Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday July 11, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Miscellaneous > Off-Topic

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-20-2004, 02:44 PM   #1
Trizzle
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 38039
Join Date: Jun 2003
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Bend, OR
Vehicle:
1984 VW Westfalia
with EJ25 Power

Default Just got my new laptop... using my neighbor's net connection

I just got my laptop (Dell Inspiron 8600, 15.4" SXGA+, 1.4 Centrino, DVD+RW ) and it found a wireless net connection. I am assuming i must be connected to one of my neighbors' wireless routers, how cool is that!


I have wondered about that before. Ya know, like if lots of people in nearby homes, or even more so, in an apartment complex, have wireless routers, wouldn't all their lines be getting crossed? I'm sure they must have secure connections or login/passwords or something that can be enabled to prevent that. Apparently the neighbors haven't done it though.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Trizzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2004, 02:48 PM   #2
piker28
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 22664
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: north nj
Default

to be honest most people wont even think about it cause unless you are downloading a ton you arent slowing down their connection at all
piker28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2004, 02:50 PM   #3
Compressed
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 12271
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Colorado
Vehicle:
2012 4Runner TE
KDSS!

Default

nows the time to download everything you want since its from their ip

Compressed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2004, 02:51 PM   #4
BrandonC
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 5390
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Scotia, NY
Vehicle:
2007 Mazdaspeed3 GT
Black Mica

Default

Yes, you can secure your wireless connection. You can set it up so anyone can see it, but needs the password to connect. You can also set it up so that no one can see it....I think you have to know the name of it or something to connect to it.

Lucky for you, your neighbors haven't done that! Nice.
BrandonC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2004, 02:54 PM   #5
Trizzle
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 38039
Join Date: Jun 2003
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Bend, OR
Vehicle:
1984 VW Westfalia
with EJ25 Power

Default

hmm, apparently they're on dial up. Maybe not, but whatever it is, it's very slow. Time to dig out a spare cat-5 and plug into my hub the old fashioned way.

Actually, i'll do that later, right now i'm off to the library to 'study'.

Any suggestions for a good small, wireless, 3 button + scroll wheel mouse?
Trizzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2004, 02:55 PM   #6
chkltcow
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 10814
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Stanley, NC
Vehicle:
'13 ToyobaruFRZ-86
97 Miata M

Default

I hear Logitech makes a good wireless mouse Just ask around OT about it
chkltcow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2004, 02:57 PM   #7
LotusDriftx
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 48528
Join Date: Nov 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: That guy w/the hot LARP costum
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trizzle
hmm, apparently they're on dial up. Maybe not, but whatever it is, it's very slow. Time to dig out a spare cat-5 and plug into my hub the old fashioned way.

Actually, i'll do that later, right now i'm off to the library to 'study'.

Any suggestions for a good small, wireless, 3 button + scroll wheel mouse?
Its wireless, the power goes down as you get further away from the accesspoint (meaning the slower the connection).
LotusDriftx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2004, 03:28 PM   #8
Jessie James
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2072
Join Date: Aug 2000
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Out of my mind
Default

Get a Cantenna and point it around to improve your signal. Of course, that defeats the whole purpose of wireless.

Check bensbargains.net for deals on wireless hubs. I picked up a Belkin one for $9.99 after a $50 mail in rebate.
Jessie James is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2004, 03:37 PM   #9
tommy2hotty
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 47977
Join Date: Nov 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Manhattan KS
Vehicle:
2008 M3

Default

yea you can drive around and find people who havent encrypted their routers... then you can do **** to their computer if you want... its really interesting what you can do
tommy2hotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2004, 03:38 PM   #10
LotusDriftx
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 48528
Join Date: Nov 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: That guy w/the hot LARP costum
Default

Yes a large gain antenna would do it, but if you already have your own connection and aren't a leet hax0r biAtch, then don't worry about.
LotusDriftx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2004, 03:48 PM   #11
Danny5
The Emperor Protects
Moderator
 
Member#: 13
Join Date: Jun 1999
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Glendale, AZ
Vehicle:
2014 Chevy Cruze
Diesel

Default

I secured my wireless network through Mac Address specification. If you're wireless card isn't physically typed into my router as a known good PC, then you get the big DENIED!

Not that my access really extends much beyond my house...

-Danny
Danny5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2004, 03:59 PM   #12
SouthShoreBaja
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 50658
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: out in left field
Vehicle:
2006 2.5RS
Aspen White

Default

Congrats! Welcome to the 8600 family.

As far as wireless mouse, i grabbed the Logitech MX700 and give it an A+.

It has 7 buttons plus the wheel.
SouthShoreBaja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2004, 04:03 PM   #13
V6TurboTA
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 9090
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: < of Boston
Vehicle:
09 Forester Gump
02WRX->04STi->09Gump

Default

Good luck with your Dell... mine sucks..

~v6
V6TurboTA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2004, 04:03 PM   #14
MattDell
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16803
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: International
Location: London, England
Default

I live in a rural area, so I just leave my wireless router public.
MattDell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2004, 04:04 PM   #15
Protege Menace
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 41950
Join Date: Aug 2003
Chapter/Region: International
Location: www.faqurug.com
Vehicle:
faq u rug

Default

how would the RIAA handle something like that?

if someone got caught but claims no one used kazaa and riaa foud out their wireless was open to the public (because the owners werent smart enought o lock it down)

would that be a good exceuse? hackers?
Protege Menace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2004, 04:06 PM   #16
tbert
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 43357
Join Date: Sep 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: unwrapped
Vehicle:
2004 Smug 46MPG
2006 Clown Car

Default

Some guy I know secured his wireless network so much (AirPort Extreme) that even he couldn't get on it himself

tbert
tbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2004, 05:44 PM   #17
Trizzle
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 38039
Join Date: Jun 2003
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Bend, OR
Vehicle:
1984 VW Westfalia
with EJ25 Power

Default

I looked at the fancy pants logitech wireless mouse, and feature-wise, it's great. However, it and its receiver are larger than i want to carry around with me. The guy at circuit city told me that all the other wireless mice (the small ones made for laptops had a range of about 18 inches to MAYBE 3 feet at best. That sucks.

What i want is a small mouse, with one of those tiny USB key sized receivers, 2 normal buttons, an "IE Back" button, and a scroll wheel. And i want it to have enough range so that i can control the laptop from my bed while watching DVD movies--about 10 feet (The Big Lebowski can put me to sleep every night! ).
Trizzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2004, 05:50 PM   #18
boomtonic
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 27231
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Glendale, CA
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Protege Menace
how would the RIAA handle something like that?

if someone got caught but claims no one used kazaa and riaa foud out their wireless was open to the public (because the owners werent smart enought o lock it down)

would that be a good exceuse? hackers?
Innocent until proven guilty? How could they PROVE that you weren't wardriven by someone else? Sounds like reasonable doubt to me...unless of course you had eleventybillion MP3's on your machine, kazaa installed, etc.
boomtonic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2004, 05:55 PM   #19
wrxpunk53
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 48001
Join Date: Nov 2003
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Galveston/College Station, TX
Default

I have the logitech wireless MX duo..

it works like 30 feet away..but it would be a little much for a laptop..
wrxpunk53 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2004, 05:56 PM   #20
Bottom Feeder
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2808
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Occupied Virginia
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by tommy2hotty
yea you can drive around and find people who havent encrypted their routers... then you can do **** to their computer if you want... its really interesting what you can do
Yeah, and we all know how cool it is to screw with people.
Bottom Feeder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2004, 05:57 PM   #21
WRSport
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2060
Join Date: Aug 2000
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Bay Area
Vehicle:
00 2.5RS Coupe
01 black boxster hardtop

Default

Use a bluetooth wireless mouse.
WRSport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2004, 05:57 PM   #22
V6TurboTA
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 9090
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: < of Boston
Vehicle:
09 Forester Gump
02WRX->04STi->09Gump

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trizzle

And i want it to have enough range so that i can control the laptop from my bed while watching DVD movies--about 10 feet (The Big Lebowski can put me to sleep every night! ).
[cheesy pr0n music] riiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiight [/cheesy pr0n music]

~v6
V6TurboTA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2004, 05:57 PM   #23
Stanley
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 7374
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: North Bay, SFCA
Vehicle:
2007 Grandpamobile
BlingBlingBlue

Default

I had a dream where I shared a single broadband account with a few neighbors via a wireless access point. Of course this was only a dream as it violates the user agreement with a hypothetical DSL provider...
Stanley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2004, 06:04 PM   #24
Drift Monkey
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 41227
Join Date: Aug 2003
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Houston, TX
Vehicle:
2005 Legacy 2.5GT
Garnet Red Pearl

Default

Would repeater work to extend the signal further out? If so...
Drift Monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2004, 06:23 PM   #25
en3d
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 5238
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Bay Area, CA
Vehicle:
GGA Black

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DannyRS
I secured my wireless network through Mac Address specification. If you're wireless card isn't physically typed into my router as a known good PC, then you get the big DENIED!

Not that my access really extends much beyond my house...

-Danny

MAC addy list is easiest way to lock things down. also, limit your DHCP scope.
en3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No more use of the phrase: "Thanks! I just got (a liquid) all over my screen!" eurojax Off-Topic 40 10-28-2005 08:02 PM
Just got my new Baja Turbo!! wrk king New England Impreza Club Forum -- NESIC 47 04-06-2004 09:43 PM
So my buddy just got a new car Cardiff Giant New England Impreza Club Forum -- NESIC 1 12-20-2003 05:22 PM
My brother just got a new m3 VSM EXtasy Mid Atlantic Impreza Club -- MAIC 61 04-22-2003 04:58 PM
My CA friends just got their new race car crazyhorse South East Region Forum 6 03-22-2003 02:40 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.