Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday March 31, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Normally Aspirated Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-25-2000, 07:44 PM   #1
V6
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2703
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Edmonton, AB
Vehicle:
Y2K GC8
Silver forever

Question Does it needed to reset the ECU for the following changes?

Hi,

If changing the K&N filter (same size as the stock one) and the Genuine Subaru 2.5RS performance muffler, do I need to reset the ECU?

Or is that the ECU will cope with the changes automatically?

Thanks
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
V6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2000, 07:51 PM   #2
kid22
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 396
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Arlington
Vehicle:
2000 2.5 RS-T
22WannaB

Post

i would do it just to make sure...heck it doesn't take that much to anyway's
kid22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2000, 08:43 PM   #3
kastle
Frank Army
 
Member#: 1457
Join Date: May 2000
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Vehicle:
1999 Outback Sport
Steel Blue Mica

Exclamation

It would be a wise investment in your time to reset the ECU when making those changes. This forces the ECU to learn the new items quickly rather than over time.

Can you not reset the ECU and be fine? Absolutely.

your call...
kastle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2000, 11:39 AM   #4
Matt Monson
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 832
Join Date: Jan 2000
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Teh Ghetto Garage, CO
Vehicle:
99 2.5RS, '85 911
'73 914 and 2012 BRZ

Post

I have a MY00 RS. My first mod was to deconstruct the stock intake and add a K&N filter. I didn't reset, instant change in throttle response. Others around here did. Same result.
The exhaust is another story. About 2 months later I added Stromung twin tip and 2.25 mid-pipe. Ran nasty rich! Ran like that for a tank and got crappy mileage. Then, reset the ECU, and it went away immediately and MPG back to normal.
My conclusion...reset everytime you make any sort of performance upgrade. It will matter on some more than others, but helps the ECU "learn" faster.
Matt Monson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2000, 01:10 AM   #5
V6
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2703
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Edmonton, AB
Vehicle:
Y2K GC8
Silver forever

Question

Hi,

So if I do the changes but do not reset the ECu, is that the ECU will also learn to adapt the new changes but just slower?

Thanks
V6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2000, 09:32 AM   #6
DaveK
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 2338
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Colorado
Vehicle:
1988 323 GTX
black

Post

Yep, that's the way I understand it.

I have the AMSOIL air filter and a high flow muffler, and I did the resets right after the mods. The mods seemed to help a little(faster throttle response), but I think the extra noise of the exhaust goes further towards the whole driving experience. I also just added an underdrive pulley, but haven't done the reset...don't know if I need to, but it only takes a little while
DaveK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reflash to stock...does it need to 'relearn'? 09rexwagon AccessPort 5 12-30-2009 05:58 PM
Forge BOV. How often does it need to be re-greased? mav1c Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 3 02-13-2005 04:58 PM
DO I need to reset my ECU when changing my muffler? Jfrankon Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 1 03-28-2003 02:05 PM
You need to reset your ECU when: JonnySubaru Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 2 10-14-2002 06:04 PM
How cold does it need to be... Idjiit Brakes, Steering & Suspension 2 12-21-2001 11:36 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.