Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday September 1, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Electrical & Lighting

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-20-2004, 11:58 AM   #1
ursine
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 51771
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: San Diego
Vehicle:
2000 Impreza GC6 SRP
1980 G2 Celica Rally Taxi

Question Turbo Timer for an N/A

I am just about to purchase a remote starter for my 2000 RS, the alarm currently installed is the Viper 350HV (350 something) and I want to install a turbo timer for saftety reasons, if I leave the car running when I leave, it will still be out of gear when I get back.

Heres my question: Can I buy just your run of the mill HKS type-0 turbo timer and wire it up to the RS or do I need to get one with the special custom wiring harness for the RS that is very hard to find?

Can I follow these directions? http://www.scoobymods.com/forums/sho...=&threadid=896

-Branden
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
ursine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2004, 12:05 PM   #2
PARANOID56
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 22035
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego, CA
Vehicle:
2003 Brocoma DCab
71 FJ40, 13 DRZ400SM

Default

I think you dont need a turbo timer. unless you want your car to run after you get out, (which is not really needed for our NA cars) most remote starters have a safty switch in them, so you cannot start it while in gear. So, you could just leave the turbo timer off.
Shane
www.paranoidfabrications.com
PARANOID56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2004, 12:51 PM   #3
ursine
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 51771
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: San Diego
Vehicle:
2000 Impreza GC6 SRP
1980 G2 Celica Rally Taxi

Default

I have seen a car pin a kid against a garage door and paralize him from the waist down. So in my opinion, a $90 turbo timer is a very good investment. I dont want it to run long, like 30 seconds or something, I would just rather be safe than sorry.
ursine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2004, 01:11 PM   #4
lotusTT
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 23359
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: San Francisco
Vehicle:
2002 BMW M Coupe
Steel Gray

Default

Yes, a standard WRX turbo timer harness will work on the RS. If you get an alarm designed for a manual transmission you won't need to worry about this because it has a built in turbo timer. I believe the Clifford alarms do this.
lotusTT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2004, 01:32 PM   #5
ursine
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 51771
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: San Diego
Vehicle:
2000 Impreza GC6 SRP
1980 G2 Celica Rally Taxi

Default

Well I already have the alarm so now I am just customizing it. So will those instructions at scoobymods.com work for installing it?
ursine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2004, 01:39 PM   #6
lotusTT
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 23359
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: San Francisco
Vehicle:
2002 BMW M Coupe
Steel Gray

Default

yes, the turbo timer install is the same on a GC8 as a WRX.
lotusTT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2004, 01:49 PM   #7
ursine
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 51771
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: San Diego
Vehicle:
2000 Impreza GC6 SRP
1980 G2 Celica Rally Taxi

Default

Thank you!
ursine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2004, 03:22 PM   #8
bobturismo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 42145
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: cruizin' down the street in my
Vehicle:
6-4 jockin da bish-
es and slappin the hoes.

Default

how does installing the turbo timer make it any safer?? theres nothing that the turbo timer can do that the viper cant
bobturismo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2004, 03:40 PM   #9
PARANOID56
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 22035
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego, CA
Vehicle:
2003 Brocoma DCab
71 FJ40, 13 DRZ400SM

Default

Yea, thatís what I was saying. if the remote start has a safety switch on it, so that it will not work unless the car is in neutral. Thatís safe. As for the kit that got pinned, he must have bypass the neutral safety switch (my old Toyota, and your rally car probably doesnít not have these) but all new cars have them.
Shane
PARANOID56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2004, 03:42 PM   #10
bobturismo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 42145
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: cruizin' down the street in my
Vehicle:
6-4 jockin da bish-
es and slappin the hoes.

Default

word
bobturismo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2004, 04:14 PM   #11
lotusTT
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 23359
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: San Francisco
Vehicle:
2002 BMW M Coupe
Steel Gray

Default

what he's thinking is that if he uses the turbo timer, the car can't be in gear when he turns it off. that way there is a 100% guarantee it won't be in gear when he tries to remote start it. Most alarms that are made for manuals must have the key removed and keep the car running to confirm that it is out of gear. Its not really necessary, but its a fail safe way just incase the neutral wire came loose or something random like that. It will do what he wants, although it might be a little redundant.
lotusTT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2004, 05:35 PM   #12
ursine
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 51771
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: San Diego
Vehicle:
2000 Impreza GC6 SRP
1980 G2 Celica Rally Taxi

Default

It may be redundant but you can never be too safe. I am not very familiar with car alarms and and remote starters and all that jazz but I do know that no places will install a remote start on a manual but some shops will make an exception for a turbo timer. If someone knows of a remote starter that you can add onto a Viper than has a built in turbo timer I am all ears. Either way, with a turbo timer it will ALWAYS be out of gear when I leave, that means I can always start it, what if I am trying to impress some chic and it wont start because I left it in gear?
ursine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2004, 07:09 PM   #13
lotusTT
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 23359
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: San Francisco
Vehicle:
2002 BMW M Coupe
Steel Gray

Default

That's not quite true. There are shops that will install a remote start on a manual. It has to be an alarm specificaly made for a manual though. There is also the added risk that you leave it in gear when you leave and it will lurch forward and stall because of the turbo timer. If you truly want absolute saftey, you need to get a system made for a manual transmission. Here's a good example http://store.xxtuning.com/product_in...roducts_id=233
lotusTT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2004, 07:18 PM   #14
ursine
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 51771
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: San Diego
Vehicle:
2000 Impreza GC6 SRP
1980 G2 Celica Rally Taxi

Default

Well here in San Diego no body will touch it no matter what. Even if the alarm is made for that they still wont install it, they say its a liability issue. I even tried bribing the installer with $100 cash and he wouldnt do it.

Reguardless of what anyone says I have done the research and I am going to do it, seeming as though you can find TT's for about $50 used its a pretty trivial price, and if anyone still wants to try and convince me otherwise, lets just pretend that I am doing it because I like the challenge of installing things and learning how things work
ursine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2004, 07:27 PM   #15
bobturismo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 42145
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: cruizin' down the street in my
Vehicle:
6-4 jockin da bish-
es and slappin the hoes.

Default

so are you going to put the remote start in? if you get a turbo timer that doesn't mean it will always be out of gear when you leave, what if you don't put the e brake up and knock it in gear and you forgot about the turbo timer, i've forgotenn to pull the e brake up before i turned the key off and just went about my business (turbo wasn't hot)

the safest thing to do is put magnetic switches on the shifter linkage to disable the remote start shouild you put it in gear
(you can use house alarm switches)

the other thing is how long would you run it for, if you run it for 30 secs than you can't arm the car untill it stops, if you do it for too short than you still have a chance of knocking it in gear

the best thing to do is to not put remote start in, every one that i installed in friends cars drove off because they were used by someone else or someone else was the last to drive it,

the turbo timer is a good idea for your situation i guess, but it's not the failsafe you think it is, it only failsafes your habits, not the car, the e brake might not be enough to stop a car from moving, the new DEI remote starts have enough failsafes built in though that it should stop once it realizes that the car is not gonna start (because the e brake is up), all the older alarms would just sit there and crank and eventually the car would start and drive off with the e brake on , now the DEI alarms are real sensitive and picky , on my blazer it wouldn't start the truck half the time just because it was hard too start, it need an extra .5 sec of cranking to start but the alarms fail safes kicked in and stop cranking
i'm sure someplace will do the switch for the shifter
bobturismo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2004, 07:53 PM   #16
ursine
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 51771
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: San Diego
Vehicle:
2000 Impreza GC6 SRP
1980 G2 Celica Rally Taxi

Default

Yeah, I understand that it isnt fool proof, nothing is, but if nothing else I think its to put my own mind at ease. I dont feel comfortable only relying on the remote starter,I always like to have backups. Thats were the TT comes in, its cheap, pretty easy to install and it will just give me a little bit more piece of mind.

And I am sorry if you guys feel like I am not listening to you, I am and I know that everyone has good advise so I thank you all. I just have done alot of research on my own and I decided that this was the best idea for my price range and it will make me feel better about installing the remote starter.
ursine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2004, 10:43 PM   #17
bobturismo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 42145
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: cruizin' down the street in my
Vehicle:
6-4 jockin da bish-
es and slappin the hoes.

Default

we don't fell that way at all, i son't think that the TT is a bad idea, i would still put switches in for the shifter on top of the TT, that comes from installing remote sttart for 6 years, of all the accidents my friends add with their manual remote starts, a TT wouldn't have changed anything at all, the mistake is human error and the only way to safe gaurd that is wiht those shifter switches, i can think of plenty of scenarios where the TT wouldn't keep your car from running away, but the prob is those are the situations where you are gonna have the accidents, ther by making the TT useless for your needs,

in other words, even with the TT in you still have to actively monitor what you are doing, what if you just stop and forget to put up the e brake and forget about the TT maybe because your in a hurry, thats just you, any one else who interatcs with your car won't have the habit of using the TT. most people sdoon't pull the ebrake before killing ign, tahts when you have the accidents
bobturismo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2004, 10:50 PM   #18
lotusTT
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 23359
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: San Francisco
Vehicle:
2002 BMW M Coupe
Steel Gray

Default

Like I said before, if you really want it absolutely fool proof, get an alarm/remote start that is designed for a manual. There are plenty of shops that will install it, you just have to do some looking. Post in your regional forum and I'm sure you'll find a place.
lotusTT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2004, 02:27 AM   #19
ursine
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 51771
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: San Diego
Vehicle:
2000 Impreza GC6 SRP
1980 G2 Celica Rally Taxi

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lotusTT
Like I said before, if you really want it absolutely fool proof, get an alarm/remote start that is designed for a manual. There are plenty of shops that will install it, you just have to do some looking. Post in your regional forum and I'm sure you'll find a place.
Nobody will do it, I have talked to every shop in San Diego and even tried bribing installers with $100 extra cash, no one will do it.
ursine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2004, 01:57 PM   #20
Sc3pt0r
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 55183
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Rockville, Maryland
Vehicle:
2002 wrx stg4 + fmic
PSM

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lotusTT
Like I said before, if you really want it absolutely fool proof, get an alarm/remote start that is designed for a manual. There are plenty of shops that will install it, you just have to do some looking. Post in your regional forum and I'm sure you'll find a place.
i had trouble finding a remote starter made for a manual...any suggestions?
Sc3pt0r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2004, 03:09 PM   #21
ursine
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 51771
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: San Diego
Vehicle:
2000 Impreza GC6 SRP
1980 G2 Celica Rally Taxi

Default

Viper and Clifford both make one but nobody will install it in San Diego and possibly CA
ursine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2004, 03:20 PM   #22
lotusTT
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 23359
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: San Francisco
Vehicle:
2002 BMW M Coupe
Steel Gray

Default

lotusTT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2004, 08:01 PM   #23
vrg3
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 25796
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Cleveland, OH (sometimes DC)
Vehicle:
1993 Legacy Turbo
Burgundy

Default

Am I missing something? Your car already has a sensor to determine whether or not the transmission is in neutral.

Why not just wire it so that the remote starter won't crank the engine unless the neutral switch indicates that the transmission is out of gear?

I believe the ECU pinouts on North Ursalia's page for 2001-2003 RSes apply to 2000 as well:

http://www.northursalia.com/m...ng/wiring.html
vrg3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2004, 08:35 PM   #24
bobturismo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 42145
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: cruizin' down the street in my
Vehicle:
6-4 jockin da bish-
es and slappin the hoes.

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by vrg3
Am I missing something? Your car already has a sensor to determine whether or not the transmission is in neutral.

Why not just wire it so that the remote starter won't crank the engine unless the neutral switch indicates that the transmission is out of gear?

I believe the ECU pinouts on North Ursalia's page for 2001-2003 RSes apply to 2000 as well:

http://www.northursalia.com/m...ng/wiring.html
i forgot about that, i've been knee deep in wiring for my car
bobturismo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2004, 07:29 PM   #25
sti101
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 23220
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: San Diego
Vehicle:
2001 Impreza RS
Silver

Default

You can get a Viper 791xv, that comes with remote start function, built in turbo timer, and a LCD remote.
sti101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
wire harness for apexi turbo timer for 04 sti ddman80 Electrical & Lighting 0 10-24-2006 03:30 PM
Turbo Timer for aftermarket Turbo? grimm5577 Newbies & FAQs 0 10-24-2005 03:25 PM
looking to trade: my black blitz turbo timer for an apex-i turbo timer Tobey Private 'Wanted' Classifieds 2 02-21-2004 03:24 PM
HKS Turbo Timer in an 04 with Security. DirtDevil Electrical & Lighting 4 02-13-2004 07:55 PM
Who has installed an APEX turbo timer on an STI ? The Donnn Electrical & Lighting 8 11-23-2003 10:55 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.