Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday September 23, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Subaru Conversions

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-13-2004, 04:02 PM   #1
gc8sti
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 52869
Join Date: Jan 2004
Default usdm ver 8 in gc8

does anyone know whether the crossmember will fit?
i am planning to get the usdm ver 8 engine tranny and spindles, brakes.... and convert it into the gc8
jsut wanna know what problems i should expect to run into
thanks
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
gc8sti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2004, 07:38 PM   #2
Jaxx
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 177
Join Date: Aug 1999
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Boise,Idaho,USA
Vehicle:
The 93 Imp W/EJ20K
flat black

Default

yes but you will have to shim the a arms

good luck on the throttle by wire.. let us know how it turns out
Jaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2004, 07:42 PM   #3
totoherbs
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 7321
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: waltham, ma
Vehicle:
.... 122 IggPoints
Work... ahhh... so tired.

Default

Woo good luck... I belive you will be the first. Most people are to worried about the inability to tune the new ecu and the very very high cost of picking everything up. The other swaps are jsut cheeper, easyer, and will make the same power.....

Did you get a tranny and motor from a crashed car?
totoherbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2004, 09:43 PM   #4
gc8sti
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 52869
Join Date: Jan 2004
Default

nothing that i needed was wrecked.
other than the body mechanical stuff are all fine....
i like the gc8 body more
so id rather buy the parts and put it into the gc8, and it will cost me less than buying a new sti.
gc8sti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2004, 10:02 PM   #5
totoherbs
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 7321
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: waltham, ma
Vehicle:
.... 122 IggPoints
Work... ahhh... so tired.

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gc8sti
nothing that i needed was wrecked.
other than the body mechanical stuff are all fine....
i like the gc8 body more
so id rather buy the parts and put it into the gc8, and it will cost me less than buying a new sti.
No... it wont. Not new... price the stuff.

5 to 7k for the bare long block
9k new 6 speed
1300 new ecu harness...

$17k + 13k for the rs.... hmmmm you still dont have a turbo, install time/money, injectors... at least $4k in other stuff like pipes, radiator, i/c.....
totoherbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2004, 10:08 PM   #6
gc8sti
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 52869
Join Date: Jan 2004
Default

turbo is included in engine already, and i can use the sotck sti injectors.

and cant i use the radiator from the gc8? or the gdb sti?
gc8sti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2004, 10:12 PM   #7
gc8sti
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 52869
Join Date: Jan 2004
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Jaxx
yes but you will have to shim the a arms

good luck on the throttle by wire.. let us know how it turns out
cant i just put the whole throttle system on the gc8
gc8sti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2004, 10:13 PM   #8
totoherbs
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 7321
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: waltham, ma
Vehicle:
.... 122 IggPoints
Work... ahhh... so tired.

Default

So you are getting the motor from a crashed car?
totoherbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2004, 10:16 PM   #9
totoherbs
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 7321
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: waltham, ma
Vehicle:
.... 122 IggPoints
Work... ahhh... so tired.

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gc8sti
cant i just put the whole throttle system on the gc8
No one has tried it... you have to rewire the whole car. Unchared wire spliceing territory.
totoherbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2004, 11:15 PM   #10
Soon2Bgreat
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2258
Join Date: Sep 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Irvington, New York, USA
Vehicle:
1999 gc8 ver7 6mt
GT35R 504.7whp;)

Default

Are you set on a usdm sti swap, jdm stuff may be easier and cheaper. But you would have a more unique setup of course if you went usdm. Yes it can be done if you have time/money. Good luck.
Soon2Bgreat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2004, 11:16 PM   #11
bebeGDB
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 52818
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: toronto
Vehicle:
2003 wrx
bule

Default

if i decide to do the swap, i think i will be using the harness from the sti too. but right now funds are a problem too. it is pretty expensive to buy all those parts.
bebeGDB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2004, 11:19 PM   #12
bebeGDB
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 52818
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: toronto
Vehicle:
2003 wrx
bule

Default

sorry, i am actually on my friends computer now, so i have a different login name
bebeGDB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2004, 11:24 PM   #13
totoherbs
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 7321
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: waltham, ma
Vehicle:
.... 122 IggPoints
Work... ahhh... so tired.

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by bebeGDB
if i decide to do the swap, i think i will be using the harness from the sti too. but right now funds are a problem too. it is pretty expensive to buy all those parts.
... if money is a problem or even a remote problem get this out of your head. Dont do this to your only car. And you know that you can put an ej257 STi short block on your wrx heads get a reflash and tune and come out with out a hole in you wallet?
Quote:
Originally posted by Soon2Bgreat
Are you set on a usdm sti swap, jdm stuff may be easier and cheaper. But you would have a more unique setup of course if you went usdm. Yes it can be done if you have time/money. Good luck.
No may about it. It will be cheep and many many times easyer. Hell a wrx swap with a ej257 sti block in place of the wrx ej205 block would be cheeper and easyer. But the jdm or wrx swap would be the best ways to go... then later if you must have more tq go with the ej257 short block on your wrx or jdm heads. The jdm STis have better heads then the usdm. But you might want the usdm cam as it has high lift which the 2.5 likes.
totoherbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2004, 05:22 AM   #14
PHATsuby
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 13617
Join Date: Dec 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: MN
Vehicle:
2001 Legacy GT back
to stock is a project too

Default

i think totoherbs has the prices a little high, but it will still be expensive.

4k for new tranny plus flywheel/clutch etc.(not full rear swap, keeping R160)

6k for STi longblock, all sensors injectors included. no turbo or IC.

ecu and wiring 2k


i think thats a little more accurate but if you are paying someone to do this swap you will def be up towards 17k when all is said and done.

i actually think someone may have done this already. im not positive if it was 2.5l, i know 2liter obviously has been done but i thought i remember seeing some pics of a car that did it.

ill check on that.

good luck if you decide to do it.

Ben
PHATsuby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2004, 12:29 PM   #15
totoherbs
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 7321
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: waltham, ma
Vehicle:
.... 122 IggPoints
Work... ahhh... so tired.

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PHATsuby
i think totoherbs has the prices a little high, but it will still be expensive.

4k for new tranny plus flywheel/clutch etc.(not full rear swap, keeping R160)

6k for STi longblock, all sensors injectors included. no turbo or IC.

ecu and wiring 2k


i think thats a little more accurate but if you are paying someone to do this swap you will def be up towards 17k when all is said and done.

i actually think someone may have done this already. im not positive if it was 2.5l, i know 2liter obviously has been done but i thought i remember seeing some pics of a car that did it.

ill check on that.

good luck if you decide to do it.

Ben

I dont know... I think my prices are right. A new 6 speed by itself with out any axles or hubs or anything to install is going to cost 4k. 2k more in the parts to install it... A brand new jdm sti block which is easyer to get then a usdm one right now is $9k... with out turbo, ic, harness, ecu.

There have been some RS heads with ej257 shorts(not cheep or easy), wrx heads and ecu with ej257 short block(cheep and easy), and jdm heads ecu ej257 block(easy compaired to an usdm sti swap but not cheep). Then there is the block, the ej22 block is still stronger, will rev like a 2.0 and wont be as likely to snap a tranny from massive tq.

But if you have the money go for it!
totoherbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2004, 03:03 AM   #16
mykrrrr
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 733
Join Date: Jan 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Squadra Delle Pecore Nere
Vehicle:
'13 Focus ST
'85 GTi rally/road race

OMGHi2U

Quote:
Originally posted by totoherbs
No one has tried it... you have to rewire the whole car. Unchared wire spliceing territory.
...to go where no one has gone before...

I know I wouldn't want to do this task.

Good luck if you do get the swap started.


-mykr.
mykrrrr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2004, 10:48 AM   #17
Jaxx
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 177
Join Date: Aug 1999
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Boise,Idaho,USA
Vehicle:
The 93 Imp W/EJ20K
flat black

Default

so there is a thread in engine mangement about simmilar

i believe the consensus is that the easyest way to swap a 255/257 in is to use the wrx harness ... wrx throttel body
a jdm ecu w/avcs (205/207) run the extra wires for the avcs and have the ecu custom reflashed
Jaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2004, 11:17 AM   #18
Matt Monson
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 832
Join Date: Jan 2000
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Teh Ghetto Garage, CO
Vehicle:
99 2.5RS, '85 911
'73 914 and 2012 BRZ

Default

I think totoherbs numbers are in the right ball park. Last month there was a complete swap from an STi wreck that was going for around 12K, but he was talking about buying new pars with his numbers, not the talking about the cheapest you can do it. Plus, I haven't seen mention of the Brembos, which will be $1500-2000 more. And let's not forget about trying fit that 6 spd through the tunnel on the GC chassis.

Something to think about: GR8wheels has been trying to sell a complete STi v6 swap including everything for around $7500 for a month or so. This is a great price for what is my personal favorite Subaru set up, and you knpow the tranny will fit, you know that it can wire in. But if you need to be the first kid on the block with an EJ257 swap in a GC, be my guest. Personally I think it is an operation of burning benjos to get something that is one of a kind and worthy of the mags. It will not be anywhere near the most powerful GC on the road, but hey, you will have the only one...
Matt Monson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2004, 12:39 PM   #19
totoherbs
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 7321
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: waltham, ma
Vehicle:
.... 122 IggPoints
Work... ahhh... so tired.

Default

^^^^



Quote:
Originally posted by Jaxx
so there is a thread in engine mangement about simmilar

i believe the consensus is that the easyest way to swap a 255/257 in is to use the wrx harness ... wrx throttel body
a jdm ecu w/avcs (205/207) run the extra wires for the avcs and have the ecu custom reflashed
I belive your talking about this thread... http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show...highlight=avcs
totoherbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2004, 05:03 PM   #20
gc8sti
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 52869
Join Date: Jan 2004
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Matt Monson
And let's not forget about trying fit that 6 spd through the tunnel on the GC chassis.
so do u mean that there will be problmes fitting the ver 8 6sp tranny with the adjusttable rear diff into the gc8 chasis?
gc8sti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2004, 05:10 PM   #21
totoherbs
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 7321
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: waltham, ma
Vehicle:
.... 122 IggPoints
Work... ahhh... so tired.

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gc8sti
so do u mean that there will be problmes fitting the ver 8 6sp tranny with the adjusttable rear diff into the gc8 chasis?
Some have, some havent....

And its the adjustable center diff. DCCD(driver controled center diff.)
totoherbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2004, 05:10 PM   #22
Soon2Bgreat
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2258
Join Date: Sep 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Irvington, New York, USA
Vehicle:
1999 gc8 ver7 6mt
GT35R 504.7whp;)

Default

no there are no problems i just did this, i posted a thread in the transmission forum.
Soon2Bgreat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2004, 05:16 PM   #23
totoherbs
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 7321
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: waltham, ma
Vehicle:
.... 122 IggPoints
Work... ahhh... so tired.

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Soon2Bgreat
no there are no problems i just did this, i posted a thread in the transmission forum.
No dccd right?

http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show...hreadid=518336
totoherbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2004, 05:21 PM   #24
Soon2Bgreat
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2258
Join Date: Sep 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Irvington, New York, USA
Vehicle:
1999 gc8 ver7 6mt
GT35R 504.7whp;)

Default

Yea no dccd, but a dccd should still fit i'd think right?
Soon2Bgreat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2004, 05:51 PM   #25
totoherbs
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 7321
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: waltham, ma
Vehicle:
.... 122 IggPoints
Work... ahhh... so tired.

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Soon2Bgreat
Yea no dccd, but a dccd should still fit i'd think right?
Fit ya, I dont see why it wouldnt; work.... well it uses sensors everywhere so I dont know.
totoherbs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
USDM Ver.8 STI front seats FS stiwrcaz Private 'For Sale' Classifieds 8 10-12-2004 04:23 PM
USDM Ver.8 STI front seats FS $500 for pair stiwrcaz South West Impreza Club Forum -- SWIC 2 10-07-2004 04:23 PM
USDM Ver.8 front seats FS stiwrcaz Private 'For Sale' Classifieds 3 08-01-2004 07:42 PM
USDM Ver.8 front seats FS stiwrcaz Private 'For Sale' Classifieds 4 02-16-2004 09:19 PM
NJ FS: USDM VER.8 STI seats, F&R luvmyrs Tri-State Area Forum 26 01-14-2004 07:19 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.