Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday July 30, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
Vancouver Impreza Club
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Chapters > Vancouver Impreza Club Forum -- VIC

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-16-2004, 05:52 PM   #1
KIMUTAKU
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 19776
Join Date: Jun 2002
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Vehicle:
2012 GVF SWP
Ninja Lime Green

Default AccessPort

any shop here carries it?

if not, any shop does install for it?

i'm a newbie when it comes to ecu stuff...(even after i read the user manual i still feel like i would mess sth up..)

i'm really interested in this thing...it looks nice and simple for a light-tune car..

thanks..
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
KIMUTAKU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 05:58 PM   #2
Kevin
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1082
Join Date: Mar 2000
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Vancouver, BC
Vehicle:
2014 Fiesta ST
Orange of course

Default

The whole point of the AccessPort is that you flash the ECU yourself.
Nobody that I know of around here carries it, Cobb is so back ordered it'll be a while before anyone else has them.
Kevin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 06:25 PM   #3
KIMUTAKU
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 19776
Join Date: Jun 2002
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Vehicle:
2012 GVF SWP
Ninja Lime Green

Default

^ that's exactly why i like it...

i read that their off-the-shelf maps for stage1 and 2 are pretty good... which is exactly what i'm interested in..


i've spent a lot of time looking thru the UTEC info...it's just not a very good choice up here in vancouver..

if anyone bought it, be sure to post some reviews! (i mean local guys here of course..)
KIMUTAKU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 06:32 PM   #4
[YeS.SiR]
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 56602
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: VANCOUVER
Vehicle:
2012 SWP STi

Default

accessPORT sounds like a definite GEM! The only reason I haven't ordered one yet is that I'm undecided on whether to get the entire stage II package from them (and thus a discount).

If you're in a hurry to get the accessPORT, you can contact this vendor HERE. Apparently, they've reserved some accessPORTs, but I don't know how far down the line they are NOR how much of a mark up they are charging.

Another option is to reflash your ECU first (1 day turnaround from COBB), and then purchase the standalone accessPORT afterwards at the upgrade price.

I'd love to hear some local reviews on the accessPORT.
[YeS.SiR] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 06:38 PM   #5
Kevin
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1082
Join Date: Mar 2000
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Vancouver, BC
Vehicle:
2014 Fiesta ST
Orange of course

Default

I ordered one a few weeks ago, they said I should have it mid April.
When it's here I'll post a review.
Kevin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 07:36 PM   #6
Happy_Days
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 35049
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Vancouver BC
Vehicle:
2011 Mercedes C63
OE Tune 538/500

Default

Also something I should add.

I'll need to get access port sometime in the next 2 years because if you are completely catless for stage 2 (recommended), you will definately fail aircare.

Stage 2 no likey both cats in the downpipe, very bad for whole exhaust system including the turbo itself.

I will need to put back on downpipe, reflash to stock map, pass air care.. then back to original performance setup.

Thus, another reason to get accessport.

2cents
Happy_Days is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 07:56 PM   #7
KIMUTAKU
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 19776
Join Date: Jun 2002
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Vehicle:
2012 GVF SWP
Ninja Lime Green

Default

that's right...u will definitely fail air care w/ no cats..

mine is due around jan 2005... yea still a long time... but i will probably have the whole stage2 by then..

that's why if i have the accessport, i can go back to stock setup just to pass the test..
KIMUTAKU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 08:21 PM   #8
EA704life
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 39714
Join Date: Jul 2003
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Vancouver
Vehicle:
05 WRX
Noir

Default

I've ordered mine for delivery into girlfriends place in Seattle. Free shipping plus no hassles at the border over GST.

Sounds good for now, even better when the Tuner version comes out.
EA704life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 08:44 PM   #9
[YeS.SiR]
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 56602
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: VANCOUVER
Vehicle:
2012 SWP STi

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by EA704life
I've ordered mine for delivery into girlfriends place in Seattle. Free shipping plus no hassles at the border over GST.

Sounds good for now, even better when the Tuner version comes out.
Do you know what they're charging for shipping to Vancouver? I emailed them on Frdiay, but they haven't replied yet.
[YeS.SiR] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 08:49 PM   #10
aawen
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 27167
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: 604
Vehicle:
2015 FXT
DGM

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by [YeS.SiR]
Do you know what they're charging for shipping to Vancouver? I emailed them on Frdiay, but they haven't replied yet.
I think shipping is not a problem, what about duty?
aawen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 09:08 PM   #11
KIMUTAKU
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 19776
Join Date: Jun 2002
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Vehicle:
2012 GVF SWP
Ninja Lime Green

Default

GST+PST+duty =

it's cool to have friends down at the states..
KIMUTAKU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 09:10 PM   #12
aawen
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 27167
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: 604
Vehicle:
2015 FXT
DGM

Default

just bring it back, even custom finds out, they don't even know what hack is that
I'll just ship to my mail box just crossing border.
aawen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 09:13 PM   #13
aawen
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 27167
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: 604
Vehicle:
2015 FXT
DGM

Default

One question, do we need anything prove to them if you pay by credit card and your billing address and shipping address are not the same?
aawen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 11:09 PM   #14
[YeS.SiR]
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 56602
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: VANCOUVER
Vehicle:
2012 SWP STi

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by KIMUTAKU
GST+PST+duty =

it's cool to have friends down at the states..
I have a feeling that there might not be any duty on electronics that are domestically produced - so it'd be GST+PST only. I can't seem to find much help seraching the customs canada site though.

You can easily ship to blaine or point roberts and drive it over, but I figure it's not worth the hassle. Let's see what Gordon Campbell can do with my money!

Duty on foreign-produced vehicles is something like 6.1% now based on the Most Favoured Nation principle. I don't know if that applies to car parts as well.
[YeS.SiR] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 11:48 PM   #15
Blennophobic
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 25886
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Ottawa area
Vehicle:
2003 WRX Rally Blue
- sold, waiting for 2015s

Default

I've brought stuff over the border recently and there is no duty on anything made in North America including car parts. They do charge both taxes though. The only thing they made me pay duty on was a pair of pants made in China.... LOL.
Steve.
Blennophobic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 11:53 PM   #16
Kevin
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1082
Join Date: Mar 2000
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Vancouver, BC
Vehicle:
2014 Fiesta ST
Orange of course

Default

I've never been charged duty on any of the car parts I've ordered from the States. Usually, if it's manufactured in the states there's little or no duty on it.
You still have to pay GST and PST.
Even if they try and charge a 6% duty that only works out to $33, fortunately I'm in a situation where I can afford that, rather than pay gas and waste 1-2hours of my time driving down there and crossing the border....
Kevin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2004, 11:58 PM   #17
EA704life
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 39714
Join Date: Jul 2003
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Vancouver
Vehicle:
05 WRX
Noir

Default

I'm going down in any case so having it sent there is just easier than dealing with the government either at the border or the customs agents.
EA704life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2004, 08:33 PM   #18
KIMUTAKU
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 19776
Join Date: Jun 2002
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Vehicle:
2012 GVF SWP
Ninja Lime Green

Default

Kevin: where did u order yours?

directly for cobb website?

thx..
KIMUTAKU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2004, 08:34 PM   #19
Kevin
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1082
Join Date: Mar 2000
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Vancouver, BC
Vehicle:
2014 Fiesta ST
Orange of course

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by KIMUTAKU
Kevin: where did u order yours?

directly for cobb website?
Ya, I ordered it directly from Cobb.
I actually called them to place the order, same as ordering from their site though.
Kevin is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2010 WRX AccessPORTs are IN STOCK!!!! $1 menu BEST ACCESSPORT DEAL EVER!!!! CygnusPerformance Engine Management 32 06-14-2010 12:51 PM
WTT: V.1 Cobb Accessport + Cash for V.2 Accessport psychoskip SCIC Private Classifieds 7 04-21-2008 06:24 PM
WTB or wtt, accessport wrx sti ver.1 4a non-sti accessport 04' Red_Wrx SCIC Private Classifieds 0 12-10-2007 04:14 PM
Cobb Tuning Accessport Version I Cobb Accessport WRX0520 Engine/Power/Exhaust 0 07-18-2007 03:02 AM
looking to sell my 04 accessport or trade for 02 accessport anthonyrb98 Mid Atlantic Impreza Club -- MAIC 3 07-30-2004 11:05 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.