Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday September 30, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Archives > NASIOC Archives > Technical Forum Archive

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-14-2000, 11:47 PM   #1
Keith
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 191
Join Date: Aug 1999
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Brooklyn
Vehicle:
2012 J train
Brown

Post swaybar install question, "don't lift the car" why?

I saw on the instructions for the whiteline bar and it says NOT to lift the car when you install the bar. I was wondering why not, what happens if you do. I think my installer might have lifted the car, and I want to know if there any bad effect that this can cause. Thanks
Keith
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Keith is offline  
Old 05-15-2000, 12:57 AM   #2
STi Sev
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2876
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: South San Francisco, CA.
Vehicle:
99 Impreza
Rally Blue Pearl

Question

I dont understand that?
we lifted my car on sway bar install a long long time ago
STi Sev is offline  
Old 05-15-2000, 01:01 AM   #3
Tarmac RS
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 1020
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Russia with Love
Post

I think the only reason would be at one of the settings you will have a hard time getting the bolt into one of the sets of holes on the adjustable bar if the suspension is hanging all the way down.

You wouldnt have hurt anything by raising the car.
Tarmac RS is offline  
Old 05-15-2000, 06:19 AM   #4
ColinL
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 114
Join Date: Jul 1999
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Wichita, KS and Whoring, OT
Vehicle:
'03 Evo, Rice White
'01 Erion CBR 929

Post

The swaybar resists the independant operation of the suspension, in fact on Aphex's car with the SPO 21mm bar (comes with metal links) we couldn't reassemble the suspension until we unbolted the swaybar.

If the car is off the ground, the swaybar will be harder to install, trust me.
ColinL is offline  
Old 05-15-2000, 07:34 AM   #5
8Complex

Moderator
 
Member#: 922
Join Date: Feb 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Schaumburg, IL
Vehicle:
04 FXT
Red

Post

If you lift the car, the angle of the suspension arms change and the fork where the endlink fits into is at a different angle then as when it is just sitting there. When you try bolting it up after lifting it, you will notice that one of the bolts is a real pain to get in because the angle has changed too much for a straight shot through. You can, however, lift the car up on one of the platform lifts they use for oil changes so your car is still sitting on it's wheels the whole time.

As a side note, I lifted mine up to install it (cause I was oblivious to the fact at the time) and now my sway bar seems to be preloaded upwards (pushing against the springs) so it was tought to switch endlinks from the MRT ones to the OEM ones (I was borrowing te MRT ones) since the MRT ones were a good 1/4 to 1/2" longer from hole to hole.
8Complex is offline  
Old 05-15-2000, 09:52 AM   #6
josh
Guest
 
Member#:
Post

I have installed three of four sway bars, all with the car on jackstands. I had NO trouble of any kind lining anything up. It was easy. Even My 21mm SPO bar was easy. Everything lined up great.

josh
 
Old 05-15-2000, 11:20 AM   #7
Aphex
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 146
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: Wahcheeta, KS
Vehicle:
'05 Legacy GT
Silver

Post

Colin is right, you should have seen the rear suspension DROP after we unbolted the sway bar from the link, you can attatch the sway bar to the frame while in the air, but in order to attatch the sway bar to the end links, it needs to be on the ground.

the best way to do it is to back up on ramps, it's up in the air, but the suspension is up like it's on the ground. (that's how I did my 21mm bar w/ solid end links.)
Aphex is offline  
Old 05-15-2000, 11:41 AM   #8
boxerman
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 644
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Hoboken, NJ, USA
Post

I have been told that swaybars are to be installed with absolutely no preload. If you install when the car is in the air, then when you put it back on the ground you probrably will have preloaded one or the other side, because the L/R weight differences.

When this happens the bar has an unequal left and right rate and will act differently when you turn left or right. This differrence may be small, but it is something you do not want. I got this advice from track guys who will drive right up to the edge where slight differences like this might matter.

Tim

Tim
boxerman is offline  
Old 05-16-2000, 12:36 AM   #9
Dan00RS
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 1367
Join Date: Apr 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Cleveland, OH, USA
Vehicle:
2000 Impreza 2.5RS
Blue Ridge Pearl

Post

I have seen sway bars installed at the factory (Ford Ohio Truck plant on the Villagers), and when they install them the car is on the carrier and off the ground. I don't understand why the wouldn't have you lift the car. You don't want any preload.
Dan00RS is offline  
Old 05-16-2000, 01:10 AM   #10
Keith
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 191
Join Date: Aug 1999
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Brooklyn
Vehicle:
2012 J train
Brown

Post

Thanks for the info guys I just wanted to make sure that mine wasnt installed incorrectly..I wouldnt be to happy if that was the case
Keith
Keith is offline  
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.