Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday October 24, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-22-2004, 04:06 PM   #1
I love my wrx
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 64504
Join Date: Jun 2004
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Aubrey Texas
Vehicle:
2007 421whp 406wtSti
Black

Question Which O2 sensor is best for A/f gauge

I just bought what everyone calls an LED light show- Air to fuel ratio gauge and I was just wondering which o2 sensor and which wire to tap into on that o2 sensor. I have heard that the one in the manifold is a wideband and that it would give me a more accurate reading.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
I love my wrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2004, 04:23 PM   #2
Mulder
Trust no one
Moderator
 
Member#: 11170
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NYC
Vehicle:
02 WRX
15 WRX/05 GTO

Default

True but you can't tap into that one. The gauge you bought can only be tapped into the rear narrowband sensor and is essentially useless for providing real AF readings.
If you want an accurate AF gauge the only way to go is a unit with its own dedicated wideband sensor mounted in the manifold.
Mulder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2004, 10:12 PM   #3
LiquidForce
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12811
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Roswell Ga
Vehicle:
2002 2.5l Wrx
517whp/516wtq (Stage pi)

Default

The techedge can send the wideband o2 sensor data to a narrow band gauge like an autometer.


Not sure why you would want to do it but it can.
LiquidForce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2004, 12:14 AM   #4
Rickyh
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 40453
Join Date: Jul 2003
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Metairie, Louisiana
Default

actually it has an output so that you can remove the factory narrowband and put the wideband in it's place.
Rickyh is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2004, 12:59 AM   #5
subiekid
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 25516
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Send help, stuck in internet!
Vehicle:
1995 Legacy TURBO!!!
EJ22T/TEC3 & '12 Civic

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Mulder
True but you can't tap into that one. The gauge you bought can only be tapped into the rear narrowband sensor and is essentially useless for providing real AF readings.
If you want an accurate AF gauge the only way to go is a unit with its own dedicated wideband sensor mounted in the manifold.
Where should the wideband be mounted in the manifold? I was just gona put mine in the DP, but my car has a bung about 3 inches from the turbo on the DP.
subiekid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2004, 08:33 AM   #6
LiquidForce
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12811
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Roswell Ga
Vehicle:
2002 2.5l Wrx
517whp/516wtq (Stage pi)

Default

I have mine about 6 inches from the turbo. If you put it where the stock one goes it will be after the cat. I am not sure if or by how much it will throw off the readings. I know when dyno tuning they just stick a probe in the tail pipe.
LiquidForce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2004, 02:13 PM   #7
Big Turkey
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 32118
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Houston, TX
Default

If you put it too close to the turbo then you can risk the chance of the sensor getting too hot and getting inaccurate readings. I know alot of people stick it into the downpipe about 3-6 inches away.. I have mine right after my TXS DP in my midpipe, before the stock 02 sensor.
Big Turkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2004, 03:22 AM   #8
cRayZee
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 6271
Join Date: May 2001
Location: San Jose
Vehicle:
2001 2.5RSTi
2007 Legacy Spec B

Default

buy an LM-1 wideband O2 sensor and set it up to output for your gauge.
cRayZee is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
07 Sti: Which Catted Downpipe Is Best For a Protune? bballchris24 AccessPort 2 01-21-2010 05:22 PM
Which 3G phone is best for web surfing? RA29 Off-Topic 75 12-21-2008 10:57 AM
Which o2 sensor is the front, and which is the rear? jamesfacts Normally Aspirated Powertrain 4 07-06-2005 11:09 AM
A/F Gauge in a N/A, Which O2 sensor? Shakuwa Electrical & Lighting 0 04-05-2003 06:32 AM
Which aftermarket turbo is best for my application? Mr.Freeze Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 4 03-05-2002 08:27 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.