Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday September 2, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
Vancouver Impreza Club
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Chapters > Vancouver Impreza Club Forum -- VIC

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-21-2004, 12:57 AM   #1
Alfa
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 10178
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Richmond, BC
Vehicle:
2012 Forester
Ice Silver

Default CEL problem: Subaru orders new me ECU

I received a CEL a couple of days ago, not knowing what was the cause
because my car has and is still running fine. I took it to the dealer.
Diagnose was a faulty ECU, they said they will order a new one, with modifications to it. Thats all they said. Nothing about my mods.

I've been reading threads on a faulty 02 sensor.
"Check engine light, caused by map sensor failor/problems
- Subaru has defective map sensors in general."

I'm not sure if that is my problem.
Anyone here have this problem here with there CEL.
Do you think they will blame my mods when the ECU arrives and gets installed.

(Also without telling me they changed the cruise control clips/recall!
Everything was under warranty.)


Alfa
WRX sedan 2002
PDE Upipe
STI intercooler
intake
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Alfa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2004, 02:26 AM   #2
Tricky
Tu ne cede malis sed contra audentior ito
Moderator
 
Member#: 28960
Join Date: Nov 2002
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Burnaby, BC CDN
Vehicle:
2002 Stock WRX Wagon
MBP with door dings

Default

I had the same thing too. Replaced my ECU. When I saw your post i thought "that's gotta be another 02".
Who's the dealership? DD? I had no probs with them so far, Andrea is very cool. (My CEL was a MISFIRE.) Apparently a known problem with the MY02s...
Tricky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2004, 02:52 AM   #3
aawen
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 27167
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: 604
Vehicle:
2015 FXT
DGM

Default

so i'm still da 2 ecu replaced recorder
aawen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2004, 03:48 AM   #4
Happy_Days
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 35049
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Vancouver BC
Vehicle:
2011 Mercedes C63
OE Tune 538/500

Default Re: CEL problem: Subaru orders new me ECU

Quote:
Originally posted by Alfa
I received a CEL a couple of days ago, not knowing what was the cause
because my car has and is still running fine. I took it to the dealer.
Diagnose was a faulty ECU, they said they will order a new one, with modifications to it. Thats all they said. Nothing about my mods.

I've been reading threads on a faulty 02 sensor.
"Check engine light, caused by map sensor failor/problems
- Subaru has defective map sensors in general."

I'm not sure if that is my problem.
Anyone here have this problem here with there CEL.
Do you think they will blame my mods when the ECU arrives and gets installed.

(Also without telling me they changed the cruise control clips/recall!
Everything was under warranty.)


Alfa
WRX sedan 2002
PDE Upipe
STI intercooler
intake
I'm surprised your untuned intake hasn't blown up your engine yet.

Do you have a boost guage?
Happy_Days is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2004, 02:17 PM   #5
AllWheelDrift
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 9191
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Vancouver, BC
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza 2.5TS
Blue Ridge Pearl

Default

My car just threw a CEL last night.
AllWheelDrift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2004, 02:51 PM   #6
Happy_Days
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 35049
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Vancouver BC
Vehicle:
2011 Mercedes C63
OE Tune 538/500

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AllWheelDrift
My car just threw a CEL last night.
sorry to hear that bro ... get the codes pulled quick!
Happy_Days is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2004, 04:26 PM   #7
AllWheelDrift
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 9191
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Vancouver, BC
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza 2.5TS
Blue Ridge Pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Happy_Days
sorry to hear that bro ... get the codes pulled quick!
I hope to borrow and OBD2 cable tonight and pull them myself.
AllWheelDrift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2004, 04:58 PM   #8
scoobysport
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1671
Join Date: Jun 2000
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: White Rock
Vehicle:
'02 '13 WRX
WRB

Default

I had my ECU replaced less than 6 monthe after buying my car (March 2001). I was getting a faulty vent control solonoid CEL code. No problems since.

Brian
scoobysport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2004, 06:23 PM   #9
tony_subaru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22742
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Kelowna, BC
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Happy_Days
I'm surprised your untuned intake hasn't blown up your engine yet.

Do you have a boost guage?

Whats wrong with having an intake? It shouldn't kill the motor heh
tony_subaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2004, 06:37 PM   #10
Happy_Days
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 35049
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Vancouver BC
Vehicle:
2011 Mercedes C63
OE Tune 538/500

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by tony_subaru
Whats wrong with having an intake? It shouldn't kill the motor heh
read his car model
Happy_Days is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2004, 01:36 AM   #11
Alfa
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 10178
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Richmond, BC
Vehicle:
2012 Forester
Ice Silver

Default Intake

Hey Happy Days,

I haven't heard anything about intakes causing problems or damage.
Plus I do have a boost guage. Tell us!

I'm glad to hear I'm not alone.

Alfa


Quote:
Whats wrong with having an intake? It shouldn't kill the motor heh
Alfa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2004, 02:17 AM   #12
Happy_Days
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 35049
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Vancouver BC
Vehicle:
2011 Mercedes C63
OE Tune 538/500

Default Re: Intake

Quote:
Originally posted by Alfa
Hey Happy Days,

I haven't heard anything about intakes causing problems or damage.
Plus I do have a boost guage. Tell us!

I'm glad to hear I'm not alone.

Alfa
Not to personally pick on you, I would have gotten an intake if I knew it did something benficial to the car.

As of what I've researched there are only 2 short ram intakes that match the STOCK intake diameter and allows the stock MAF sensor to read correctly.

For ones that don't match stock diameter... you end up giving false MAF readings to the sensor.. and the car doesnt know when to give more gas... or more air.

Do a search.. I've found pages and pages of stuff regarding this, and they will definately explain it a lot better than I will.

Even the ones that match the stock diameter, I've read that if you aren't going big power (350bhp+) you will never need an intake for the WRX (STI is another story). And it's just more of a sound mod than anything else.
Happy_Days is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2004, 02:56 AM   #13
SubaruBen
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 20948
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Vancouver
Vehicle:
04 STi
Snow Plower

Default

also to add to what happy_days has found..

You could also buy a filter replacement that replaces the stockbox but still retains the stock intake pipe (cause of it's DIAMETER) all the way through to the stock turbo inlet.

Again, it's more of a sound mod.


This is just a company's opinion but it's a good read:

http://www.cobbtuning.com/tech/airflow/index.html



Edit:

Also wondering if you're running a bit under stock boost because of using the STI intercooler without a larger turbo or proper ECU re-tuning.

Last edited by SubaruBen; 05-22-2004 at 04:21 AM.
SubaruBen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2004, 12:01 PM   #14
tony_subaru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22742
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Kelowna, BC
Default

No ecu reflashes allow you to use an intake. But, if you don't get your ecu reflashed....an intake isn't going to blow up your motor. Just think about it.....more air into a motor isn't going to blow it up. It might not give your ecu the correct readings, but it's still gonna give you the cool noise and a bit of power if your lucky.
tony_subaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2004, 12:51 PM   #15
Happy_Days
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 35049
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Vancouver BC
Vehicle:
2011 Mercedes C63
OE Tune 538/500

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by tony_subaru
No ecu reflashes allow you to use an intake. But, if you don't get your ecu reflashed....an intake isn't going to blow up your motor. Just think about it.....more air into a motor isn't going to blow it up. It might not give your ecu the correct readings, but it's still gonna give you the cool noise and a bit of power if your lucky.
haha... again, you're talking about NA cars. If you're interested in finding out more, do a search on CAI or short rams. I don't want this to turn into a debate.

and Yes, there are custom flashes that companies offer for aftermarket intakes, but usually they will note that you need your stock intake for their off-the-shelf flashes.

If you don't want to bother reading the Cobb link Subaruben has posted up, simply go to the 2.0 litre forum and make a new thread saying "Which Intake Should I Get?" .. and you will be given tons of links saying why you shouldn't or you'll just be flammed.
Happy_Days is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2004, 01:05 PM   #16
AllWheelDrift
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 9191
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Vancouver, BC
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza 2.5TS
Blue Ridge Pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by tony_subaru
Just think about it.....more air into a motor isn't going to blow it up.
More air without more fuel = lean

You're not going to try and tell me that running lean isn't bad for an engine, are you?
AllWheelDrift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2004, 11:51 PM   #17
tony_subaru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22742
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Kelowna, BC
Default

Well in town there are about 12 cars that I can count that have had over 50,000 km on them that have an aftermarket intake....I know it should lean out things and isn't the best...but their motors are running perfectly fine. Any reason why?
tony_subaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2004, 12:29 AM   #18
Happy_Days
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 35049
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Vancouver BC
Vehicle:
2011 Mercedes C63
OE Tune 538/500

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by tony_subaru
Well in town there are about 12 cars that I can count that have had over 50,000 km on them that have an aftermarket intake....I know it should lean out things and isn't the best...but their motors are running perfectly fine. Any reason why?
Are they turbo-charged 2002 - 2004 Subaru Impreza WRX's? (not STI)
Happy_Days is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2004, 01:27 PM   #19
tony_subaru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22742
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Kelowna, BC
Default

yah most of them are 02 wrx's. There about 3 03 wrx's, and theres one 04 wrx and one 04 sti. Otherwise the other 7-8 are 02's.
tony_subaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2004, 01:36 PM   #20
Happy_Days
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 35049
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Vancouver BC
Vehicle:
2011 Mercedes C63
OE Tune 538/500

Default

Well if they just replaced the stock snorkel piece and put in a cone filter or something (which still uses the stock MAF housing) they will be fine, with extra noise.

Common aftermarket CAI's or Short-rams that replace the MAF housing with a greater diameter will cause you to run lean, and will eventually lead to engine damage.

So you won't actually know if they have the complete intake or just the cone unless you ask or look at it.
Happy_Days is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2004, 11:40 PM   #21
tony_subaru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22742
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Kelowna, BC
Default

No their complete intakes. The majority of them are AEM CAI or Short rams.
tony_subaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2004, 02:54 PM   #22
AllWheelDrift
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 9191
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Vancouver, BC
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza 2.5TS
Blue Ridge Pearl

Default

Took my car in today and it was the front O2 sensor (I already knew as I'd pulled the code.) Anyhow, they just called me and told me it was the oygen sensor and that the replaced it under warranty.
AllWheelDrift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2004, 05:19 PM   #23
spyd3rr
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 59019
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Houston
Vehicle:
2004 WRX STi
Aspen White

Default

which intake are you using?

and Happy_days, which two intakes are you talking about that match the stock diameter?
spyd3rr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2004, 06:22 PM   #24
Kevin
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1082
Join Date: Mar 2000
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Vancouver, BC
Vehicle:
2014 Fiesta ST
Orange of course

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by tony_subaru
I know it should lean out things and isn't the best...but their motors are running perfectly fine. Any reason why?
.... because they just doddle around town and never go WOT for more than 14 seconds at a time?
Kevin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2004, 07:21 PM   #25
Happy_Days
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 35049
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Vancouver BC
Vehicle:
2011 Mercedes C63
OE Tune 538/500

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by spyd3rr
which intake are you using?

and Happy_days, which two intakes are you talking about that match the stock diameter?
This is an over debated topic. By simply typing CAI or anything to have to do with intakes into *search*, people can read about its potential damages.

I believe it's Perrin and TXS's intake that retain stock diameter. But those are shortrams... which = hot air intake.
Happy_Days is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pre-Order NEW NEW NEW Flat Black Advan RS-D!! SpeedElement Wheels/Tires 3 12-04-2009 02:08 PM
help me get back in touch with my inner subaru - whats new for the STI in 2007 jmott Texas Impreza Club Forum -- TXIC 34 06-09-2006 05:05 PM
ATTN OT music snobs & art ****: doing a mail order, reccomend me some new music doubledribble Off-Topic 45 09-08-2005 06:33 PM
Announcing a New Community for Subaru Do-It-Yourself ECU Tuners wackie Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 17 10-05-2002 04:33 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.