Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday July 12, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Motorsports

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-27-2004, 07:02 PM   #1
munkis
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 1847
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: brokenmotorsports.com
Vehicle:
Team Broken: V6 GF
rallyarmor.com

Default Anyone here run a relocated battery (trunk) at the strip?

Does your track hassle you over it being in the trunk..

I took my car for the first time to Raceway Park in OldBridge NJ, and the tech inspector said he would let me run but in the future I would need an external shut off switch on the trunk..

Now I know this a rule in NHRA competition, but come on, this isnt a 10 second caged car....

there is no difference if the battery is under the hood or in the trunk, its actually safer in the trunk...the front is whats most likely to get mashed up



Jay
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
munkis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2004, 07:51 PM   #2
trhoppe
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 7492
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Hotlanta, GA
Vehicle:
No race cars
www.tomhoppe.com

Default

The 1/4 mile track here will let you run an 11 second car without a helmet while youre smoking a cigarette. Not kidding.

Its Rockingham

-Tom
trhoppe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2004, 08:02 PM   #3
munkis
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 1847
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: brokenmotorsports.com
Vehicle:
Team Broken: V6 GF
rallyarmor.com

Default

munkis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2004, 08:16 PM   #4
Fitz
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 1426
Join Date: May 2000
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Goffstown, NH
Vehicle:
'07 335xi, '07 ZX6R
SV650 Race Bike

Default

Mine's in the trunk. External shutoff switch is required.. not only for the drag but for hillclimbing... so I have one.

Mine's mounted just above the rear plate in the hollow portion of the bumper.... you can barely see it.

Fitz
Fitz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2004, 08:30 PM   #5
dwx
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 8343
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Atlanta, GA
Vehicle:
2005 2012 Jeep
2013 DGM BRZ

Default

The place here really only checks over domestic cars real close, all import cars he just kind of glances at and writes the numbers on the window. So no they've never checked mine. Wiring in a cutoff switch isn't too hard but it requires you hack up the cable you've already run. I recently re-ran mine to put a larger in-line fuse in place and was contemplating the cutoff switch.
dwx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2004, 10:04 PM   #6
Cosworth
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3887
Join Date: Jan 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Middletown, NJ
Vehicle:
08 Taco, 98 M3/4/5
'00 RC51, '08 KTM

Default

What if you have an M3 where the battery is in the trunk stock? Would they still enforce that rule?
Cosworth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2004, 10:07 PM   #7
munkis
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 1847
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: brokenmotorsports.com
Vehicle:
Team Broken: V6 GF
rallyarmor.com

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Cosworth
What if you have an M3 where the battery is in the trunk stock? Would they still enforce that rule?
exactly my point.

there is no rule that I saw in the NHRA rules that says if you relocate your battery you need an external cut off.

but if your going to compete in NHRA cometition i believe then the cut off switch rule would apply.

Im gonna call etown and see what they say.

Jay
munkis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
first time running the 05 at the strip kwiktsi Proven Power Bragging 31 10-02-2004 12:16 AM
Anyone here running the Haltech E6X? NinosAutoAccesories Engine Management & Tuning 3 09-15-2003 12:56 PM
Is anyone here running the AEM short Ram with a GFB hybrid BOV? HiFiWRX Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 13 03-06-2003 10:08 PM
First run at the strip- I'm slow VetteVert Proven Power Bragging 21 09-10-2002 03:07 AM
running catless at the strip zeke79 Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 0 06-10-2002 12:26 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.