Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday March 5, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Archives > NASIOC Archives > Technical Forum Archive

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-18-2000, 08:39 AM   #1
TMR Impreza
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 168
Join Date: Aug 1999
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Pedro
Vehicle:
2011 M3 and 328i
white and black

Question Has anyone removed the stock Knock sensor??

Just wondering if anyone has??

www.wonderlan.com/~hksupra
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
TMR Impreza is offline  
Old 05-18-2000, 11:04 AM   #2
cvalle-sd
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 420
Join Date: Oct 1999
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: The LBC, CA, USA
Vehicle:
2001 Cr-V
Silver

Question

You know, considering we're using the ITC and the AFC - why not? Are you thinking about another sensor, or going without (a little sketchy, maybe) I'm wondering if the knock sensor triggers because of my advanced timing. I'd like to have some indication of knock without the ECU necessarily getting in on the action. - there's gotta be more power in there.
cvalle-sd is offline  
Old 05-18-2000, 12:24 PM   #3
MPREZYA
SCIC
Moderator
 
Member#: 85
Join Date: Jul 1999
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: www.themonkeystrunk.com
Post

Chris I can see you right now with a modified stethascope attached to the cylinder head run to the interior of the car driving around listening for knock while crusing. (I know that this could work but why do it?) TMR I need to talk to you as I want to get some parts from you! E-mail us2only@msn.com or call me as I want to try and get them this weekend if possible.
Rich
MPREZYA is offline  
Old 05-18-2000, 03:50 PM   #4
SKiDaZZLe
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 19
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Dallas, TX
Post

removing knock sensor causes limp-home mode. if you find away around this, then you're set.

michael
SKiDaZZLe is offline  
Old 05-18-2000, 04:40 PM   #5
mjos
Guest
 
Member#:
Post

Although I wouldn't recommend it you could just remove the Knock Sensor, plug the hole and then zip tie it(still plugged in) to a wiring harness. I would try the rubber isolator first if I were going to remove mine..which I'm not.

Mark
99' RSt
 
Old 05-18-2000, 04:53 PM   #6
shiv
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 607
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Post

Mark,

I don't think that will work. I beleive the stock ECU requires some type of active signal from the knock sensor to keep it out of limp home. I could be wrong though...

shiv
shiv is offline  
Old 05-18-2000, 05:54 PM   #7
Trey
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 670
Join Date: Dec 1999
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Austin, the Republic of Texas
Post

You might also try measuring the resistance across the sensor and just unplug the harness from the sensor and plug in the proper resistor to the harness. I don't know the resistance off the top of my head but it shouldn't take more than a few seconds to find out. The computer will think it's there and I don't think it would throw any codes but I haven't tried it yet.

We use to do that all the time with RX-7s after installing a J&S. The stock knock sensor sometimes reacts to things that aren't really knock. I'd put more faith in the J&S anyday.

And hey, if you have J&S, you could put your sensor right in the stock location. Maybe Subaru found that to be the "optimal" knock sensing location...who knows!

Have fun,
Trey
CobbTuning.com
Trey is offline  
Old 05-19-2000, 07:52 PM   #8
WhiteCoupe
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 1510
Join Date: May 2000
Location: granby, Canada, Quebec
Question

Remove the knock sensor from it's original place.

Try to connect a wire directly from the negative pole of your baterry to the knock sensor.


It will works......

Martin
WhiteCoupe is offline  
 

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tapping the stock knock sensor, will this work? Ziggyrama Commercial ECU Reflashes 9 06-12-2007 08:02 PM
can the stock knock sensor be used for knocklink? blackie Engine Management & Tuning 3 08-24-2004 03:22 PM
Reading the Stock Knock Sensor subachad Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain 5 01-22-2004 03:12 AM
Essay on the stock knock sensor, DeltaDash, and engine management ... wayoutwest Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 2 01-24-2003 01:40 PM
Anyone try this with the stock knock sensor? 8Complex Normally Aspirated Powertrain 3 10-20-2000 06:49 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.