Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday August 4, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Miscellaneous > Off-Topic

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-16-2004, 07:06 PM   #1
db97
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 7140
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: louisville, ky, usa
Vehicle:
2009 WRX
satin white pearl

Question anyone ever replace a hard drive on their pc?

i'm replacing my 7 year old 10G hard drive with a 40G western digital. i'm currently running win2k pro, but will upgrade to winxp pro.

has anyone ever done this before? do i need to create a boot disk (floppy)? anyone know of any cool tutorial links?

thanks!
db97
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
db97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 06-16-2004, 07:10 PM   #2
Matt A
NASIOC Vendor Manager
Administrator
 
Member#: 15382
Join Date: Feb 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Cambridge, MA
Vehicle:
. 2005 OBXT LTD

Default

Matt A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2004, 07:13 PM   #3
sotti
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 33474
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Seattle
Vehicle:
04 M3
Imola Red

Default

yeah you are pretty much screwed unless you have another computer to Xfer data on to replace it straight across with no issues.

Or if you just want to augment your current storage you can simply add the new drive in fresh and clean.
sotti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2004, 07:14 PM   #4
Cup
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 61114
Join Date: May 2004
Default

Its easy, just make sure you have the jumpers on the back of the hard drive set to the "Cable Select" setting (Instructions are on the quick setup sheet). But when you turn it on, insert the floppy the HDD came with, if it didn't, then go to the Western Digital website (http://www.wdc.com/en/index.asp?Language=en), and find your model, than download the tools and throw it onto a floppy. If your going to get Windows XP, than go to www.newegg.com, software, then search for it and buy the student discounted one and you'll save $100. Its an "upgrade", but all you do is insert it and then sometime in the installation it will ask you to insert an old Windows disk to authorize its an upgrade, you dont have to actually install a Windows XX, then install the upgrade. Oh and, if you do get the upgrade, make sure you open the fold out cardboard thing ALL OF THE WAY because its a bit hard to tell it opens up to form 3 flaps. GL! If you need more help, PM me
Cup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2004, 07:22 PM   #5
banman
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12408
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Lotusland
Vehicle:
2006 Legacy GT
Silver

Default

Where do you find the student discounted Windows XP on the newegg.com website? Lowest price I saw there was $104; is that it?
banman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2004, 07:24 PM   #6
beachbum
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 457
Join Date: Oct 1999
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Vehicle:
---- Smells like
weed and rampage

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Cup
stuff
Damn helpful n00b. You're supposed to tell him it's not possible. Give him a hard time, you know.

beachbum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2004, 07:30 PM   #7
aod
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 7121
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: dat cwb doe
Default

40 gig? Are you SURE that drive isn't the 7 year old one?
aod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2004, 07:33 PM   #8
banman
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12408
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Lotusland
Vehicle:
2006 Legacy GT
Silver

Default

Please tell me this review of Windows XP (from Amazon.com) is a joke:

Quote:
Personally, I found that this was a trying experience from the beginning. First off, few stores even carry XP software, so that even locating the package is difficult. Thankfully there are on-line opportunities like Amazon to fulfill the dream.

Physically installing this product was an even greater difficulty. I could not find this in a 3.5" format and had to upgrade my PC in order to be able to run the CD. After re-booting, I found that the CD was not mounted and that the software could not be recognized. I spent numerous hours on the phone with MicroSoft Tech support, only to determine that the system requirements were not fully explained in the promotional literature. This upgrade requires an extremely fast processor, at least 512 Mb memory, minimum 40 Gb hard drive. In fact, the system architecture and operating system are completely different! Who knew? I can tell you it is not recommended for the typical Apple II or Mac Plus customer.

This is probably much better suited to the owner of a new Power Mac machine with the latest in video & IO features. --.
banman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2004, 07:40 PM   #9
Cup
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 61114
Join Date: May 2004
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by beachbum
Damn helpful n00b. You're supposed to tell him it's not possible. Give him a hard time, you know.

I sell computers, so I cant get mad anymore at people in need :]

Here you go!
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...116-112&depa=6
Cup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2004, 07:42 PM   #10
banman
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12408
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Lotusland
Vehicle:
2006 Legacy GT
Silver

Default

Hmm . . . do they have XP Home academic?
banman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2004, 07:44 PM   #11
Cup
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 61114
Join Date: May 2004
Default

Nope. Why do you want Home anyway? Are you having worries about installing it, or other?


[ABOUT THE EDIT: The $90 Home must be purchased with hardware]

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...102-025&depa=6

Theres home for $104, little pricey.
Cup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2004, 07:47 PM   #12
banman
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12408
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Lotusland
Vehicle:
2006 Legacy GT
Silver

Default

No, I would actually prefer Pro . . .I just don't need it and figured Home would be cheaper. Weird.
banman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2004, 07:48 PM   #13
Cup
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 61114
Join Date: May 2004
Default

Yea, it is strange \: Schools usually need Pro though because of (insert wierd networking reasons here).
Cup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2004, 07:51 PM   #14
SAND_MAN1
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 31535
Join Date: Jan 2003
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Parts Unknown
Vehicle:
2007 F150 Harley Dav
2003 Legacy GT

Default

Replace harddrives all the time.



Piece of crap dell computers
SAND_MAN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2004, 07:52 PM   #15
BJamerican
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 5595
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego
Vehicle:
2005 Legacy 2.5GT
Satin White Pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by banman
Where do you find the student discounted Windows XP on the newegg.com website? Lowest price I saw there was $104; is that it?
Attend the Univ. of Pittsburgh. We get all the latest greatest MS products for free (WinXP Pro, Office 2003, Visual Studio).

Anyway, I would strongly recommend Windows XP Pro over the home edition. Professional edition may even be necessary if you want to be able to read data from your old hard drive after the upgrade. The Home edition is not able to read "logical drive volumes" created by Windows (I'm not sure if Win2000 supports this anyway).

My previous computer had WinXP Pro on it, and my new computer came preinstalled with the Home edition. When I moved the hard drive from the old computer to the new computer to copy files, Windows Home edition was unable to read the data from the disk since it was orginally configured as a logical drive.

Also, if you are using your computer on a University network, most schools will not provide support for XP Home edition, since it is not as secure.
BJamerican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2004, 07:59 PM   #16
Drowner
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 49297
Join Date: Nov 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Bristol, RI
Vehicle:
14 Focus ST3

Default

see if you can get your hands on a copy of Ghost7 on a boot floppy. set old hard drive on one channel, set new on other. boot from floppy, choose 10 as source, 40 as destination, and viola! You now have your old OS on the new drive, upgrade away. This is also good, incase the upgrade fails, you still have your original drive intact.
Drowner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2004, 08:07 PM   #17
Cup
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 61114
Join Date: May 2004
Default

Drowner... thats so unnessecary (No offense though). Just pop in the XP upgrade into the drive and when they ask for an old Windows disk, just pop it in, and continue. You dont need to install the old OS first. The only reason you would want to do what you just posted is if you wanted your old files on a master HDD, but still you could just use the old HDD as a slave and still have your old files, or if you dont want the old files, you could still reformat the old HDD and have an extra 10 gigs.
Cup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2004, 08:09 PM   #18
jamz
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 8725
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Portland MAINE
Vehicle:
2013 Black Company
Annalist

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SAND_MAN1
Replace harddrives all the time.



Piece of crap dell computers
jamz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2004, 08:11 PM   #19
Cup
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 61114
Join Date: May 2004
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jamz
Who needs dells? Buy from me No BS proprietary onboard crap. My comps start at $700, but they'll last longer than a dell and come with longer warranties, and 24/7 support. :X
Cup is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2004, 11:54 PM   #20
db97
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 7140
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: louisville, ky, usa
Vehicle:
2009 WRX
satin white pearl

Question thanks fellas! BUT...

i intend to REPLACE my old drive (it makes these strange scratching noises which are becoming more and more prevalent as of late)...

I'm just gonna rip out the old one (i've already backed up whatever files i need on zip disk), and replace it with the new 40G western digital.

i'm gonna do a clean install on a brand new HD. do i need a boot disk for that?

db97

btw,
i'm running a PIII 700mhz processor with 340 something mb of ram...will this suffice for XP? i intend to upgrade my ram to at least 512 in the not-to-distant future. are these specs sufficient?
db97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2004, 03:07 AM   #21
I AWD I
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 62919
Join Date: May 2004
Location: virginia
Vehicle:
2003 wrx
blue

Default Re: thanks fellas! BUT...

Quote:
Originally posted by db97
do i need a boot disk for that?

db97

btw,
i'm running a PIII 700mhz processor with 340 something mb of ram...will this suffice for XP? i intend to upgrade my ram to at least 512 in the not-to-distant future. are these specs sufficient?

just use your windows XP cd. u must select your cd-rom drive as your first boot device. if you don't know how, then ask and i'll answer.

those specs are sufficient. windows 2000 and XP recommend minimum of 128mb, but you always want more than what's recommended.



if you don't already know from my previous posts, i work at a computer store where we diagnose 7-10 pc's a day and been doing it for 4 years now.

99.9999% of the time customers bring in their pc's with win2k or XP on it complaining that its very slow, we throw in 256mb or 512 and the problem is solved.
I AWD I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2004, 03:24 AM   #22
2Stroke
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 36712
Join Date: May 2003
Location: RHE, SoCal
Vehicle:
2003 WRX Wagon
WRB

Default Re: thanks fellas! BUT...

Quote:
Originally posted by db97

i'm gonna do a clean install on a brand new HD. do i need a boot disk for that?

You only need a bootable diskette if your PC is unable to boot from a CD-ROM.
2Stroke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2004, 08:35 AM   #23
StuBeck
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 19546
Join Date: Jun 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Rochester, NY
Vehicle:
2009 Honda Fit

Default

No one in the history of man has done this...its impossible, just like beating an SRT-4, its just simply fastAr
StuBeck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2004, 08:44 AM   #24
MattDell
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16803
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: International
Location: London, England
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by aod
40 gig? Are you SURE that drive isn't the 7 year old one?
Seriously. 120GB hard drives can be found easily for $99 nowadays.
MattDell is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone ever replaced their Rear Diff Brace?? coqui2004miguel Alaskan Impreza Club Forum -- AKIC 1 10-10-2009 05:40 PM
Anyone on here running Mac OS X on their PC? (*OSX86*) skingfreak Off-Topic 14 05-05-2008 11:56 PM
Anyone ever replace their oilpan? D_Block Mid Atlantic Impreza Club -- MAIC 8 09-07-2005 10:05 PM
Anyone ever paint the top hats on their rotors? rossscarbro Brakes, Steering & Suspension 4 06-22-2004 10:52 AM
Has anyone ever installed a VCD player on their car? IBO Car Audio, Video & Security 1 04-06-2001 01:52 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2015, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.