Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday August 30, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Other Engine Management

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-28-2004, 06:01 PM   #176
masiolli
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 35840
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Youngstown, Oh
Vehicle:
1999 Blue RS-t
22t & Hydra

Default

what is TB calibration?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
masiolli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2004, 09:30 PM   #177
SubaFastR
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 5786
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: RS202
Default

adjusting the open and closed positions of the throttle body
SubaFastR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2004, 09:33 PM   #178
masiolli
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 35840
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Youngstown, Oh
Vehicle:
1999 Blue RS-t
22t & Hydra

Default

why would i need to do that? it runs fine with the stock ECU...

or is this a software calibration for the Hydra?
masiolli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2004, 09:34 PM   #179
phattyduck
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 32955
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Pasadena, CA
Vehicle:
'03 WRX Wagon
'89 3S-GTE Alltrac Camry

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by masiolli
why would i need to do that? it runs fine with the stock ECU...

or is this a software calibration for the Hydra?
You have to do that with every aftermarket ECU - its part of the standard setup process.

-Charlie
phattyduck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2004, 09:39 PM   #180
SubaFastR
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 5786
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: RS202
Default

I totally hated that Hydra crap. I had to retune it on my way to work and then on my way home. Temp correction doesn't work well, and yes I know my sensor was working because Andrew Nam and I hooked it up in his garage. Tuning is a major pain in the ass due to only being able to change one cell at a time. My first harness was full of bugs and the car would hardly run after picking it up from Andrew's house, 10 miles down the road. He blamed my car's harness. After I showed him the pins in his harness were not sticking out, he finally made me a new harness. I had a Link Plus before this and never had any tuning issues. I loved that thing. I only changed over because I wanted AVCS heads. Huge mistake. F it, I'm doing a swap on my car and having I Speed reflash my ecu when I put my STi block and turbo in. I pick up my motor tomorrow.
SubaFastR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2004, 10:15 PM   #181
masiolli
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 35840
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Youngstown, Oh
Vehicle:
1999 Blue RS-t
22t & Hydra

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by phattyduck
You have to do that with every aftermarket ECU - its part of the standard setup process.

-Charlie

would that be the menu in the Hydra software select/settings/throttle and at the bottom it says TPS CAL Calibrate zero Calibrate WOT?
masiolli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2004, 10:18 PM   #182
HOK
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 447
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Oh Canada
Vehicle:
1999 EJ22T222B&EVO
Are we racing yet?

Default

yes... turn the car to ignition but don't turn it on. don't touch the throttle and press calibrate zero then press fully on the pedal and press calibrate WOT...
HOK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2004, 10:19 PM   #183
masiolli
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 35840
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Youngstown, Oh
Vehicle:
1999 Blue RS-t
22t & Hydra

Default

then it should start?
masiolli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2004, 02:28 AM   #184
SubaFastR
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 5786
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: RS202
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by masiolli
then it should start?
Can't say. Check the harness to see if all of the pins come out far enough. Mine were hit and miss. Andrew is actually rather famous for building bad harness'. The guys at Link USA groaned when I said he built my Link harness.
SubaFastR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2004, 12:05 AM   #185
HOK
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 447
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Oh Canada
Vehicle:
1999 EJ22T222B&EVO
Are we racing yet?

Default

Well i got it running and took a drive... the base map was very good. I was shocked.. Didn't think it would that good. I have logs .5 meg let me know if any of you want it...

didn't go on boost... as I was still trying to get the mechanical things worked out... but drove around for about 45 minutes, and washed the car. idles rock solid but I do stall now and then... need to work that out...

HOK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2004, 01:05 AM   #186
bboy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 56468
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
04 Improved STI
Dirty White

Default

HOK

I'm glad to hear that. Keep us posted.

SubaFastR

Contact Phil he was telling me there was new software that permitted changing more than one cell at a time. I couldn't even change one until he told me how. I'm just playing around though no tuning for me yet.
bboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2004, 01:21 AM   #187
HOK
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 447
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Oh Canada
Vehicle:
1999 EJ22T222B&EVO
Are we racing yet?

Default

whats this new software?

you can actually change an entire row of cells but only to one value.


The interaction isn't that great i agree... but the things you can do... sheesh..
HOK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2004, 03:44 PM   #188
STi_Drift
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 25759
Join Date: Oct 2002
Vehicle:
99 impreza
rally blue

Default

dammit! I am still waiting its been almost 2 months now! Damn Delphi and their connectors on backorder.
STi_Drift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 11:38 AM   #189
HOK
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 447
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Oh Canada
Vehicle:
1999 EJ22T222B&EVO
Are we racing yet?

Default

Spent the night till 2 am tuning.. fun fun fun...

Got most of the drivability problems out of the map... ride is good with no more stalling or stumbling. did a short 10 psi run on the new turbo... need to richen that sucker up hehe.

When you get used to the interface the usibility is not as bad as it seemed to me at first, because i was doing small and fine tuning changes... I would imagine if you needed to build a large portion of the map it would be a big PITA. I work in the IS industry and the words they use for download and upload really got me annoyed.. lol

But I have two recommendations, save every single map when you change a variable in settings. every time i changed the values in settings and uploaded to the ecu (download in thier language) the car shuts off and then i have to restart and download from the ecu.

I refuse to change multiple variables when i tune... it takes me more time, but I have a lot at stake and want to make doubly sure.

Also I have noticed that the stock knock sensor is useless. the knock threshold that i had to get it down to was so much I think I might as well turn off knock retard. Either something is wrong with my sensor or my tuning is so good it doesn;t even come close to knock.. yes i agree there is something wrong with the sensor. there was hardly any change registering on the knock map.

I have to say it: that manual sucks... big time
HOK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 03:42 PM   #190
Section 8
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 821
Join Date: Jan 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: "Like a hyena you are..."
Default

Can you give us a quick instruction set to get the map off of the ECU when it arrives and saved to the computer with their backwards, ECU is the center of the universe, jargon so we don't lose it immediatly by following convention?

Thank you,

Greg
Section 8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 08:39 PM   #191
SubaFastR
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 5786
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: RS202
Default

It is actually intuitive. Your laptop is physically above the ecu. You download to the ecu when you store and upload from the ecu when you begin.
SubaFastR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 10:19 PM   #192
turboICE
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 33979
Join Date: Mar 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: N.NJ
Vehicle:
2006 STi,'11 OBS
WRB & Black/Silver

Default

Intuitive is relative to your experiences and manner of working and thinking. Generally most would think of an upload as coming from the terminal (i.e. the i/o tool you are working from, in this case a laptop) and a download going to the terminal.
turboICE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 10:45 PM   #193
Jon [in CT]
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 2992
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Connecticut, USA
Vehicle:
02 WRX Sedan
Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SubaFastR
It is actually intuitive. Your laptop is physically above the ecu. You download to the ecu when you store and upload from the ecu when you begin.
Everything is relative to one's point of view and SubaFastR has offered a simple and effective "point of view" to use when dealing with the documentation associated with this ECU. Why does anyone consider this to be a problem? ECU's predate the internet and just maybe Microsoft got it's terminology wrong (for the first time?).
Jon [in CT] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 11:03 PM   #194
turboICE
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 33979
Join Date: Mar 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: N.NJ
Vehicle:
2006 STi,'11 OBS
WRB & Black/Silver

Default

I agree I don't see why it would be a problem as long as it is consistent and made somewhat clear in the terms' first usage. I would hope that the context in which the terms are first used would at least leave it clear which way the data should be flowing. But upload and download predate the internet and Microsoft.
turboICE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 02:53 AM   #195
HOK
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 447
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Oh Canada
Vehicle:
1999 EJ22T222B&EVO
Are we racing yet?

Default

If you have seen the software the buttons say "upload from" and "download to". The terms are incorrect. and welcome to 2004. jeez. sometimes this board I tell you.

Those term are wrong even in 1978. They are upload to ( a smaller medium to a larger medium) and download from (a cargo plane). I think the terms by now should be understood.

anyways... I've been thinking whether or not to write some sort of document for this thing... but i'm beginning to have reservations.
HOK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 10:12 AM   #196
Eraz3r
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 25446
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: bloomington, IL
Vehicle:
2005 Nissan 350z
silverstone

Default

www.dictionary.com

Upload: to send data to a central server
Download: to get data from a central server

Being that the lap top in the case of the ecu would be the "central server" you would be downloading the map to the ecu.

despite all that, i have to agree... being an IS dork myself i tend to use the term Upload because i think of sending any data outside my workstation regardless of the various mediums as an upload, even if its not technically correct by the dictionary... all my geek friends understand. lol
Eraz3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 12:29 PM   #197
CK02WRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 27859
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Winder, GA
Vehicle:
2002 EJ257 w/CP's
8cmFP Red, RA 5spd, Hydra

Smile

Maybe it's some strange Canadian dialect.
CK02WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 12:48 PM   #198
Zola
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 16876
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: St Paul, MN
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
WR Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Jon [in CT]
Why does anyone consider this to be a problem?
It's not a problem, it's nitpicking...an activity with which you ought to be intimately familiar.

So the Aussies who put it together screwed up their terminology, who cares? It's not as though it's a huge stumbling block to actually using the UTEC.

By the way, I agree about the woefully substandard manual. Of course they have other things that keep them busy but there is something to be said for spending a bit of money to hire a technical writer who produces documentation for a living.
Zola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 01:12 PM   #199
zzyzx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 815
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Florida
Vehicle:
2013 Boss 302 White
2000 2.5 RS Coupe Silver

Question

I have a question about the datalogs. What format(s) can you save the datalogs in? Is there an option to save it as a simple tab delimited text file?

Thanks,

- Steve
zzyzx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 03:02 PM   #200
SubaFastR
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 5786
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: RS202
Default

The ecu is designed by a Chinese man and Singaporean. They have it made in Asia somewhere. No Aussies were used...since we are having so much fun nitpicking here

Last edited by SubaFastR; 07-04-2004 at 12:50 PM.
SubaFastR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: $420 SHIPPEDD !!Hydra Nemesis 2.0 with 2.14 2002-2005 WRX. Stand Alone ECU OBO! kokopuffs405 Engine/Power/Exhaust 18 12-10-2009 11:19 AM
FS: Hydra Nemesis 2.0 with 2.14 software for a 2002-2005 WRX. Stand Alone ECU OBO! kokopuffs405 MAIC Private Classifieds 17 12-10-2009 11:19 AM
Hydra/Nemesis 2.17r1 help for a n00b swilson Other Engine Management 24 01-22-2006 12:16 PM
Hydra Nemesis 2.0? NorCal11.7 Other Engine Management 5 11-23-2004 07:17 PM
Need help developing PNP HYDRA Nemesis 2.0 ecu for 99-02 2.5RS HydraEMS-NA Other Engine Management 1 02-17-2004 11:40 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.