Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday July 10, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
Texas Impreza Club
Texas Impreza Club Forum sponsored by Gillman Subaru Houston
and Gillman Subaru San Antonio
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Chapters > Texas Impreza Club Forum -- TXIC

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-30-2004, 10:29 PM   #1
KevinHeist
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 50667
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Dallas/Plano, TX
Vehicle:
2000 Impreza Coupe
Enginuity Tuned

OMGHi2U Anyone have a Sony Handycam?

I have some car video on a handycam i borrowed....... anyone know how to get if from the camera to my PC?

help!

-Kevin
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
KevinHeist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 12:07 AM   #2
jnmarshall
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 40500
Join Date: Jul 2003
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: DFW, TX
Vehicle:
11 wrx
Virtual

Default

I have a sony handicam and the 1394(firewire) cable. You can get the videos to Win(xp) or macs with it.
jnmarshall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 12:18 AM   #3
KevinHeist
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 50667
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Dallas/Plano, TX
Vehicle:
2000 Impreza Coupe
Enginuity Tuned

Default

hrmmm, will i need ANY software if I use XP?

can i use a good ol' USB wire?


I run win2k at home, but xp at work... what would be easiest?
KevinHeist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 12:25 AM   #4
jnmarshall
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 40500
Join Date: Jul 2003
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: DFW, TX
Vehicle:
11 wrx
Virtual

Default

You'll need a firewire cable. USB is different. Your PC will also need to have firewire.

As for software, it works best with XP, haven't tried with any versions prior. If you don't already have it, download MovieMaker from microsoft. That's all you need.

If you eventually want to burn a VCD or DVDr/rw to play in your home dvd player, you'll also need a full copy of Roxio or Nero.
jnmarshall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 12:26 AM   #5
2.5RS-GC8
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 59418
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Austin/Fort Worth
Vehicle:
'99 2.5RS
Silverthorn Metallic

Default

xp at work would be easier....more stable software......usb won't work unless you can find an attachment to your camera...just buy a firewire cable.

winXP usually comes with some stupid movie maker thing...if not, just get a cheap video software that you can take back to best buy or circuit city.
2.5RS-GC8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 12:29 AM   #6
jnmarshall
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 40500
Join Date: Jul 2003
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: DFW, TX
Vehicle:
11 wrx
Virtual

Default

As soon as the part for my car ever comes in, if you still need help, I can bring my notebook and cable with me.
jnmarshall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 12:47 AM   #7
KevinHeist
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 50667
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Dallas/Plano, TX
Vehicle:
2000 Impreza Coupe
Enginuity Tuned

Default

so... xp at work... done

download movie maker for XP... will do

still need firewire?

I have the USB plug on the camera
KevinHeist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 07:59 AM   #8
KevinHeist
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 50667
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Dallas/Plano, TX
Vehicle:
2000 Impreza Coupe
Enginuity Tuned

Default

boomp
KevinHeist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 09:28 AM   #9
jnmarshall
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 40500
Join Date: Jul 2003
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: DFW, TX
Vehicle:
11 wrx
Virtual

Default

Unless sony is jumping ship and is embracing USB, you still need Firewire. I think sony refers to it as iLink. It looks like the same little connector as the USB connector found on digital cameras and the cable ends will fit, but it's completely different.
jnmarshall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 09:56 AM   #10
stilover
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 43365
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Plano TX
Vehicle:
2004 Impreza STI
WR Blue Gold Rims

Default

I can do it for you free. All you have to do is get the camcorder and the disk to copy yhe data to.

Dinar
stilover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 09:57 AM   #11
stilover
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 43365
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Plano TX
Vehicle:
2004 Impreza STI
WR Blue Gold Rims

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jnmarshall
Unless sony is jumping ship and is embracing USB, you still need Firewire. I think sony refers to it as iLink. It looks like the same little connector as the USB connector found on digital cameras and the cable ends will fit, but it's completely different.

Nope firewire is the only way to do it as the data transfer is huge and USB cannot support it. Maybe in future USB 2.0 but for now firewire..

dinar
stilover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 01:10 PM   #12
KevinHeist
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 50667
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Dallas/Plano, TX
Vehicle:
2000 Impreza Coupe
Enginuity Tuned

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by stilover
I can do it for you free. All you have to do is get the camcorder and the disk to copy yhe data to.

Dinar
i have the camera on me today... no disk though.

might have a blank one here at work somewhere
KevinHeist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 01:16 PM   #13
2.5rsCoupe@dfw
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 54294
Join Date: Feb 2004
Vehicle:
2001 *RIP*BRP 2.5 RS

Default

ah good ole firewire that shiz is uber. Wow being bored at work watching little hoodlums with confederate flag bandanas running around wth are parents doing to their kids.
2.5rsCoupe@dfw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2004, 03:28 PM   #14
jnmarshall
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 40500
Join Date: Jul 2003
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: DFW, TX
Vehicle:
11 wrx
Virtual

Default

Kevin,

If you're in the Arlington area during the day, just let me know ahead of time and I can bring my notebook and cable to work and copy it for you.

If it's a standard HI8 or Digital8 tape, just drop off the tape and I can do it on my recorder.
jnmarshall is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone having an install day soon? PSM_02_WRX Mid Atlantic Impreza Club -- MAIC 0 06-02-2010 03:10 PM
anyone have a sony ps3 F/S? swift2fly SCIC Private Classifieds 1 10-13-2007 08:30 PM
Anyone have a Sony/Ericsson z300a cell phone? Help me out... Jessie James Off-Topic 0 09-13-2006 08:10 PM
Sony HandyCam Section 8 Private 'For Sale' Classifieds 12 06-08-2004 12:29 AM
Does anyone have a Sony XE-744 2yLiTe Car Audio, Video & Security 1 11-18-2000 03:44 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.