Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday August 30, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Electrical & Lighting

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-19-2004, 03:08 PM   #1
03WREX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 38932
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Dirty South, CA
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
WRB - Cobb Stg2

Default EGT Probe Wire

Can someone tell me what wire I can use to connect the probe w/ my gauge?

I purchased a VDO gauge from egauges.com but I've heard that their probes weren't that good so I bought a probe from teamrip.com. I didn't realize that the probe doesn't come w/ enough wire to hook up the gauge.

Does anyone know the specific type of wire that needs to be used? I'm assuming you can use most wires but will it effect the accuracy?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
03WREX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2004, 03:42 PM   #2
LyveWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 19057
Join Date: May 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Milwaukee Jct., Detroit, MI
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
& Red Ford 1-ton Van

Default

That depends, If there is not a box close to the probe you can only use the same wires to connect the probe to the gauge.

This is cause a thermocouple is a junction btw two dissimilar metals, for the type K that is likely the probe in this case the metals are: Chromel and Alumel.
If you use regular copper wire then you will create 4 new junctions wich will all have differing voltages that the cold junction cant compensate for.

Go to:
www.omega.com

nick
LyveWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Omori EGT Probe/Wire Wrapping Nat Interior & Exterior Modification 8 08-23-2007 10:01 AM
How to wire the Team RIP egt probe into the Greddy egt harness impactblue Electrical & Lighting 3 03-12-2007 08:54 PM
Wiring of EGT Probe Replacement White02WRX Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 2 02-02-2005 08:14 AM
Strange EGT problem. Blown cyl4 getting worse, or bad egt probe/wiring?? Davenow Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 6 01-30-2005 09:32 PM
what wire for egt probe extension??? HS WRB-rex Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 0 08-07-2002 12:44 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.