Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday April 16, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Subaru Conversions

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-09-2004, 11:43 PM   #1
ImprezaRSfan!
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 13520
Join Date: Dec 2001
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Springfield, VA
Vehicle:
99rs ej207 spec-c
its for sale

Default wiring help for my motor *pics*

well i looked at my motor today and realized all the wiring on the engine is intact and nothing is cut! Everything is hooked up, that means everything that would not permit the engine to be attached to the chassis. The only spot where its cut, is at the brown/gray SMJ connector? along with another harness next to it.
Like so in the pic


And the harness over by the turbo.


Thats the only thing i found to be cut, other than the throttle cable. So do i really need to shell out 500 bucks for a complete sti chassis wiring harness or can i just extend the cut wires and splice them into the sti harness?


Dont laugh at this but is this mainly what i have to wire ? I cant just put in the jdm ecu in and call it a day because all the sensors and wires and connectors and different size,shape, colors, purposes etc. But do i just need to wire the RS bulk harness up so that it goes to the STi ecu?

Like B20 on RS harness is crankshaft position sensor, and B10 is crankshaft position sensor on wrx/jdm ecu so i solder those wires at the shown pic?

Again dont laugh
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
ImprezaRSfan! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2004, 07:18 AM   #2
PHATsuby
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 13617
Join Date: Dec 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: MN
Vehicle:
2001 Legacy GT back
to stock is a project too

Default



best diagram EVAR!!!

you seem to have it correct but im not sure because that diagram is so awesome!!

Ben
PHATsuby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2004, 11:49 AM   #3
ImprezaRSfan!
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 13520
Join Date: Dec 2001
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Springfield, VA
Vehicle:
99rs ej207 spec-c
its for sale

Default

so then why would i need to pull off the dash ?
ImprezaRSfan! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2004, 12:52 PM   #4
PHATsuby
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 13617
Join Date: Dec 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: MN
Vehicle:
2001 Legacy GT back
to stock is a project too

Default

wait so you have a v8 ecu?


you would need to pull of the dash to put in the rest of the wiring, because you need wires to go from the engine harness to the ecu and it will connect to the speedo and stuff, which you may have an issue with, plus running all the wiring.

i dont know, im no expert in the swap department, if i saw a wiring diagram i could help more, but i dont even think your RS ecu harness will connect to the V8 ecu will it? that is the problem, your V8 ecu needs wires for the avcs, TGV's, TBW, etc...which your current RS harness doesnt have. you may have empty slots to put them, but its still prob not gonna plug into the V8 ecu, unless you have already checked.

like i said i cant really tell from your wiring diagram but from you typed about the crankshaft sensor, you have the right idea, you need to match those up.

Ben
PHATsuby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2004, 03:27 PM   #5
ImprezaRSfan!
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 13520
Join Date: Dec 2001
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Springfield, VA
Vehicle:
99rs ej207 spec-c
its for sale

Default

i *think* i know what im doing
ImprezaRSfan! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2004, 04:11 PM   #6
dwx
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 8343
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Atlanta, GA
Vehicle:
2005 2012 Jeep
2013 DGM BRZ

Default

Is the engine a V8 (twin-scroll) engine or what? The V8 JDM engine has NO TGVS and is NOT throttle-by-wire. The only thing you'd have to run are AVCS sensor/solenoid wires.

Do you have the ECU connectors for the STI ECU? You could theoretically re-use the wires in your RS chassis harness for the wiring, but I don't know if there are enough wires.
dwx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2004, 05:14 PM   #7
DeusExMachina
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 13485
Join Date: Dec 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Denver, CO
Vehicle:
OMG EJ22T
FTW

Default

No, no. You've got it all wrong. It goes like this:

DeusExMachina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2004, 06:43 PM   #8
akcel
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 10268
Join Date: Sep 2001
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego
Vehicle:
gc8 I ride ride 24s
with the top down low.

Default

lol
akcel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2004, 09:07 PM   #9
ImprezaRSfan!
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 13520
Join Date: Dec 2001
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Springfield, VA
Vehicle:
99rs ej207 spec-c
its for sale

Default





thats my twinscroll v.8 jdm ecu. Woudlnt i just be able to splice the harness part where its slashed into the RS harness if i slash it at the same spot? THen i wont have to pull the dash and anything? Maybe run some wires for avcs and thats it?

What am i missing? It seems like this will take lots of time but it looks pretty easy just very time consuming.
ImprezaRSfan! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2004, 09:20 PM   #10
serious
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22879
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: missoula , montana
Default

For what it's worth, take out the dash. It will take you all of two hours to yank it and will make things go sooooo much smoother. Your wirring will be much more professional and you won't hate your car once you're done.
Another option you might want to look into is getting a complete 02+ wrx harness and making it run with that with intergration into your rs harness.
This is what i'm doing with my legacy. 2002 wrx harness and swapping the tumble generator wires around and adding the 4 wires for the magnetic pick sensors. I think there is one more wire that is something like a intake temp sensor you have to hook up.
B
serious is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need your help for my motor ... darko Built Motor Discussion 5 01-26-2009 02:07 PM
Help direct me for my motor/turbo route pulser9 Factory 2.5L Turbo Powertrain 1 06-25-2008 02:28 PM
Anyone around? Help diagnose my motor moss Mid Atlantic Impreza Club -- MAIC 22 07-18-2006 09:21 AM
Help diagnose my motor issues moss Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 11 07-17-2006 10:26 PM
Need help identifying my motor ej20g jparent33 Subaru Conversions 4 02-22-2005 04:12 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.