Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday October 20, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Miscellaneous > Off-Topic

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-02-2004, 07:33 PM   #1
[27]
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 9731
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Parkin Harder than Jewpac can.
Vehicle:
2k2 wrx '13 Audi S4
Midnight Gray

Default opera or firefox, which to use?

anybody have a good comparison, not just some i prefer this because im a 1337 h4X0r
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
[27] is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 07:36 PM   #2
gugarci
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 7386
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Lyndhurst, New Jersey
Vehicle:
02 WRX Sport Wagon
WR Blue

Default

I prefer Firefox and been using it since it was called Firebird with version .06. Download both and see which one you prefer. But please try them for a fair amount of time. Give each one at least a week.
gugarci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 07:43 PM   #3
ImprezaRSinCT
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 1810
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Milford, CT USA
Vehicle:
14 Acura TL w Tech
11 Wrangler POS

Default

I can't make a comparison because I've never used Firefox, but I have been using Opera for almost 3 years. Alot of the things people praise Firefox for (tabbed browsing, popup blocker, google search bar, etc) have been in Opera for years now.

I haven't given Firefox a chance because Opera does everything I need it to do, so there's no use for me to switch now. Try them both out and make your decision. Opera is highly customizable, so make sure to play around with it and get it configured to how you like it. I don't know how customizable Firefox is, but look into that as well.
ImprezaRSinCT is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 08:19 PM   #4
Ikonosin
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 5914
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Oregon
Vehicle:
2010 Legacy 3.6R
White

Default

I love Firefox, although I never tried Opera. What ever you do, don't listen to Damien about this ish, as he prefers some other browser that sucks!!! I think it was Avant...didn't like it much.
Ikonosin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 08:53 PM   #5
subiekid
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 25516
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Send help, stuck in internet!
Vehicle:
1995 Legacy TURBO!!!
EJ22T/TEC3 & '12 Civic

Default

I used firefox its nice. my friend used it for 4 months, then scaned his computer with adaware and only had like 4 things. With IE it would have been like 50+.

My friend did say that with firefox some pages would not show up as well, but most all pages did load faster.
subiekid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 09:38 PM   #6
gugarci
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 7386
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Lyndhurst, New Jersey
Vehicle:
02 WRX Sport Wagon
WR Blue

Default

I didn't add in my previous post that I have both installed on my system. Opera 7.51 without ads and Firefox 0.91. I prefer Firefox. But at the time I posted earlier I was using Opera. But Firefox is my favorite. Like I said earlier if your serious about switching give them a fair try. Just use either one strickly for about a week. I haven't used IE(except for windows update for about 1 1/2 years now. No ones in my house uses IE. Even the wife and kids use Firefox.
gugarci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 09:53 PM   #7
m750
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 2278
Join Date: Sep 2000
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Pepperell MA
Vehicle:
8Sti | 07 allez
White | Comp

Default

well... since they are both free, why don't you try both. I don't think either are bloatware and won't install all sorts of crap. So, pick one, and go with it. I've honestly never tried opera, but I've been using mozilla for a few years, and quite enjoy it.
AO
m750 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 09:55 PM   #8
Smahatma
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 21492
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: dallas and austin
Default

I use IE. Everything works with IE. It works period.
Smahatma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 10:02 PM   #9
Ikonosin
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 5914
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Oregon
Vehicle:
2010 Legacy 3.6R
White

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Smahatma
Everything works with IE.
That's the problem though, EVERYTHING effects IE...makes for an easy target
Ikonosin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 10:06 PM   #10
Smahatma
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 21492
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: dallas and austin
Default

Easy target....definately. There's nothing wrong with it if you keep up with updates, just like any other piece of software.
Smahatma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 10:10 PM   #11
scoobieREX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 25008
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diago
Vehicle:
orginially
founded by Germans...

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Smahatma
I use IE. Everything works with IE. It works period.
thank you, finally someone with a little reasoning. You want a google toolbar go to google and download, you want security get antivirus and spy ware. I do scans on both a few times a week and I usually have nothing except a few generic cookies. Maybe you guys should stop looking at so much pr0n if you want less spy ware....
scoobieREX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 10:23 PM   #12
chkltcow
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 10814
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Stanley, NC
Vehicle:
'13 ToyobaruFRZ-86
97 Miata M

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Smahatma
Easy target....definately. There's nothing wrong with it if you keep up with updates, just like any other piece of software.
If I'm not mistaken, Microsoft hasn't patched this latest bug yet.
chkltcow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 10:24 PM   #13
Smahatma
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 21492
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: dallas and austin
Default

...
Smahatma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 10:50 PM   #14
Ikonosin
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 5914
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Oregon
Vehicle:
2010 Legacy 3.6R
White

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by scoobieREX
Maybe you guys should stop looking at so much pr0n if you want less spy ware....
That's blasphemy!!!! What do you think the interweb was created for...pr0n of course That and the illegal exchange of files
Ikonosin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 10:54 PM   #15
m750
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 2278
Join Date: Sep 2000
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Pepperell MA
Vehicle:
8Sti | 07 allez
White | Comp

Default

Last I checked IE didn't have tabbed browsing, so, that's one reason why I don't use it.
AO
m750 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 10:58 PM   #16
Projekt
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 15947
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Boynton Beach FL
Vehicle:
91 RX-7
Brave Blue

Default

i've been using firefox since it was teh bug heavy phoenix. i still have some issues with it, but they're mostly gui involved.
Projekt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2004, 11:05 PM   #17
avatarr
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 14010
Join Date: Jan 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Trogdor's 3rd birthday tribute
Vehicle:
'04 APS-ified STi
TopSpeed Tuned - Black

Default

I like the tabbed browsing also.

-Jason
avatarr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2004, 12:19 AM   #18
trojan9x
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 3169
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Effort, PA
Vehicle:
2001 2.5 RS: Holbert
Memorial Winner 2003

Default

I miss when netcaptor was free

was my favorite at that point

now it's just IE and have no problems at all with spy-ware or anything.
trojan9x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2004, 12:29 AM   #19
HighWayDrifter
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 8908
Join Date: Aug 2001
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: state of oblivion
Vehicle:
2012 Ford Raptor

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Smahatma
I use IE. Everything works with IE. It works period.
hows that trojan doing? Hope you dont have a citibank account

MUUHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAAAAA

BHO and CHM exploits r0x0rz!!!
HighWayDrifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2004, 12:30 AM   #20
HighWayDrifter
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 8908
Join Date: Aug 2001
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: state of oblivion
Vehicle:
2012 Ford Raptor

Default

im a firefox guy, im gonna give opera a try, last time i gave it a shot it pissed me off for some reason.
HighWayDrifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2004, 12:37 AM   #21
Smahatma
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 21492
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: dallas and austin
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by HighWayDrifter
hows that trojan doing? Hope you dont have a citibank account

MUUHAHAHAHAHHAHAHAAAAA

BHO and CHM exploits r0x0rz!!!
right...retard
Smahatma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2004, 12:39 AM   #22
voam
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 33460
Join Date: Feb 2003
Vehicle:
2003 WRX Wagon

Default

Netscape has tabbed browsing which is awesome.
voam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2004, 12:43 AM   #23
Midwayman
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1997
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Des Plaines, IL
Vehicle:
2006 Acura TL 6spd
STMGM6 alumni

Default

Midwayman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2004, 01:38 AM   #24
Knum
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 44362
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Amherst MA
Default

i've never used opera but firefox works well for me
Knum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2004, 02:33 AM   #25
HighWayDrifter
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 8908
Join Date: Aug 2001
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: state of oblivion
Vehicle:
2012 Ford Raptor

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Smahatma
right...retard
hahahaha

you prob dont even know *** i was talking about and your calling me the retard...
HighWayDrifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
which "Y" or charge pipe to use w/SPEARCO tmic? nation1979 Newbies & FAQs 9 01-31-2010 03:40 PM
Opera or Firefox? dman918 Off-Topic 6 09-02-2005 12:12 PM
Engine Managment Computers, which to use? Turbo GC4 Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain 21 12-09-2002 09:34 AM
diff. and MT fluids, which to use and why? joostin420 Newbies & FAQs 8 10-13-2000 03:12 PM
AutoX'n in an automatic: which to use? D-3-2-1? chyisan General Forum Archive 3 10-01-2000 09:07 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.