Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday July 14, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Electrical & Lighting

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-24-2004, 09:02 AM   #1
myracle
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 52636
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Arizona
Vehicle:
'02 REX
WRB

Default Daytime running light CEL

I disconnected my daytime running lights ( undid the harness ) and it is throwing a CEL. I was near a Subaru dealership that day and had the service manager reset the code.... 2 days later it came back on..... I haven't disconnected the battery yet... but I was just wondering if there is a "fix" for this.

No....I dont want "plug it back in" as the fix....

I will though, if I can't get the CEL gone...
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
myracle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 09:07 AM   #2
mbeach
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 39807
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Fairbanks, AK
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Vishnu Stage 2+ !SOLD!

Default


what is the error code?
mbeach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 10:06 AM   #3
myracle
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 52636
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Arizona
Vehicle:
'02 REX
WRB

Default

Sorry.. I dunno... I didn't think to look at the reader when I was at Subaru. I'm wondering what others did for the CEL fix, if they had disconnected the DRL.
myracle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 10:14 AM   #4
mouserWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 48960
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Austin
Vehicle:
2006 TL
Anthracite

Default

Well I had a CEL come on when I disconnected mine, but it was because I forget to tighten up the sensors that I disconnected to get my hand down there. Make sure your connections are tight for the MAF, EGT etc.
mouserWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 10:59 AM   #5
myracle
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 52636
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Arizona
Vehicle:
'02 REX
WRB

Default

I didnt have to disconnect anything.... except the DRL. All else is secure. There weren't any other codes on the code reader when I had it at the dealership...
myracle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 11:01 AM   #6
ryuwrx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 26714
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Bremerton, WA
Vehicle:
2002 Spec C
LUR LUR

Default

I never popped a cell from my headlights. Weird
ryuwrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 11:10 AM   #7
Zola
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16876
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: St Paul, MN
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
WR Blue

Default

I would be absolutely astonished if you got a CEL just from unplugging your DRLs. Don't even know what could it would be. Hundreds of people have done this and I've never heard of your issue before. I think it's just a coincidence--you either unplugged something else accidentally or just happened to throw a code. Get the code read at Autozone (free) and tell us which one it is. Also, a list of other mods (especially ones recently installed) would be useful.

Joel
Zola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 11:23 AM   #8
ATX25RS
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 4597
Join Date: Mar 2001
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Laredo, Texas
Vehicle:
2011 Mitsu Outlander
Sport (Ex-Suby owner X3)

Default

the CEL is not related to the drl. it cant be.....why would you get a "check engine light" for unplugging the drl....thats like saying changing the rims will throw a cel. maybe you disconnected something else? i would go to autozone, and get the code pulled there. they do it for free and will tell you the code. www.northursalia.com has a list of the CEL codes.
ATX25RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 11:23 AM   #9
Mulder
Trust no one
Moderator
 
Member#: 11170
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
02 WRX
15 WRX/05 GTO

Default

There is absolutely no connection between the ECU and the headlights. You cannot get a CEL just from disconnecting either the DRL dropping resistor or main control module.
Either this is coincidental or you accidentally disturbed or disconnected something else when you unplugged theDRLs.
Get the code read and post it here so we can help you further.
Mulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 11:27 AM   #10
brunetmj
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 8023
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Way-upstate , NY
Vehicle:
2004 2.5 RS

Default

Quote:
I disconnected my daytime running lights ( undid the harness
You never mentioned where you disconnted the DRL's from. Was it from behind the glove box or from the engine compartment ?
brunetmj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 11:37 AM   #11
ATX25RS
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 4597
Join Date: Mar 2001
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Laredo, Texas
Vehicle:
2011 Mitsu Outlander
Sport (Ex-Suby owner X3)

Default

yeah if it was in the engine compartment , you may have undone the fuel pump relay....near the drl stuff
ATX25RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 11:44 AM   #12
Uncle Scotty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16200
Join Date: Mar 2002
Vehicle:
OK Houston
we have an Uncle

Default

Go back and un-do whatever it is that you did to disconnect your drl's and try something different.
Uncle Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 11:51 AM   #13
Mulder
Trust no one
Moderator
 
Member#: 11170
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
02 WRX
15 WRX/05 GTO

Default

The fuel pump relay isn't in the engine compartment but there is certainly other stuff there that could cause this.
The fuel pump and main relays are next to the main DRL module by the glovebox, but if you accidentally disconnected one of those the car wouldn't run.
Mulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 12:36 PM   #14
ATX25RS
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 4597
Join Date: Mar 2001
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Laredo, Texas
Vehicle:
2011 Mitsu Outlander
Sport (Ex-Suby owner X3)

Default

true....thats right nevermind now that i think of it, we did disconnect the wrong thing when we were looking for the pump relay

ATX25RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 12:51 PM   #15
myracle
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 52636
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Arizona
Vehicle:
'02 REX
WRB

Default

It was in the engine compartment.... all I did was disconnect the DRL .. nothing else (wastegate solenoid, relays, etc.. ) No other codes were thrown... as I mentioned when I went to the dealership.....

Where behind the glove box can I disconnect the DRLs? Would the computer like this better -- and not throw CELS?

No other mods have been made yet.

Unplugging wiring harnesses in the engine would be a little different than changing rims, I would think Yes.. the DRL arent anything critical to the engine running, but it looks as if the relay is still connect to other wires within the scheme of things. I will get the code read again... and go from there... not much more we can do at this point I guess. In the meanwhile, I'll plug it back in and see of the CEL disappears.
myracle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 12:59 PM   #16
Zola
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16876
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: St Paul, MN
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
WR Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by myracle
Where behind the glove box can I disconnect the DRLs? Would the computer like this better -- and not throw CELS?
The ECU won't care--as stated above, it's not possible to trigger a CEL by disconnecting your DRLs. The glovebox location is the more elegant solution for getting rid of them, and also a required step if you plan to upgrade your headlights at any point.

Joel
Zola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 01:00 PM   #17
myracle
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 52636
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Arizona
Vehicle:
'02 REX
WRB

Default

Ok..so I plugged it back in and the CEL is stil being thrown.. I am at work so I cant run out and have it reset or checked..... everything else is still fastened tight.. so all the coincidence suggestions look to be accurate... wonder what it is.. guess I will have to wait a lil while to find out...
myracle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 01:12 PM   #18
ATX25RS
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 4597
Join Date: Mar 2001
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Laredo, Texas
Vehicle:
2011 Mitsu Outlander
Sport (Ex-Suby owner X3)

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by myracle
No other codes were thrown... as I mentioned when I went to the dealership.....
n oother codes? you keep saying this. so you do know it was only one code, but dont knwo which one right? if you are at work and will be there for a while, just disconnect the negative terminal....let the car sit for 45 minutes...then reconnect. start the car and idle for about 10 minutes. no revving or anything...then shut down and you are good to go. code erased, ecu reset and see how that works.
ATX25RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 01:38 PM   #19
mouserWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 48960
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Austin
Vehicle:
2006 TL
Anthracite

Default

I had the exact same problem pretty much. In the engine compartment, in order to disconnect the DRL you have to kind of get your hand in there to unplug it. Isn't it possible that you loosened some connectors for the MAF, EGT, etc? That's what happened to me, just make sure and tighten all of those up. I say this because that's EXACTLY what happened to me...but you never know
mouserWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 01:39 PM   #20
mouserWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 48960
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Austin
Vehicle:
2006 TL
Anthracite

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ATX25RS
n oother codes? you keep saying this. so you do know it was only one code, but dont knwo which one right? if you are at work and will be there for a while, just disconnect the negative terminal....let the car sit for 45 minutes...then reconnect. start the car and idle for about 10 minutes. no revving or anything...then shut down and you are good to go. code erased, ecu reset and see how that works.
Or you can just disconnect the negative terminal, press your brakes for a bit and then reconnect it and then your code is reset and you can do what you want w/ your car. I hate doing that cause my mileage goes to crap for the first tank
mouserWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 01:40 PM   #21
Mulder
Trust no one
Moderator
 
Member#: 11170
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
02 WRX
15 WRX/05 GTO

Default

I don't suggest a reset. This will only erase any codes in memory at the time but won't do anything to fix the problem, and the data you need to troubleshoot will be gone. The CEL will probably come back soon anyway if the code resets.
A reset also clears all the learned data in the ECU and forces it to begin the learning process all over again.
Leave it alone and get it scanned as soon as possible. If the condition that caused the CEL to come on does not recur, the light will go off on its own after a few driving cycles, but the code will still remain in memory as long as you don't do a reset so it can still be read.
Mulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 02:32 PM   #22
myracle
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 52636
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Arizona
Vehicle:
'02 REX
WRB

Default

Yah..I wasnt going to do anything else until I can have it read.... as for me saying there were no other codes... well.. the reader has the screen where it shows all codes in memory and there was only one... the service manager didnt mention anything out of the ordinary about the CEL ..so I assumed it was because of the DRL.... maybe he just wasnt paying attention to what it was if the DRL wont throw a code like you are all saying.. Everything looks fastened and tight... but I wont speculate anymore until I get what the CEL is....

Thanks all
myracle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 04:02 PM   #23
myracle
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 52636
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Arizona
Vehicle:
'02 REX
WRB

Default

Ok..went to the Zone... got a P10301 302 303 errors...

Says cylinders 1, 2, 3 misfire... but it isnt running bad... I think the service dood disconnected the wastegate cellanoid relay when I was showing him where I disconnected the DRL, but that is secure. would that cause the CEL to be thrown?

My remedies are.. check the plugs ( car is runnin fine ), vaccuum lines ( all look and feel secure ) and gas cap... eh.. ( gas cap is fine .. but dont think that it would cause the cylinders to misfire.. but then again I dunno for sure now a days..)

If the car is running fine.. would now be a good time to disconnect the battery and reset the ecu?
myracle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 04:29 PM   #24
ATX25RS
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 4597
Join Date: Mar 2001
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Laredo, Texas
Vehicle:
2011 Mitsu Outlander
Sport (Ex-Suby owner X3)

Default

did you reconnect the one you disconnected? i would do that then disconnect the DRL module behind the glove box...as per www.scoobymods.com then try resetting to see if the same codes are through.....3 out of 4 cylinders cant be right....you would be at like 60 HP
ATX25RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2004, 04:31 PM   #25
myracle
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 52636
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Arizona
Vehicle:
'02 REX
WRB

Default

yah. my poor REX would be in bad shape.....

I did reconnect it and I will try resetting the ECU then.... just wanted to know if it was ok to try...... let's see what happens.. thanks ATX
myracle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
daytime running light uninstall with jdm lights? bren wrx Electrical & Lighting 1 09-20-2005 09:08 AM
Question: brake light on, clock light out, daytime running light out PhoKingWRX Electrical & Lighting 2 05-22-2005 07:29 AM
('93-'01) How to remove daytime running lights on 2002 Imprezas Dr. Spud Funk Impreza Forum 9 05-08-2001 05:43 PM
Disabling Daytime Running Lights on a 2000 Legacy GT? rao Legacy Forum 16 05-04-2001 12:35 AM
daytime running light 2kGT Bay Area Impreza Club Forum -- BAIC 1 06-05-2000 05:13 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.