth it. You have to get a wideband for tuning/checking.

Justin C
Vortechcoupe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2004, 08:08 AM   #8
Bolster
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22290
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Vehicle:
2002 WRB WRX Wagon

Default

Chuch the AEM intake. You'll never get consistent airflow meter readings which makes it just about impossible to tune with. On a stock car (no mods except maybe just the CAI) you probably run rich enough for the leaning out not to be so dangerous. I've seen 2 cars that have been killed by this intake.
Bolster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2004, 08:34 AM   #9
2MANYCARS
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 24046
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Hong Kong & US
Vehicle:
2007 STi, EVO, M6
E55, ML63, & Old 02 WRX.

Default

Is your fuel pressure regulator adjustable? If so, pump up the fuel psi a bit if you don't have access to a wideband o2 sensor "stick". Good luck.
2MANYCARS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2004, 10:21 AM   #10
Blitz04
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 28099
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Annandale, VA
Vehicle:
05 CLK320
Black

Default

is sti intake manifold exactly same as wrx's?
Blitz04 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2004, 01:30 PM   #11
Happy_Days
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 35049
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Vancouver BC
Vehicle:
2011 Mercedes C63
OE Tune 538/500

Default

Everything seems fine IMHO except for the CAI. I would also recommend engine management like someone else did.
Happy_Days is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2004, 12:37 AM   #12
bwco
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 44137
Join Date: Sep 2003
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Vancouver, BC
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Happy_Days
Everything seems fine IMHO except for the CAI. I would also recommend engine management like someone else did.
Yup, thanks !

I'm waiting for a proper reflash distributor that knows their ***** here, otherwise, I won't trust anyone locally. U know, we're from the same place.

I'll definately throw the AEM out !

>> I have the sard fuel regulator, which is adjustable, it's running consistently at 43 psi all the time

>> I'll see where I can dig up a wide band O2 sensor tool

I'm not looking for more power, I"m looking for "save engine"

So, I will be safe boosting the car back to 1 bar after reinstalling the stock airbox? I'm running 0.6bar all year long. Sometimes 0.8bar.
bwco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2004, 12:38 AM   #13
bwco
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 44137
Join Date: Sep 2003
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Vancouver, BC
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Blitz04
is sti intake manifold exactly same as wrx's?
it's the same for 02-03 , except the red color ....
bwco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2004, 12:39 AM   #14
Uncle Scotty
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 16200
Join Date: Mar 2002
Vehicle:
OK buy Nates beans
westcoastroasting.com

Default

>> I have the sard fuel regulator, which is adjustable, it's running consistently at 43 psi all the time

You want fuel pressure to rise as boost pressure increases....the FPR is dangerous for you to use to keep pressure from rising as boost increases.

Please take some time to learn about your car before you blow it up.
Uncle Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2004, 02:55 AM   #15
bwco
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 44137
Join Date: Sep 2003
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Vancouver, BC
Default

sorry, gotta rephrase, whenever I pop open the hood, the fuel pressure indicator shows 43 psi all the time at idle, since the fuel pressure indicator was installed under the hood (by a local shop), so i said it's 43psi all the time, I've check and see if my FPR is a raising rate regulator or not. I hope it is !
bwco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2004, 03:07 AM   #16
Uncle Scotty
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 16200
Join Date: Mar 2002
Vehicle:
OK buy Nates beans
westcoastroasting.com

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bwco
sorry, gotta rephrase, whenever I pop open the hood, the fuel pressure indicator shows 43 psi all the time at idle, since the fuel pressure indicator was installed under the hood (by a local shop), so i said it's 43psi all the time, I've check and see if my FPR is a raising rate regulator or not. I hope it is !
Yeah...sorry if I sound like an ass....'cuz I am sometimes....

Anyway...this is one reason I personally think a fuel pressure gauge mounted where it can not be seen under boost is a waste.
Knowing idle FP is good, but knowing FP isn't dropping off under boost is much better.
Uncle Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2004, 08:35 AM   #17
2MANYCARS
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 24046
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Hong Kong & US
Vehicle:
2007 STi, EVO, M6
E55, ML63, & Old 02 WRX.

Default

Your fuel pressure under idle seems fine, just a note, under boost, depends on your mods, you should be in the 50+psi range. I got a fuel pressure gauge in the cabin, mine goes over 60psi, but then, I got more mods.
2MANYCARS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2004, 01:41 PM   #18
bwco
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 44137
Join Date: Sep 2003
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Vancouver, BC
Default

Thanks, so at least i know my engine won't lean out at idle !
bwco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2004, 11:36 AM   #19
shields102
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 9598
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: westland mi
Vehicle:
02 wrx
white

Default

You say you wat to "save engine". Its as easy as removeing the cai. You will spend more $$$ on having a tuner check the mix with a wideband then you spent on the aem.
shields102 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2004, 09:16 PM   #20
batmanalan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 37583
Join Date: May 2003
Location: bloomfield, MI
Default

wb o2
batmanalan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2015, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.