Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday August 2, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Normally Aspirated Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-11-2001, 03:54 PM   #1
CO Sube
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 4138
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Boulder, CO
Question TEC - II on an N/A motor

Is there any benefit to adding a TEC-II to a mildly modified N/A RS? Would changing the cams make the computer any more useful?

Casey
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
CO Sube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2001, 05:07 PM   #2
cvalle-sd
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 420
Join Date: Oct 1999
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: The LBC, CA, USA
Vehicle:
2001 Cr-V
Silver

Post

Just ask Kartboy - He's got a '99 w/a tec II. It'll have a turbo really soon, but it is pretty fast already. Good if you plan on a future turbo upgrade, and want to split the cost up, and learn to program the thing before boost becomes a factor.
cvalle-sd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2001, 05:33 PM   #3
tom@kartboy
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 67
Join Date: Jul 1999
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego, CA
Vehicle:
1999 Outlasting
the competition.

Post

What he said.
tom@kartboy.com
tom@kartboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2001, 07:58 PM   #4
Overtime
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1346
Join Date: Apr 2000
Post

If you built your EJ25 up so as to require (or at least strongly suggest ) a higher rev limiter, the TEC-II would be very ideal. However, for strictly bolt-ons, you're looking at $3000 for 15-20hp according to NickCat and the others who have tried that route. Not a good deal.
Overtime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2001, 08:43 PM   #5
Revision
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 242
Join Date: Sep 1999
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Carol Stream, IL USA
Vehicle:
MY05 PSM GGA !STOCK
MY99 RS-RIP / MY95 MX-5

Post

I thought Shiv's selling price for a NA tek II was $2000.

That 10-15 hp increase is strictly from advancing the timing to take advantage of higher octane gas. There are cheaper ways of doing it, like the Apexi ITC, but the Tek II is the easiest.
Revision is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2001, 10:34 PM   #6
CO Sube
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 4138
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Boulder, CO
Question

I have already changed the intake, fuel pump and a JC Sports torque chip. I plan to do exhaust and cams. What kind of gains would I likely see with these mods? Does the torque chip essentially do the same thing as the TEC-II?

Casey
CO Sube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2001, 11:22 PM   #7
shiv
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 607
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: SF Bay Area, CA
Post

CO Sube-- The TEC-II is a fully programmable EFI system capable of controlling (and making the best) of virtually any engine, modified or not. In terms of function/forum/cost/etc, it doesn't shares much in common with the torque chip.

Overtime-- The price for the NA TEC-II kit is $1950, not $3000

Cheers,
shiv
shiv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2001, 07:56 AM   #8
cvalle-sd
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 420
Join Date: Oct 1999
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: The LBC, CA, USA
Vehicle:
2001 Cr-V
Silver

Post

Just based on financial reasons - Cobb cams and a Vishnu N/A TecII make a real alternative to a turbo kit. Again, you can do the two separately and get a performance boost w/each step. I have an AFC and ITC already, so I don't know if I'll go the TEC II route if I don't also "blow it", but the cams are a likely purchase - the TECII would really be able to exploit them, I'm sure.
cvalle-sd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2001, 10:37 AM   #9
Overtime
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1346
Join Date: Apr 2000
Post

I was a little off.

Shiv-has anyone programmed the TEC-II on a built EJ25 yet? (ie cams, heads, maybe higher CR, etc.)

BTW, I thought the torque chip was just a little fuel-richener. No?
Overtime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2001, 02:37 PM   #10
stimpy
Homicidal Maniac
Moderator
 
Member#: 1612
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Austin, TX
Vehicle:
2008 STI

Post

This case uses a different ECU, (I know I know) but I feel it kind of helps. Trey Cobb of Cobb Tuning is running cams, heads, TB, headers, exhaust, and Halteck E6k ecu and he was predicting about 220hp at the flywheel. The power is coming from a combination of all modifications including an aftermarket ECU. With a different ECU, you are adding a margin of safety as well as customizing your fuel/ignition to work perfectly with you mods.

I don't know if I just confused the thread or helped, but there it is.
stimpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2001, 03:10 PM   #11
CO Sube
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 4138
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Boulder, CO
Question

I am fairly mechanically inclined, but have little automotive experience. Would that make an ecu like this a bad idea? What are the major differences between the TEC-II and the haltek?

CO Sube
CO Sube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2001, 03:16 PM   #12
CO Sube
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 4138
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Boulder, CO
Post

I'm not sure exactly how the torque chip works, but my limited understanding of it is that it is a self-learning fuel-richener and plays with the ignition timing to some extent. The main problem is that you can't program it, it does it on it's own over time.
CO Sube is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2001, 03:51 PM   #13
stimpy
Homicidal Maniac
Moderator
 
Member#: 1612
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Austin, TX
Vehicle:
2008 STI

Post

I don't want to turn this thread into a Tec II vs The World, but I think the Tec's largest selling point is the high resolution sensors (specifically the crank position sensor). Just about any aftermarket ECU is going to provide you with the ability to tune your car to drive the way you want it to. The torque chips are self contained probably using some sort of logic to determine optimum fuel curve. IMHO no amount of logic (algorithim) research is going to be better than human intervention.

[This message has been edited by stimpy (edited February 12, 2001).]
stimpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tec II on a WRX dch Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 10 03-29-2001 12:30 AM
Report: TEC-II on a MY00 jhuang76 Technical Forum Archive 4 08-12-2000 01:21 AM
SHIV Tec II on another car !? jdchmiel General Forum Archive 1 06-22-2000 06:54 PM
TEC II Update. Thoughts on NA TEC II Kit installation. Imprezer Technical Forum Archive 30 05-26-2000 08:37 PM
TEC-II / TEC-II Connection Port STi Sev Technical Forum Archive 10 05-25-2000 07:28 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.