Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday April 16, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Electrical & Lighting

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-21-2004, 10:24 PM   #1
sneeky
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 44639
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: They say it's the armpit...
Vehicle:
STi
the 35 awaits you...

Default control unit II

alright, so i have everything hooked up as far as wiring and mounting of the defi gauges and the control unit, looks amazing in the STI!! the only problem i am having is when i turn the car off the control unit stays on. i spliced the clock wires for the control unit. the only thing i can think of is that the power wire for the clock never shuts off...since it has to keep the current time. does anyone know another power source that i can splice close to the clock that shuts off with the car? also for some reason, the gauges don't preform the closing sequence anymore. they did the first few times i tested them



chris
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
sneeky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2004, 03:50 AM   #2
samwY
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 31816
Join Date: Jan 2003
Default

tap into the handbrake light
samwY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2004, 07:26 AM   #3
sneeky
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 44639
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: They say it's the armpit...
Vehicle:
STi
the 35 awaits you...

Default

i wish i could, but i have no idea where that's located... can you help me out with location and possibly wire color?? thanks for the help


chris
sneeky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2004, 08:23 AM   #4
mbeach
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 39807
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Fairbanks, AK
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Vishnu Stage 2+ !SOLD!

Default

Sammy meant near the handbrake.
It's actually the plug for the adjustable mirror circuit.

The wire is yellow w/ red stripe on the plug. It is a 12v switched outlet. As I recall, the Defi unit's white wire will tap in here easily.

EDIT: Oh, near the clock (we put Sammy's in the armrest). Use the wires feeding your stereo (harness).

I don't know the exact pinout for these offhand, but a testlight and a friend will make quick work of it.
On the stereo harness you will be able to find:
Ground->Defi black wire
Illumination (orange)->Defi orange wire (for lights on guages)
12v Switched (yellow) ->Defi white wire
12v Constant (red) ->Defi (yellow, I think) wire

Last edited by mbeach; 03-22-2004 at 08:28 AM.
mbeach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2004, 09:43 AM   #5
brunetmj
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 8023
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Way-upstate , NY
Vehicle:
2004 2.5 RS

Default

Quote:
the only thing i can think of is that the power wire for the clock never shuts off
I might be misunderstanding this but I will give it a shot.
There are two power sources available at the clock wires. One is accessory power and the other is constant. It sounds as if you are using constant power or have constant power and accessories power flip flopped. On the side of the clock constant power is labeled BAT and accessory is labeled ACC
brunetmj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2004, 09:59 AM   #6
sneeky
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 44639
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: They say it's the armpit...
Vehicle:
STi
the 35 awaits you...

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by brunetmj
I might be misunderstanding this but I will give it a shot.
There are two power sources available at the clock wires. One is accessory power and the other is constant. It sounds as if you are using constant power or have constant power and accessories power flip flopped. On the side of the clock constant power is labeled BAT and accessory is labeled ACC

deifnately gonna check that out... thanks guys


chris

EDIT: i was also advised to connect the orange AND white wires to the ignition wire because the BF gauges need to always be lit up or you won't be able to see them... don't know if this changes any of your answers.

Last edited by sneeky; 03-22-2004 at 10:08 AM.
sneeky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2004, 10:18 AM   #7
mbeach
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 39807
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Fairbanks, AK
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Vishnu Stage 2+ !SOLD!

Default

We tried that on a recommendation.
It looked ghetto.
The guages were always lit up when the key was on.

Ended up doing the illumination separately. Looks far better. Not dimmable, but the driver keeps the dash at high illum at all times anyway.
mbeach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2004, 07:19 PM   #8
sneeky
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 44639
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: They say it's the armpit...
Vehicle:
STi
the 35 awaits you...

Default

what if i wanted to hook the control unit up to the illumination selector for the stock gauge cluster? is it possible? and could anyone supply some info on which wires would need to be sliced for the STi?? i think it would look nice if the gauges changed levels at the same time as the stock cluster!!


chris
sneeky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 12:04 AM   #9
brunetmj
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 8023
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Way-upstate , NY
Vehicle:
2004 2.5 RS

Default

I am pretty sure it is possible but it depends on whether the gauge is capable of it . There are two wires that go to the hazard warning switch . Notice that it dims and brightens with the other gauges. These wires are Violet and Orange which are part of the dimming circuit . I hooked a bulb to one of those wires and it will dim with the gauge cluster (cant recall which one).
However having said that , I have tried it with other kinds of things and it will only work if the gauge itself has dimming capability . I mean have the capability of multiple levels of dimming not just dim and bright.
brunetmj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 12:10 AM   #10
brunetmj
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 8023
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Way-upstate , NY
Vehicle:
2004 2.5 RS

Default

I should have explained that last statemeant a bit. To get a small bulb to dim and brighten with the cluster I spiced one wire into the orange wire (or violet) and the other wire of the bulb went to ground.
brunetmj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 09:07 AM   #11
sneeky
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 44639
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: They say it's the armpit...
Vehicle:
STi
the 35 awaits you...

Default

the defi bf gauges do have dimming ability, i think there are five different levels, just like the stock cluster. but it's controlled from the control unit. will that make a difference??


chris
sneeky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 09:09 AM   #12
mbeach
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 39807
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Fairbanks, AK
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Vishnu Stage 2+ !SOLD!

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by brunetmj
There are two wires that go to the hazard warning switch . Notice that it dims and brightens with the other gauges. These wires are Violet and Orange which are part of the dimming circuit .
Excellent!
We used the stereo harness illumination wire (which should have dimmed the guages). It lights them correctly, but wouldn't dim with the dash. We'll try this one instead.
Thanks!
mbeach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 12:01 PM   #13
ronaldwrx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 23570
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: ct
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
Sedona Red Pearl

Default

the defi gauges dim when you turn the headlights on and are brighter when the headlights are off.
ronaldwrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 01:29 PM   #14
mbiker97
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 7922
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Tucson
Vehicle:
04 CTS-V b/b/b
99 GMC Highrider

Default

It definately sounds like you wired the constant 12v and the ignition 12v wrong. The controller needs a constant 12v (like the clock) to retain it's memory. Then it needs the ignition on 12v to light the gauges only when it is on.

There is one trick though. You want to run the line to the gauges from the #2 port on the controller instead of the #1 port. This way you have control of the dimming at all times. Otherwise the controller lowers the light only 1 step when the lights are turned on, where as I lower mine to the lowest setting with the lights on.
mbiker97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 02:37 PM   #15
ronaldwrx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 23570
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: ct
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
Sedona Red Pearl

Default

i thought using the #1 vs #2 port was if you had BF gauges or not .. the defi site says use output 2 for BFs output 1 for other gauges - link display can go to either ..


http://www.defi-shop.com/product/cu2/cu2_top.html
ronaldwrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 02:57 PM   #16
mbiker97
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 7922
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Tucson
Vehicle:
04 CTS-V b/b/b
99 GMC Highrider

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ronaldwrx
i thought using the #1 vs #2 port was if you had BF gauges or not .. the defi site says use output 2 for BFs output 1 for other gauges - link display can go to either ..


http://www.defi-shop.com/product/cu2/cu2_top.html
I was told otherwise when I bought my stuff. However I figured it out pretty quickly.
mbiker97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 03:02 PM   #17
ronaldwrx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 23570
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: ct
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
Sedona Red Pearl

Default

if i plug my BFs in port 1 they dont function properly.
ronaldwrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2004, 02:43 AM   #18
InfamousDX
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 25413
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: North NJ
Default

Son of a bitch this is annoying. Here's the thing. I have power to my control unit but the gauges aren't powering up.

For ease of installation, I totally cut the plastic part of the clock harness off and then my dome lights went out... great move Mike. Why did this happen? I figured that it would be easier to tap them if they were straight cut, then I could use butt connectors. I don't even need the clock plug anymore cuz my gauges are going there. Moving on...

I wired the Defi black wire to clock harness GND (ground).
Defi orange wire to clock harness LIG.
Defi white wire to clock harness ACC.
Defi red wire to clock harness BAT.

Is this right? It must be because I have power to the control unit when I turn the key but I plug in the gauges (into either port) and none of them power up. Plz help... I knew I shoulda just paid someone to do it.

EDIT:: After all was said and done... it worked out just fine

Last edited by InfamousDX; 09-24-2004 at 02:49 AM.
InfamousDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: **NJ** Defi BF Boost 60mm, Defi Link Display Unit & Control Unit II AWDrifter21 Tri-State Area Private Classifieds 47 05-13-2009 03:23 PM
Defi-Link Control Unit II Question for Owners DTECH-WRX Interior & Exterior Modification 2 12-27-2005 08:35 PM
WTB - Local - Defi Control Unit II Remnex North West Impreza Club Forum -- NWIC 0 11-18-2005 04:22 PM
Location of Defi Control Unit II mdefalco25 Interior & Exterior Modification 0 08-25-2004 04:12 PM
Show Me Where U Mount Ur Defi Control Unit II! Mond'z Member's Car Gallery 9 03-16-2004 05:45 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.